We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“acceptable, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Reviewed October 18, 2012

The hotel is very pretty, there is a tropical garden on the premises, very nice swimming pools, great food and efficient staff. So if you’re a fan of staying in the hotel all the time, that’s something for you. However, the nearby “beach” is an area covered with concrete and 3 centimetres of sand and the “lagoon” is a smelly bay in which I dared not wet my feet. The area surrounding the hotel resembles a slum, and the hotel is guarded by armed security guards (it makes you wonder why).
So, even though the hotel is basically impeccable, I can’t recommend this place as a holiday destination.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trvlgrll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,069)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

425 - 431 of 1,070 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2012

Bluewater is a nice resort with outstanding gardens, layout and location but facilities are getting a little worn out and tired. Holes and patches missing in pools, paint peeling from walls and ceilings in our room, doors don't close properly in shower room, bath room and front door (we stayed in a Amuma Spa room).

All Staff very friendly and helpful but are typically not very professional compared to standards set in a 1st world country.

Unfortunately, majority of guests are Korean or Japanese and they are very rude and think nothing of making lots of noise at night. They get cheap flights if they arrive at 2am in the morning and the resort think nothing of allowing newly arriving guests yelling and laughing to each other to wake you up as they check in to the the room next to you. This happened on out first night (12am) and when we complained, they did offer to move us but we decided to stay put, however, they still allowed it to happen again on our last night (2am).

Also, the resort is surrounded by Roosters in adjoining properties so you will be woken up at 4am or 5am every morning as they crow for hours.

Resort pushes on selling at every opportunity from not telling you they have fresh chilled filtered water for free while they sell you bottled water in all the restuarants up to a massage for 3000 Pesos when you can get one across the road for 350 pesos.
Buffet's are an amazing rip off at at least 1200 Pesos each when you can order ala carte for around 400 - 600 pesos.

All in all, a nice resort with great staff but just not worth the hassles and sleep deprivation.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I travel a lot both for work n leisure. This is one hotel where their reception staff kept repeating "standard check in time is 2 pm".

When I reached hotel at 5 am, I was told that. So I waited. The last time I was in the Philippines, ppl greeted me with mabuhay.. This time, I don't feel any mabuhay. When i asked again at 11 am n at 12 noon, i received the standard answer from different staff. This is definitely a very different resort experience at reception.

A walk at the beach of the resort, I was kinda surprised to find some rubbish floating in the water and it was definitely unwelcoming.

I supposed this is because it is a budget resort.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Timoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My boys and I stayed at the resort (4-days / 3-nights) and was quite satisfied with the service and staff. The resort is well maintained and quite clean. The breakfast buffet was awesome and future visitors should consider adding this option to your stay at Maribago. The food is no doubt pricey and there is certainly an alternative; Maribago Bar & Grill. The restaurant is located right outside the resort; less than 5-minutes walk from the resort. We ate lunch and dinner there and I was surprised how inexpensive it was to dine there. You should consider staying at the "garden wing" if you want peace and quiet. The beach area gets a little bit noisy at night and during dinner (the resort has different dinner theme). The only issue we had was the shower did not have enough pressure and the water was a bit cold (not sure if the hot water was working properly). Overall, our experience was positive and we would not mind staying there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBWanKenobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluewatermaribago, New Media Marketing Officer at Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking time to review our resort. Thank you so much for giving a high rating for us. Any comment about us is welcome as this is our basis on how we will improve our services.

We look forward to welcoming you again in Bluewater Maribago.

Warmest regards,

Bluewater Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

It is a very nice resort where I want to enjoy the sun, the beach, the food and the very cozy rooms.
The staff are very courteous and a matching very good service with a smile. It would be nice if the beach front is always monitored since there are waste that come ashore now and again and it is not a good sight for the guests especially coming from abroad!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marivel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluewatermaribago, New Media Marketing Officer at Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your suggestion about the beach front. We will act on it immediately and make sure the place is always clean.

Looking forward to your return to our property.

Warmest regards,

Bluewater Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Nice resort. Pretty and peaceful and perfect for a 3 day stay! Staff are friendly and very polite. Enjoyed our stay there. Food is so so.
Will try and visit again sometime if we ever have to go to Philippines. Family friendly resort. Would recommend it certainly for those visiting Cebu or Mactan islands.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Latha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluewatermaribago, New Media Marketing Officer at Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for staying in our resort. We appreciate you recommending our property to your friends and family and we look forward to welcoming you again here.

Thank you and best regards,

Bluewater Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We were in 3, tried to reserve a triple room thru the website but was not possible so it was agreed to add extra bed when arrive there.
Upon arrival they charged us for the extra person since the room had only double bed and after long time discussing they gave us discount for the 3rd person. It was informed that they did not have any triple room.
Few hours later they called us and gave us an a triple room for the same price, which was a loft, 2 double bed upstairs including shower, bathroom, and one king size bed downstairs including bath, shower, bathroom.
The facilities are brand new, well cleaned, rooms have heaps of space, device to play ipod, plasma tv, etc but the heater from the shower at the bathroom upstairs was not working the technician went to the room but unable to fix.
They have 2 huge swimming pool in different areas being one of them infinity pool, quite nice.
The food is very expensive and disgusting, the breakfast with not many diversity of western meal.
Other problem is that the hotel is 15 min walking distance from alona beach, so you either walk or use the shuttle bus from the hotel which charges 500 total per time, we paid 100 from outside taxi, so you either use their shuttle or find a taxi outside which is very hard unless you have the phone of someone.
Overall good but location and food not nice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renata g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluewatermaribago, New Media Marketing Officer at Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

I believe you are writing a review for our sister resort, Bluewater Panglao. Thank you for taking time to review our property. We will call the attention of our officers in Bluewater Panglao to see what action is due in response to your comments.

All the best,

Bluewater Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
1.1 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
1.9 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 43 in Mactan Island
729 reviews
2.5 mi away
BE Resort, Mactan
BE Resort, Mactan
#16 of 32 in Lapu Lapu
503 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cebu White Sands Resort & Spa
Cebu White Sands Resort & Spa
#12 of 43 in Mactan Island
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort

Address: Buyong, Maribago, | Mactan Island, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#9 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range: $100 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the sweetness of doing nothing and the satisfaction of doing everything. It is an art you can discover and perfect at Bluewater Maribago, a lush 7-hectare tropical paradise of pure intimate pleasure. Here we put thought into every details of your stay, from the moment we greet you "Mabuhay" to the time we bid you "Farewell".Here, your options are countless: 158 well-appointed rooms, 110-meter beachfront of pristine sand, a private island, 3 lagoon-shaped swimming pools with waterfalls, children's playground, recreation and water sports center, full-service restaurants and bars and the pampering treatment of Amuma Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maribago Bluewater Beach Hotel Lapu Lapu
Hotel Maribago Bluewater Beach
Maribago Bluewater Beach Resort
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing