We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for a short stay away from Manila”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice for a short stay away from Manila”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Pool, beach and location is pretty good. Having spent 10 months in the Philippines I should not have expected anything special from the food. But the seafood restaurant was appalling and extremely expensive. The grouper was tiny and cost a small fortune. But it was also as bland as it gets and we just wanted a normal salad, which was beyond the chefs capabilities. The buffet, in the main restaurant, was far more enjoyable and the roasted suckling pig was delicious. The rooms are very basic and fashioned for the 70's. If there is a wedding or kids party forget about having that afternoon nap. On the plus side, cocktails are great during happy hours, the boat trip is nice and the beach and pool are very pleasant and relaxing.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelDuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    486
    161
    61
    54
See reviews for
365
284
43
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kew Gardens, New York
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

This was our 3rd stay in the past 5 years. Check in was a breeze. Throughout the resort the personnel are attentive and friendly. The pools were clean and staffed. The beach area is small but is well supplied and secure. We did a island hopping tour with Bluewater team which was great. My favorite are the restaurants troops. The work as a unit to make each meal a joy. Iplan to return sometime soon.

Room Tip: I enjoy the garden area since is usually quiet at nite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kewz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This hotel was classified as first class by the travel agent, & initially I agreed with great breakfast & lovely little private beach. However, my stay was marred when a local corporation arrived with all their employees for a day trip - cue very loud music & games ALL DAY. After a 3-day journey from the UK, it really wasn't what I needed!
However, I guess my timing was bad & I would recommend this hotel - just check they don't have any big groups staying!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharpkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Royal Bungalow at the beach as most priced rooms was rather disappointing.
Very old and run down interior with filthy looking bathroom. Room 106
There was a Karaoke party right in front our terracce and impossible to go outside as the noise was unbearable. Dozens of people around our bungalow and the DJ music mix station right in front of our bed room window. People inches away from our window.
We requested to move and were allocated after some wrangling with the management to a voluntary downgrade but much better modern room. Still a touch of moldy bathroom fixtures but overall better if you decide to stay there. Room 141. White sand Beach is ok but swimming not possible. The seafood restaurant and the bar to chill out are ok . Its is ok and acceptable standard and some good interior design. Food in the italian or international restaurant mediocre and random standard. Some dishes are ok and others were just looking like vomit on a plate like the prawn and scallop or seafood Risotto :-( - . dont stay at room 103 or 104 if you have a choice , no view and you are looking at the wall of next room bungalow, dark as well.
Thats it and overall a sobering experience.
It was not possible to download any photos to the tripadvisor site which is a pitty but gave up after 10 attempts.

Room Tip: DeLuxe rooms modernized are better then the older rooms. Royal Bungalows are waste of money and need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hilaroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Allis, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Why do we continue to stay at Bluewater Resort. Many reasons Let me start by saying the staff is wonderful. From the driver to the Reception staff and the housekeeping personnel. But, by far the dining staff was the highlight of our stay. We were greeted and served by Karya for breakfast and Leo for dinner. They were very professional and very friendly.
Upon arrival we were taken to our room. We decided that it was too small and asked for a bigger room (140). The bellman called the front desk and we were given the bigger room. We had a water view which pleased us as did our past visits here. The room was very clean and very spacious.
The beach are was very nice. As was the pool.
Food was exceptional. Buffet breakfast every morning with plenty of different food to choose from. The banana bread was so tasty that we ordered 2 loaves to go. Nightly dinners were buffet also but had theme dinners. We enjoyed their seafood buffet with dancers for entertainment.
All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our 4 day stay there and Bluewater Resort will likely be in our travel plans for April 2013.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princesa013, New Media Marketing Officer at Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us for the 3rd time! We love how our guests keep coming back to us. That's why we always give them the best treatment we can offer. Filipino hospitality at its best.

Looking forward to your visit in 2013!

Warmest regards,

Bluewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here for our honeymoon in Oct for 6 nights. To start off we arrived a little early for check in (1000am) and were told our room was not ready..fair enough 2pm comes and our room is still not ready,it was after 2.30 that we eventually checked in. Our room was in the Spa suite and i would highly recommend not to choose these rooms unless you want a sleepless holiday. Behind our room was a number of roosters that not only crowed in the morning they crowed for 24hrs a day non stop which was very annoying. There is also alot of Koreans/chinese/japanese tourists that stay here and get the cheap (red eye) flights that arrive in at 12am-2am that have no concept on how to be QUIET when checking in to the room right next door to us as this our of the morning!! Constantly laughing, talking very loud and then turning there music up and singing at 2am!! And the worse thing was that staff were with them whilst all this is going on and did not tell them to keep the noise down. This happened 3 times on our six night stay. There is also rocks all the way along outside of the rooms which is extremely noisy as they use golf buggies to drive on them to deliver luggage at all ours of the night. By the 5th night of no sleep we finally complained (i hate complaining but i had enough by this stage!) The ,manager was very nice and did offer us an upgrade but by this stage it was not worth the hassle of packing up all our luggage for one more night.

On a better note, the restaurant food was lovely but the buffet was very expensive. Ordering off the a la carte menu or the italian restaurant is a better option. The staff were lovely and the service was great.

The location is far away from everything, so there is not alot to do. Outside the resort is very third world..We spent most of our stay in the resort as we didnt feel safe/comfortable about straying to far. The massage place across the street is great and much cheaper than the resort.

All in all we found this stay disapointing...The resort and grounds were kept lovely and clean but the cons definately out weighed the Pro's, i would not recommend anyone to stay here from the experience we had. If you want to go to the phillipines look in to Borocay as we stayed there prior to this resort and had a great time!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sharna_Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here as a couple for four nights.
Given welcome drinks on arrival and made to feel part of the family.
Stayed in a beach hut close to the beach. Which was of a good standard clean modern and very peaceful.
Hotel restaurants were of very good standard with exellent breakfast buffet.
This is a peaceful hotel spa which was relaxing. The seafood restuarant and bar were exellent. The staff being so friendly i felt like i had been coming here for years.
The beach although small was kept clean and tidy whilst we stayed here. I did not have any hassle with the staff pushing for teips and jetski. If anything i found them friendly and polite.
Well done maribago. Great resort and we will be back again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will812002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princesa013, New Media Marketing Officer at Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for staying in our resort and taking time to write this review. Our people, indeed, are our brand. We make sure that our guests will feel at home when they stay with us. They are part of our family.

Spread the word!

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Warmest regards,

Bluewater Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
1.1 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
2.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
0.4 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 42 in Mactan Island
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
Be Resorts - Mactan
Be Resorts - Mactan
#12 of 31 in Lapu Lapu
479 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cebu White Sands Resort & Spa
Cebu White Sands Resort & Spa
#12 of 42 in Mactan Island
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort

Property: Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Address: Buyong, Maribago, | Mactan Island, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#9 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the sweetness of doing nothing and the satisfaction of doing everything. It is an art you can discover and perfect at Bluewater Maribago, a lush 7-hectare tropical paradise of pure intimate pleasure. Here we put thought into every details of your stay, from the moment we greet you "Mabuhay" to the time we bid you "Farewell".Here, your options are countless: 158 well-appointed rooms, 110-meter beachfront of pristine sand, a private island, 3 lagoon-shaped swimming pools with waterfalls, children's playground, recreation and water sports center, full-service restaurants and bars and the pampering treatment of Amuma Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maribago Bluewater Beach Hotel Lapu Lapu
Hotel Maribago Bluewater Beach
Maribago Bluewater Beach Resort
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing