We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the best!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Like each and every stay here, the service is consistently warm and wonderful. The staff greets you with the friendliest smiles, housekeep is quick and reliable.
Gives me all the reason to keep coming back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Ayna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,096
    833
    227
    105
    66
See reviews for
1,487
818
87
346
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (622)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Kudos to John Paul and Mike at Tides for their warm smiles and being attentive to our needs. To Guia the Muse for telling us more about golden circle and being so funny and warm. To Aida, the 5th floor lady who soothe our angry hearts for being disappointed at the front desk for their service last June 3-4 when they didn't give our room during check in and was able to get it 7 hrs after......grabe there should have been a discount. I wanted to give 3 stars but becAuse of these fine men and women. They will make ur stay better. Hope management see their efforts and award them accordingly.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivy Nini H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daly City, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

the whole family, our 14 yr. old, 2 yr., and 1 yr., along with their grandparents and uncle came...we all had a wonderful time. the staff is super friendly and helpful. they have all the amenities you need and water activities in the property (island hopping offered as well). they have shuttles that run to malls as well, so you'll never get bored! yes, we even had time to do that, you'll have to checkout the big malls and foodies they have there as well. anyways, back to the hotel, we had two rooms (attached) and it was well maintained - view was awesome as well. they have a restaurant call the cowrie cove you have to checkout...breath taking. the hotel's beach is gorgeous and they have several pools, so it's never really crowded. the grounds are well maintained. oh and their buffet, worth it =)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank celesteandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed with our 2 year old daughter during the Easter holidays and I was a bit apprehensive that service levels will go down because of how busy it gets this time but my fears were unfounded. The service was still as good, friendly and efficient. The only downside of being at peak season was that the beach was quite full and it was hard to get a free spot in the umbrellas or cabanas. However elsewhere in the resort it did not feel crowded at all and we had pleasant meals in every restaurant we went.

The resort really is a family friendly paradise for young children and our daughter had a great time in the pool and play area. I wouldn't recommend it for couples looking for a romantic holiday though, as screeching children everywhere tends to ruin the romantic mood! ;)

We stayed at a one bedroom suite which had an amazing balcony and views over the beach and ocean. It was a good room except that the sofa in the living area was quite firm and uncomfortable and the curtains and roman shades are getting old and need updating since the 'black out' function was not that good anymore, it was quite bright so a bit difficult to put my daughter down for a nap. I may have to bring my travel black out blinds in the future when we go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank junebug75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights last month. The hotel is a good 30 min to an hour drive from the town proper depending on the traffic. It's a hassle if you plan on spending more time in the city than at the beach. The cleanliness of the rooms, facilities, and service are good though. The beach itself is just ok. White sand but not too fine. I've seen better in these parts. Best if traveling with infants and children. Although, if you are traveling as a couple or want a more private atmosphere I suggest trying other resorts.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunny c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busan, South Korea
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

We had high expectations of the Shangri-La Mactan and were not disappointed. The resort is large with all the facilities you would need for a vacation. Apart from a half day trip to a shopping mall we did not find the need or urge to leave the resort itself. We stayed over new year and obviously this was a peak time when the facilities were stretched, so there was often a wait to get a table at breakfast or to get a sunbed on the hotel's private beach. Nevertheless the staff on the beach were always doing their best to find spare sunbeds and parasols/cabanas for us. They have a fantastic coral reef at the beach which simply must not be missed for snorkelling. You can also try scuba diving from the beach. Jet bikes and sailing boats were also a popular activity for our family.
During busy times it's a good idea to book a table in the restaurant in advance.
The spa, although a little pricy compared to places outside the hotel, was a great experience and well worth the extra just for the whole experience and tranquility.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eddie299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

We'd stayed in Shangri-la mactan around 6 times already, the last being 2 years ago and the kids were all excited to return. We were a little let down when we got to our room at 2:30 and the adjoining room wasn't ready, there was only one pair of slippers for both rooms and no room service menu in either room. The handle to the closet in one room was also coming off already and we had to call housekeeping to fix it. The breakfast the following day was a bit underwhelming as well, maybe partly because the breakfast buffet at Marco Polo hotel in Cebu, where we had stayed overnight prior to coming to Shang, was very good. There weren't as many choices and because the Tides is under renovation, breakfast was served for all the guests at the main ballroom, that they had converted to a dining area. I don't know if we had availed of a different package before, but I wondered why now we were only entitled to use 2 sets of snorkeling gear for 1 hour each for each room, even if were staying for 2 nights and 3 days, whereas I think there was unlimited use of these before. Plus now you have to pay to play any of the games, even badminton and table tennis.
There were still pleasant memorable points. The beach is still a lot of fun, especially the fish feeding for the kids. The view from our rooms was spectacular, and the service, as can be expected from a Shangri-la hotel was very good. I just wish we could still get as much fun for the premium that we pay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Or2pod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
0.9 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
1.9 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,975 reviews
1.6 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 41 in Mactan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
2.9 mi away
Waterfront Airport Hotel and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
Address: Punta Engano Road, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 530
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in lush tropical landscape and with a crystalline coastline, Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa, Cebu is the premier, award-winning deluxe resort property in the Philippines. It has won acclaim from both domestic and international travelers for its spacious and well-appointed 530 guestrooms and suites, the variety of its dining, entertainment, sports and recreational activities offered in its paradise-like setting and as home to CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, one of the largest spa villages in Asia.Nestled amidst 13 hectares of lush greenery, landscaped gardens and with a 350-meter white-sand beach, Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa, Cebu is the quintessential modern-day paradise. It is an exciting refuge for nature lovers and a favorite among holidaymakers, as it combines rustic surroundings, modern conveniences and genuine Asian hospitality that are distinctly Shangri-La. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Mactan Hotel Lapu Lapu
Shangri-La`s Mactan Resort And Spa
Shangri Las Mactan Hotel
Shangri La Cebu
Shangri La Mactan
Shangri Las Mactan Lapu
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing