We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maribago Blue Water Resort Mactan Cebu” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Maribago Blue Water Resort Mactan Cebu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Very pleasant stay at the Hotel. The staff were helpful and pleasant.
The kids were well entertained. Only downside was the food and activities were quite pricy and
we had to live with it. We were "upgraded' which i feel was because we had 3 kids and the 'upgrade" was 3000 pesos eaqch night which is very high. Luckily it was only for 2 nights.

Overall stay was pleasant - but i think for price and forced upgrade Plantation Bay could have been a better choice

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashraf A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    461
    154
    61
    52
See reviews for
348
267
42
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

My boyfriend and I have been here for two nights .It's been a short stay because we've been in Cebu for business trip only but it is very nice experience at Maribago Bluewater Resort.The services are accommodating and the staff was very nice.Although the rooms near beach and pool are quite noisy,but the our total stay was enjoying.If we had a chance we would like to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rochel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nara, Japan
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

We used the hotel four times during 3 years. There are many cheerful and friendly staffs in this hotel. Hotel's services and facility are satisfied us except the hard and dirty tennis court. We stayed Amuma Spa and shower was improved. We practiced asceticism by former shower.

Room Tip: Amuma spa near entrance is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank masahiro k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We had a great stay in Maribago Resort, the whole family was enjoying. The service, facilities, hotel transportation, drivers and most of all the people are awesome from check-in front desk staffs were so efficient, service attendants, security personnel, life guards were so accommodating. Had a great time except for the second day of our stay a big party at the beach was noisy, that was annoying but we where thankful to the guy in-charge at the front desk attended to our concerns, he gave us basket full of fruits and room to rest far from the beach. The whole management and staff of this resort is well-trained and handled guest complaint very well. They're all very nice and happy people. We will surely come back next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluewatermaribago, E-commerce Specialist at Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying in our resort. It is our pleasure to be of excellent service to you and we always strive to meet the discriminating taste of our guests. Thank you for appreciating our efforts by writing this review.

Our guests are our reason for continuously being motivated to be at the top. We hope that you could spread the word about how you enjoyed our hospitality and we look forward to your return.

Best regards,
Bluewater Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

This is an excellent hotel. My girlfriend and I stayed here for 9 nights (including two weekends) in June 2012. The management told us by letter what was happening each weekend day. We had groups from 500-800 people on site and, because the beach and island off the beach are so spacious, we had no problems. The staff were terrific and service was the same.

We saw no rust, no bad furniture and no livestock (no rats). The parties which came into the hotel had left by 7pm.

If you stay at a quality hotel they will host corporate events. They will have weddings, birthday parties, and miscellaneous celebrations. That is so normal !!! Think about your own country. It will be just the same. So why are you complaining? I have stayed at 5 star hotels in New York, Washington, Buenos Aires, Montevideo, Amsterdam, Paris, Barcelona, Oslo and the Oakwood in Seoul. The Maribago is a beach so compares differently but we found it to be an excellent hotel. So much so that we have reserved 11 nights in August, 2012.

Room Tip: This is not a hotel where you expect discos, excitement and inebriation into the early hours. But if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 123Pete456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluewatermaribago, E-commerce Specialist at Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for understanding that events are normal for a hotel or resort such as ours. Your review is much appreciated. We take pride in our staff because all of them are courteous - showcasing true Filipino hospitality.

Please spread the word about your great stay in Bluewater Maribago.

Best regards,

Bluewater Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

To make a long story short:
- it started with a slight aprehension when we saw the room and bath (old pieces of furniture with mold on it, rusty pipes in the bathroom, etc)
- got a bit worrying when we realised that hotel guests were outnumbered 5 to 1 by non-guests who had privatized the beach and the pool (I know I'm superficial but I didnt go all the way to Cebu to have a cultural tour, rather i wanted to enjoy the sun while reading a book on the aforementioned beach or pool)
- then the cherry on the cake, when we asked the management to explain what was going on they purely and simply told us that somehow we should have known that private events by non-guests were part of their marketing strategy. No excuses, no willingness to help us find another hotel (we were treated with the very polite version of "go f**k yourself SIIIRR" after about 2 hours of waiting that someone in the staff would do something, clearly we were wrong to have any kind of expectation there it seems)

Anyway, we moved to another hotel, had a great time. Now i suspect either of 2 things happened:
- the positive reviews on tripadvisors were written by the hotel itself
- the neighbooring hotels have built Maribago so that by comparison anything would shine

If you dont believe me, before you book call the hotel and ask them to GUARANTEE you that no non-guest will privatize the premises during your stay ... and listen to the sound of silence. You want a good room in Cebu, just go to any other hotel, that's what we did and that's my advice to you.

Room Tip: Best option If you want a good room ... GO TO ANOTHER HOTEL, plain and simple
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

I and my family had a quick escapade to CEbu and have chosen Maribago as our destination. Upon check in, the staff at the desk were so friendly and accommodating. The food was superb and the dining service was quick. However, this whole experience turn out sour because of an incident in the lobby. While waiting for our agent to fetch us, we heard a certain french lady and her boyfriend complained about the noisy and crowded beach which we also complained but in "private". I heard the manager yelling at the guests and never agreed to compromise with a simple request or even offered for a transfer to another hotel. Instead, he provided them with a car sending them to nowhere..what a service!!! I clearly heard them since we were right beside their chair. The manager was high tempered and lack customer service. I agree in the previous review and believed that the manager needs training on handling delicate customers and make sure to isolate them in areas where others can't hear their arguments. I felt so bad for the french girl and have second thoughts of going back to the resort. I will neither recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank luisa a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
2.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
1.1 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
1.9 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 41 in Mactan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
2.6 mi away
Be Resorts - Mactan
Be Resorts - Mactan
#15 of 30 in Lapu Lapu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cebu White Sands at Maribago Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort

Property: Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Address: Buyong, Maribago, | Mactan Island, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#9 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the sweetness of doing nothing and the satisfaction of doing everything. It is an art you can discover and perfect at Bluewater Maribago, a lush 7-hectare tropical paradise of pure intimate pleasure. Here we put thought into every details of your stay, from the moment we greet you "Mabuhay" to the time we bid you "Farewell".Here, your options are countless: 158 well-appointed rooms, 110-meter beachfront of pristine sand, a private island, 3 lagoon-shaped swimming pools with waterfalls, children's playground, recreation and water sports center, full-service restaurants and bars and the pampering treatment of Amuma Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maribago Bluewater Beach Hotel Lapu Lapu
Hotel Maribago Bluewater Beach
Maribago Bluewater Beach Resort
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing