We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort to your Saves list
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Buyong, Maribago, | Mactan Island, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I just returned from a weekend stay. I was traveling solo and looking for a nice, safe weekend retreat. I am from Minnesota and was looking forward to relaxing and enjoying some island scenery. I definitely found it here :). The service is the best you will find. Everyone was so accommodating and helpful. I can't say enough great things about this resort. The room was large and clean. It was also great to have your own patio area. I stayed in the Garden area and loved the door to the room! The pool options were great with really nice chairs for relaxing. I tried all of the restaurants. The Allegro & The Oyster Bar were my favorite. The food was delicious and the service was perfect! I did dine at The Cove and picked a lobster out of the tank. It was good but pretty expensive. I thought Allegro was more enjoyable and it still had local seafood options for a fraction of the price. The beach was really nice and had plenty of chairs. The service on the beach was also impeccable. I recommend trying the spa. I did a 90 minute massage and it was fantastic! The facility was very peaceful. I loved walking over the rocks & water on your way to the massage room. It’s a beautiful place. I was sad to go and can't wait to plan a trip back. You will not regret a stay at this resort.

Room Tip: I would pick the Garden area if you were trying to budget but the rooms on the ocean looked amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    394
    134
    55
    45
See reviews for
293
231
40
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Pinas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Its one of my favorite place resort in Cebu wherein you can totally relax in a homey atmosphere of the resort.. Rooms are perfect and foods at Alegro and The cove are superb > Two thumbs up for the best service and a friendly staff !!!

Room Tip: rooms near the beach are perfect !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rhaine22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here 3 years ago. Superb!
A quiet refuge from it all.
The facilities were all good.
The room is truly spacious, elegant and clean.
Im a breakfast person and found the buffet perfect for my appetite.
Rooms are "zen- ambianced".
The resort is quiet. just a perfect refuge.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

They have facilities like other hotels do, food were just as sumptuous as other restaurant offers, the beach was just okay and the ambiance was good enough but what amazed us most was there EXEMPLARY SERVICE.

I just came from the states a month ago and I wanted to unwind somewhere else that’s not far from my friends' place. My friends wanted us to spend our weekend in the resort. I had no idea what it looks like, I just let my them arranged everything for our stay. We arrived in the resort at around 3 o’clock in the afternoon and welcomed by their courteous staffs. The check in process was fast and we were assisted to our room by their helpful and jolly bellman. They have this unique welcome drink that tastes like a “tanglad”. I was so impressed by the way they treated us and got more comfortable with our stay. The room is a premier deluxe and was located near the beach. It was a spacious room for me since I stayed their alone. I was amazed by their hanging bed and the bathroom was clean and spacious. Myfriends stayed in the other room category located near the gym and I found it very nice too. We are very happy and satisfied by the services that they rendered to us. Many thanks to the staffs, who cleaned our room, served us food during meals, accommodated our inquiries and for my new found friend Panpy-the bellman. We stayed in the resort for two days and I can’t help myself wanting to come back again.

I will recommend this resort to everyone! i'm planning to have our family reunion next year. i got the rate and it’s so reasonable. I’m looking forward for that day to come!

Room Tip: choose the premiere deluxe room.. it's comfy and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oh_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vigan, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

It was raining hard when we arrived in the hotel. With me were my husband and my two kids. Our room was not so near in the lobby so we had to ride a cart going to our room. We stayed in the deluxe room in front of a swimming pool. It was convenient for us because we can directly look after our kids swimming in the pool. I didn’t know what went wrong with my child after swimming because we observed that he felt dizzy. I felt alarmed and scared so I called up the front desk about my child’s condition. Good thing is that they have their own front desk staff who happened to be a nurse. And I just found out that they have also registered nurses working in the front desk and in other departments to relieve the company nurse when not on duty. My husband and I felt relieved and secured upon hearing that information. It made us feel that they really look into their guests’ safety.

Room Tip: i would recommend a room at the garden wing on the first floor for travelers with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cymurc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at this resort some time ago and have to say that I had a truly wonderful experience. Cannot fault the resort at all; Courteous staff, excellent choice of food, clean & spacious rooms. After a few busy days in Hong Kong the rest & relaxation having every need taken care of at the blue-water resort was just wonderful. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel/ resort as a fabulous relaxing place to unwind.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindaamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the resort in May from the 13th-16th. The service was good, the F&B outlets were great but we encountered some issues. The 1st room we checked into was just nasty, paint was peeling off, cracks all over the wall, the quilt on the bed was stained and our bathroom smelled like urine. We had to ask to switch rooms and that was okay but could have been better. At night the the bar on the other side of the wall next to our room was loud and you hear everything so we couldn't rest when we wanted to. We had to complain several times before the music and karaoke actually stopped. The 3 nights we were there we didn't get a good night's sleep. The design of the rooms were nice and the use of capiz was a nice touch but it doesn't do much for insulation. You could hear the steps of the people passing by in the middle of the night and that's not good. This needs improvement.

The pools were nice but as a couple we didn't want to be around kids running around crying & screaming, they should have a separate area for kids and adults. Not everyone comes to a resort with their kids or would want to be around them. We have kids so we do like to get away from them when we are on our vacation and we do enjoy peace and quiet. There were times when the pools were dirty too!

I wanted to meet with the Marketing Manager so I can feature the resort on our websites and no one showed. My husband and I are both travel and leisure bloggers and I explained that to the person I spoke to who was from the marketing department. I didn't want anything for free I was actually going to do them a favor and write a truthful review on their property for free. I wanted to know more about the resort so I can write about it but evidently no one wanted to talk to me.

The beach area is okay another area in the resort that needs improvement. It's a small area but when we were there it was crowded by day users and that wasn't cool. Our first day there, I saw trash on the ground and in the water and I'm not talking about the sea weeds I'm talking about trash. You could tell the number of guests actually staying in the resort and it was very few compared to the number of day users.

The service and food may have been good and at times outstanding, as a resort it's a mess! I understand that it's an old property but it needs to be maintained and they need to re-think a few things to remain competitive in the market. We didn't leave the resort because we wanted to experience everything but in different circumstances I would have packed our things and left. The prices are resort prices too so it's not cheap but we expected that. The staff and the quality of food were the two things that made our stay bearable and because the staff and the service they delivered were great we tipped them well.

There were just a few hits and misses during our stay and the misses always seem to stand out more often than not. Unfortunately for the Maribago team there are a lot of other resorts in the area that for people like us who understand the value of resorts and it's star ratings wouldn't mind paying an extra 4000 pesos to get the peace and quiet resort atmosphere, plus the good food and service we deserve for what we pay for.

Although our experience was a little bit of good and bad we will not be returning to this place.
~ Nestlie Schwarz-Hermes

Room Tip: If you're looking for peaceful and sound proof rooms go to another hotel. Unless you suck it up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nestlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
2.3 mi away
Moevenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
1.9 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 41 in Mactan Island
4.0 of 5 stars 501 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cebu White Sands at Maribago Beach
2.6 mi away
Be Resorts - Mactan
Be Resorts - Mactan
#17 of 29 in Lapu Lapu
3.5 of 5 stars 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort

Property: Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Address: Buyong, Maribago, | Mactan Island, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#9 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the sweetness of doing nothing and the satisfaction of doing everything. It is an art you can discover and perfect at Bluewater Maribago, a lush 7-hectare tropical paradise of pure intimate pleasure. Here we put thought into every details of your stay, from the moment we greet you "Mabuhay" to the time we bid you "Farewell".Here, your options are countless: 158 well-appointed rooms, 110-meter beachfront of pristine sand, a private island, 3 lagoon-shaped swimming pools with waterfalls, children's playground, recreation and water sports center, full-service restaurants and bars and the pampering treatment of Amuma Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maribago Bluewater Beach Hotel Lapu Lapu
Hotel Maribago Bluewater Beach
Maribago Bluewater Beach Resort
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing