We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Manila, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

I will give a very good rating for this resort. We arrived there at already 10pm cause of the delayed cebupac flight from manila. What a blessing, since the hotel was fully booked, they upgraded our room from a spa suite to premier deluxe. The staff were accomodating, clean pools, nice beach, good buffet breakfast and free wifi. There were only few things that needs improvement like only 1toothbrush since the reservation was good for two persons, few lights during night time so it was dark outside and the food in thier restos were expensive. Try to dine at Maribago grill which is a few steps away from the resort. Over all, we enjoyed our stay and will recommend this resort.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PinkFebruary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    489
    161
    61
    54
See reviews for
368
284
43
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Davao City, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Upon arrival at the airport, I already saw my name printed on a piece of paper and it feels great after a stressing flight that our airport pick up was early. My family of four were the only passengers and the driver was very friendly. The ride was a bit long going to the resort but frustrated to see lots of people at their reception. I lined up for check-in and when it's my turn, the receptionist told me that we have to wait to an hour for our room to be available. It's was 3pm and standard check in was 2pm and they are asking for another hour? I told the receptionist that my kids are tired and no more chair at the reception. Maybe she understood our situation and she let us stay at the pool bar and served us complimentary coffee and bread. Very sweet. The rooms are awesome. Spacious and clean with big beds. Even though we're near the pool, it's very quite at night and we have a good sleep. Tried their buffet breakfast and lunch and it was ok but not excellent. Better try buffets because their ala carte was a bit pricey. Overall, it was a great vacation experience for me and my kids.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashly999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

From the airport getting there is one bumpy ride. And as always checking in on time can spell the difference between having a good time or not. Waiting area was packed and no staff bothered turning on the ceiling fans until someone complained. We were finally given the rooms almost one hour and just like that. No explanation about how a/c works and the room amenities, etc. But inside the room is a feedback from which asks if the staff has shown you the room and its amenities. Redundant and a dismal exercise. Are they even aware of this?

But you can forgive them and forget their lapses for the features of the resort. The rooms are actually spacious and comes with a tub and a walk-in closet/wash area. The downside is there are no curtains in the door (sliding wooden door with glass-like mini windows) so the light shines through in the morning which is a nightmare if you want complete darkness. Also, avoid rooms near the pool as it can be noisy with the children splashing there. Speaking of pools, they are very good and kept in excellent condition. There are at least 3 of them spread all throughout the area and with lifeguards on standby. The beach area is small by resort standards so it can get pretty crowded in the daytime. There are helpful announcements on time of high tide so you can adjust your sched. The island in front of the beach area can be reached by walking/wading through the water during low tide.

Allegro, their restaurant is good. Variety is there especially for their Asian clients (Japs and Koreans). The staff are helpful and are smiling at all times. On some days there are dinner shows.

So, yeah, but.....

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the pool because that area is noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim28Manila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Maribago is a mid-range resort in Mactan Island. I picked it for our second night in Cebu. Just to try their amenities - free breakfast, the beach, and just because were just too pricey for a group of 7.

First impression was great! We even got welcome drinks. The suites are modern filipiniana, which was so impressingly clean and well kept! Even the breakfast was ok. The pool was right outside our suite.

Everything was cool except the beach. We got to spend 2 hours in the afternoon after check in.

Beach is available only from 1:00pm-5:30pm. If it's important for you to go for a swim, be aware that the water is low until 1pm. Since we only stayed for 1 day, our beach time was short which was the afternoon we checked in. The morning after, sea urchins were abound the waterless beach. They did mention this upon arrival but I didn't think it was the whole front part of the beach.

If it weren't for that everything is above average!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krizia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

We had our dinner at their mini-island and since it's low tide, we walked and the staff helped us cross and upon arriving, there's water to wash our feet & clean towels. It was a nice set up. The reggae band that perfomed for us, they were Great!

Good food however for desserts, I would suggest to have more options because it's the same I had for lunch (watermelon, pineapple, torta bread, ube maja, etc.) Since it's almost summer, I was expecting to see some mangoes or bananas.

I did enjoy their cultural show and the local food they served for dinner brought back memories from my younger years. (Buko ice drop, polvoron, fishballs, kikiam, etc.)

Stayed at room 217 & it's near the pool. I slept well (thank u neighbors). Oh! Before I forget uhmm... no bidet in our restroom ;)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dyz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Stayed here for a week with my wife and 2 daughters (17 & 15). For us, that was too long. The beach there is terribly disappointing - read all the reviews and believe them - it just isn't a place where you are going to go into the ocean. So, we ended up hanging around the pool. The problem with that is one that is so simple it is hard to understand how it has not been fixed: In order to get to the pool near the spa, you have to walk over these apple-sized, black, jagged, foot-slicing rocks! It is the craziest thing I've ever seen. Why there would be rocks near a pool is a legitimate question. Why there would be painful rocks next to a pool should be a silly question - but alas, there they are.

OK, besides the painful rocks, my other problem with the place is that there is absolutely nothing to do. There is nothing nearby to walk to (although, as soon as I stepped one foot out of the gate, a kind gentleman immediately asked me if I'd like to meet some "very young filipino girls"). Twice we hired a car to take us around (trying desperately to find something to do) and each time we spent hours stuck in traffic, and ultimately ended up at a mall.

The rooms were definitely not luxurious. Bathrooms were pretty, but required stepping on more rocks to get to the shower! The bedrooms themselves reminded me a little of my first apartment - and that's not a good thing.

Having said all of this, I must also say that the staff was awesome. Every single one of them. They always greet you with a smile and a hello, and they really did do their best to help you enjoy yourself.

So, here is my advice. If you are looking for a place to just unwind for a couple of days and hang out by a pool with no real distractions, this is the place for you. Just be sure to bring swim shoes to get past the deadly rocks...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

i like the ambiance of the place, even though we just there for a party but we enjoy our time. Pool is okay and man made beach is great. Rooms they said its expensive!. Food are awesome but expensive but worth it!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExtraHotIdeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
1.1 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
2.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
0.4 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 42 in Mactan Island
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Cebu White Sands Resort & Spa
Cebu White Sands Resort & Spa
#12 of 42 in Mactan Island
579 reviews
2.5 mi away
Be Resorts - Mactan
Be Resorts - Mactan
#12 of 31 in Lapu Lapu
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort

Property: Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Address: Buyong, Maribago, | Mactan Island, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#9 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the sweetness of doing nothing and the satisfaction of doing everything. It is an art you can discover and perfect at Bluewater Maribago, a lush 7-hectare tropical paradise of pure intimate pleasure. Here we put thought into every details of your stay, from the moment we greet you "Mabuhay" to the time we bid you "Farewell".Here, your options are countless: 158 well-appointed rooms, 110-meter beachfront of pristine sand, a private island, 3 lagoon-shaped swimming pools with waterfalls, children's playground, recreation and water sports center, full-service restaurants and bars and the pampering treatment of Amuma Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maribago Bluewater Beach Hotel Lapu Lapu
Hotel Maribago Bluewater Beach
Maribago Bluewater Beach Resort
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing