We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A peaceful retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Manila
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A peaceful retreat”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

If you want a peaceful retreat, try this one. The place is very big, not too crowded. We almost had the pool to ourselves for 2 days. Even had our room upgraded. Don't expect too much from the beach though.

The food was great and the buffet has varied selection. Personally loved the "Tsokolate" drink. Thanks to the very accommodating staff, we enjoyed our stay.

They even had a cake prepared for my birthday :)

Room Tip: Bring loads bottled water
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank just_GraceP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    474
    157
    61
    53
See reviews for
356
278
43
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed at the Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort from 26th to 28th December 2012. I booked a room for myself and a filipino friend and another room for another filipino friend who had come all the way from iligan on Mindanao to see me. Both rooms were superb. My room was a big de luxe room with a huge bathroom, the whole room very modern. The other room was a beachside room, smaller but very nice because of its location. The room service food was most excellent, the staff friendly and helpful. This was a very quiet resort (apart from a wedding party one night on the artificial island). apart from a little light music from the restaurant, this was an extremely quiet resort and the sort of place where one can relax and unwind, if you like that sort of thing (and I certainly do).

Room Tip: If you want a nice view, ask for a beach villa; if you want a big room with total luxury, ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poveygc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I recently attended a wedding at bluewater maribago and stayed at the hotel for four nights. This happened to include New Years Eve.

Here's the pros and cons
Pros
- they know how to put on an event. The wedding and New Year's Eve gala were both great nights - excellent buffets and impressive staging;
- the 24 hour bar; and
- the numerous swimming pools.

Cons
- Our suite was a major let down. Bad design, dark, old bedding. It's one advantage was that it was a lot quieter than the other rooms;
- the service. Aside from at the events, the service was a debacle. Unbelievably slow and incompetent - it became a major distraction and annoyance for our (and the other wedding guests') stay;
- a la carte anything. The buffets were good but everything we ordered off the a la carte menu took forever to come and was then way below average. The seafood restaurant was so bad that on the night we were there two tables ended up having loud arguments with the staff about the quality of the food and the service; and
- the beach. You wouldn't swim here by choice.

During our stay we spent one day at the shagri la - if you can afford to stay there instead, do it. If you can't afford it, depending on whether the hotel is full, they do a thing called "day in paradise" where non guests can use the facilities. You can always book the restaurants. The Italian one is excellent for lunch.

Room Tip: If there's not an event on then aim to get one of the rooms closest to the beach. They are bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

The most difficult review I have had to write on TA. The resort is neither poor nor average but somewhere in between. On the one hand the resort is old, rundown and in need of a revamp and on the other hand the staff did all they could to make up for the short comings, especially the assistant manager who went out of his way to make up for us having to move rooms a couple of times because of various issues. He even gave us an upgrade which was very kind and I do hope that the small things such as never any pool towels, expensive drinks and a constant smell of bad drainage in the rooms is sorted out for future guests. The Filipino staff were such wonderful people, I just wish the upkeep of this hotel would match their warmth and friendliness.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank UKFamilySingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carcar, Cebu, Philippines
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I like the room very comfortable but I wonder why the water is salty? My fiance and I enjoyed our stay, we both like the beach and the pool, the food was good, very friendly, smiling and polite staffs, good room service. No free internet connection inside the room you have to buy card wish you let us have free internet connection like other hotels has. Above all we enjoyed our stay there even if it's a bit expensive. My boyfriend, me and my family had fun and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaperdaniel081012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
127 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We spent two nights there to relax after the trip and stayed in the room close to the spa that are supposed to be nicer. Rooms are old, dark and noisy. The food is pretty bad and the only nice thing about the restaurant is the view of the one on the water. The pool is ok but impossible to get a chair or a beach towel. The beach is artificial and with no charm. Except if you have a very low rate just don't go there

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voyagistablog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We prebooked a week stay at blue water . pool and grounds looked nice . room was very old and dusty . room safe didnt work . ordered room service food arrived eventually but was stone cold . asked for tray to be removed took 4 phone calls and a day to have it removed . shower had a dribble of water in it . plumber arrived and turned up the system . bath stained and dirty . asked for it to be cleaned . staff member tried but said that was best they could do . repeatedly asked for toilet paper as none provided . meals and drinks at ridiculous price up to 5 times the local price . we checked out 3 days early forfieting our money and were presented with a $500 AU dollar bill for drinks and food . went to so called beach sand was very dirty . found thumb tack in sand near childrens slide . water smelt like local sewerage outlet

Room Tip: bypass this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulfrmAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
2.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
1.1 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
1.9 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 41 in Mactan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
2.5 mi away
Be Resorts - Mactan
Be Resorts - Mactan
#13 of 30 in Lapu Lapu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cebu White Sands at Maribago Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort

Property: Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Address: Buyong, Maribago, | Mactan Island, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#9 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the sweetness of doing nothing and the satisfaction of doing everything. It is an art you can discover and perfect at Bluewater Maribago, a lush 7-hectare tropical paradise of pure intimate pleasure. Here we put thought into every details of your stay, from the moment we greet you "Mabuhay" to the time we bid you "Farewell".Here, your options are countless: 158 well-appointed rooms, 110-meter beachfront of pristine sand, a private island, 3 lagoon-shaped swimming pools with waterfalls, children's playground, recreation and water sports center, full-service restaurants and bars and the pampering treatment of Amuma Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maribago Bluewater Beach Hotel Lapu Lapu
Hotel Maribago Bluewater Beach
Maribago Bluewater Beach Resort
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing