We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2011

Easily the nicest resort in Mactan. The beach is second to none, the pool is beautiful, and the staff is incredibly friendly, the rooms are incredibly nice, and they all have free wireless in every room.

That said, I started my trip at Shangri-la and during my month in the Philippines, found you can get similar Shangri-la service/amenities at numerous locations in Cebu for a fraction of the price. Shangri-la is a place that cators to westerners, and they charge you western prices for bed, drinks, and food that are 4 or 5 times what you pay elsewhere in Cebu. For example, a San Miguel beer at Shangri-la will cost you 200 pesos, or about $5. The Westerner in me thinks, "wow that's a good deal for a fancy resort like this". It isn't until you leave your bubble at Shangr-la and realize the normal price for a San Miguel is usually 20-30 pesos (50 to 75 cents), and even at up-scale eateries in Cebu City is only 50 pesos.

So all in all, Shangri-la is a fantastic place and comprable to any Western resort. It's a great place for a short stay, but if visiting the Philippines or Cebu City, is far removed from a true Filipino/Cebuano experience, and it will cost you a pretty penny.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickv575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,786)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,611 - 2,617 of 3,786 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2011

What can i say!! The hotel was PERFECT!! Top NOTCH 5 star property that's truly worth every penny you paid. I love the hotel's concept of merging nature with their modern designs.

The room: AMAZING! 2 beds with comfy pillows and i can sleep there for the rest of my life. The aircon shuts down once you open the door that leads to the veranda. The bathroom is awesome. Clean, stylish and modern . I like their vanity kit too.

I personally loved the cabanas by the shore. it was a hot november and the its right on the shore giving you shade for the day. Fish-feeding activity is something that i never tried in my whole life and they have plenty of huge fishes that stayed close to the beach. The kids love the pool the most. They have 3 pools and my kids love the pool with the slides. They have a lot of activities for the entire family so i highly recommend this property if you wish to create a bonding session with your kids and lover.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LOVEME2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

We stayed at the Shangri-La Mactan during Chinese New Year. CNY is a high travel time in the region (mainland China and Hong Kong especially), so the resort was packed. That said, the only time we felt crowded was at the buffet, but even that was manageable. Upon arrival we were greeted by the sounds of the lounge band and the taste of fresh mango juice while we checked in and received information on the daily activities and amenities – great way to start our 7 day stay!

As a family, we found the service and amenities outstanding! Things we enjoyed:

Pool: There are two pools but we only used the main pool. Our daughter is 5 years old and just learning to swim and the main pool has two large areas where she could stand up and feel safe. The water slide was serious fun and well run. Also, there is a small waterfall and another area where there are permanent water guns. Adjacent to the main pool is a kiddie pool that is 100% covered by shad. Ample beach chairs, but to get a prime location we quickly learned that before going to breakfast mark your spot with towels and books/toys. Multiple lifeguards stationed throughout. Designated family area for no smoking.

Adventure Zone: This is an incredibly fun and well run indoor play area and activities for the kids. There were two rooms – one for the littlest ones (babies and toddlers) and one for bigger kids (not sure of the ages, but my guess would be 4 to 10). Great spot for a rainy day. The staff are great with kids and I felt comfortable leaving her there for a half or full day. One key thing to note is that the kids are required to wear long sleeve shirts and socks, and if you have a little princess, I would also suggest shorts or leggings as they wouldn’t allow my daughter to go down the BIG slide unless she had pants/shorts on and she is always in a dress/skirt. As it was Chinese New Year, they had special events each day and on the actual holiday had an evening party for the kids. I looked in on the party and it was extremely well organized from the food to the activities.

Exercise/Gym: I did not partake but husband did. He liked the facilities, but what he really enjoyed is that the resort offered free organized classes with a trainer. He participated in a stretching class, organized run, and circuit training.

24 Hour Health Clinic: You never realize what a benefit it is until you need it. On our last night, my daughter got sick and I was worried about the plane ride. I inquired with the front desk to see if they had any children’s medication and they told me about the 24 hour clinic staffed by a nurse. We promptly went down to visit the nurse and received some ibuprofen for the ride home. When I shared the experience with another mom on the airport shuttle, she said her son used the clinic when he cut his foot on a rock in the ocean – she too was equally pleased that this added service was available.

Ocean: The water is perfect for kids – shallow and clear with minimum waves. We could clearly see fish without needed any equipment. Life guards are stationed in boats. Beach is a little crowded but there is a designated family area that offers no smoking and a shaded sand area to build a sandcastle or just play in the sand. You can rent snorkeling equipment and lifejackets of all sizes.

Service: The friendly staff are truly amazing – the service at this resort is the best we’ve encountered in our travels. The staff was always helpful and never overbearing and genuinely nice.

Room for improvement:

Airport Car: The shuttle bus was included in our package, but it was packed and cramped – next time we’ll pay the extra for our own car.

Outdoor Show and Buffet: While the show was fun, the buffet was packed and there were long lines for food. Not sure, we would do it again.

Overall we loved our visit and can’t wait to return!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jendan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2011

We had read all the reviews and even had some friends recommend this hotel but it was very average for a 5 star resort, which was very disappointing given we had just stayed in the Shangri-La in Makarti.

Main gripes:
It' s really noisy, from 6am the steady parade of doors slamming and people yelling up the corridors begins, we could hear our neighbors banging around next to us at all hours of the day and night.

The breakfast buffet, firstly the selection was very uninspiring and if you got there after 8am there was only the dregs left. The staff could simply not refill it fast enough. Every morning we would have to ask 3 or 4 times before our coffee would arrive. We had the Sam experience at the dinner buffet.

It is a shame, great location and friendly staff but let down by poor management. For the 5 star price, I expect more, save your peso's and head somewhere else!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2011

We stayed in the Club Floor and were therefore entitled to the free shuttle bus service. The process took longer than we expected and we sat on the bus wishing we had taken a private car. Seats are extremely narrow and the bus is very very compact ! Next time we'll pay the extra and have the hotel Car pick us up.

Despite this we were greeted with a welcome drink on arrival and the checkin was quite straight forward. The rooms were spacious and clean and of the standard you would expect from the Shang. Our first night we had a partial sea view room and we requested to change rooms to a full sea view. This room was a significant improvement, having the full ocean view and increased space on the balcony made a huge difference. The food in the lounge was very good although be warned we witnessed that they shut on the dot.
Amenities are L'occitaine for those of you wondering. Service was excellent as you would expect and you are addressed by name. Strongly advise you to book early at the restaurants, they tend to get very busy especially during holiday periods. If you fancy a massage which doesn't cost the earth, try Marina Mall which is a local mall (30 mins from hotel) Ace Massage - don't expect the luxury of the shang though, far from it, but, it will cost you around 400 peso that's around 6 GBP or 70 HKD) very cheap, expect them to give you a tatty looking tip envelope at the end of your treatment. Regarding tip... usually 100 peso tip is satisfactory. If the DVD selection at the Hotel is somewhat dated and "gone with the wind" isn't your thing inside the Marina Mall you'll find a few "dvd" shops and you can try before you buy !!

Taxi back will be around 120 - 150 peso.

The beach at the Shang was lovely, we really enjoyed our stay and will most definitely be back to the Shang. Enjoy !

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retreats4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

one of the best accomodation that I like most in cebu. best service and great ambience, the food in Cowrie Cove is the one of the greatest.

the first night was extravagant, food from Cowrie Cove was on its best, the waiters are great they are accomodating the bar staff was very hospitable. they know how to make people grove and they flair... a must to see.

the buffet restaurant are very BC but then again they are all in shape to give good service to us.

there are many practicum students that i have meet in this hotel but i give kodus to the hotel staff in the training dept. because they give this young individuals ideas on what really excellent service means.

LOVE this place and the staff who made the hotel a home to us...

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bagz101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2011

I loved everything in the hotel exept for location... It is quite far from everything including good restaurants. We found food in the hotel quite expensive (though very tasty!), tried to find some place for dinner withing walking distance and didn't succeed. May be we were looking at the wrong direction, I don't know, but everything I saw near the hotel were low dives (at least it looked like that and we didn't risk to check). But it was the only disadvantage. Hotel has a beautifull beach with white sandy beach and clear waters. By the way beach bar has really nice food and drinks. SPA facilities are also great and the territory is just fantastic!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KaterinaKozlova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
0.9 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
6.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 92 in Cebu City
3,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
1.6 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#8 of 44 in Mactan Island
753 reviews
2.9 mi away
Waterfront Airport Hotel and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa

Address: Punta Engano Road, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range: $291 - $505 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 530
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in lush tropical landscape and with a crystalline coastline, Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa, Cebu is the premier, award-winning deluxe resort property in the Philippines. It has won acclaim from both domestic and international travelers for its spacious and well-appointed 530 guestrooms and suites, the variety of its dining, entertainment, sports and recreational activities offered in its paradise-like setting and as home to CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, one of the largest spa villages in Asia.Nestled amidst 13 hectares of lush greenery, landscaped gardens and with a 350-meter white-sand beach, Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa, Cebu is the quintessential modern-day paradise. It is an exciting refuge for nature lovers and a favorite among holidaymakers, as it combines rustic surroundings, modern conveniences and genuine Asian hospitality that are distinctly Shangri-La. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Mactan Hotel Lapu Lapu
Shangri-La`s Mactan Resort And Spa
Shangri Las Mactan Hotel
Shangri La Cebu
Shangri La Mactan
Shangri Las Mactan Lapu
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing