We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Eloisa Royal Suites(Lapu Lapu)(Great Value!)
$106
$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
$59
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dulcinea Hotel and Suites(Lapu Lapu)(Great Value!)
$88
$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$142
$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Goldberry Suites & Hotel(Lapu Lapu)(Great Value!)
$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chambre Hotel Mactan(Lapu Lapu)(Great Value!)
$27
$26
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,848)
Filter reviews
3,849 results
Traveler rating
2,418
962
266
123
80
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,418
962
266
123
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean wingcowrie covechi spaadventure zonetides restaurantocean club loungebuko barfish foodmarine sanctuarymini golfchinese restaurantprivate beachtropical fishfish feedingbreakfast buffetwhite sand beachplay area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,002 - 2,007 of 3,849 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2014

A beautiful resort that far exceeded my expectations. We were travelling with family and our three year old granddaughter. There is nothing this resort had not thought of for our total enjoyment and comfort, and for a child of any age there were so many activities to entertain them constantly. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed, the garden is very beautiful, it is truly a paradise. The staff is delightful and looked after us so well. Our granddaughter's third birthday was made so memorable by these beautiful people.

Room Tip: A sea view is preferable.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Spent the weekend here after a busy conference. Beautiful hotel in a beautiful location on the best part of the island. Not too far from the airport. It's on the beach and has some excellent cane furniture. I actually liked a design so much I had a chair made when I got back to India. Despite a few reviews about the food I actually liked it and they had some interesting cocktails and mocktails on the menu that were well made and a nice place for seafood. Although I was alone there seemed to be plenty to do for the whole family. The staff were top notch and the room was tidied within a few minutes of me going down to lunch! Will definitely choose this place if i visit Cebu again with my wife.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skywords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had done some research for our first family trip to Cebu and we were glad that we had chosen the Shangi-La. The resort is just a short trip from the airport and has an (artificial) beach and lots of fish in the sea. The family room was excellent, even it was not in the nicer ocean wing as we had booked. It seems our room had just been renovated and apparently re-classified. We went to all restaurants and food was good, but there seems to be a large price difference between locally available items such as chicken and imported food such as steak. The resort is ideal for kids with several pools, a small 'waterpark' and an indoor kids area with playpark (fee) On the other hand, the Spa was 'off limits' to kids. We also checked out the Moevenpick next door which has only a small beach and is next to a kind of port, but has a disco.

Though the resort is spacious, it felt very crowded during our stay around Xmas, even before the peak season on New Year. There were long waits to get an available table for breakfast, even though they had set up additional facilites in the ballrooms (!) which were naturally not nearly as nice. Also there was no chance to get any sunbed by the pool after 9 am or go to dinner without a day's prior reservation. Some of these issues could be easily sorted out by e.g. not making breakfast mandatory or setting up more sunbeds or parasols during peak times.
The other thing we noticed several times was the apparent better service for some locals, such as being allowed to jump the long queue at breakfast or much more attentive service, while we had problems even to place an order. Still not sure whether these are regulars who know how to 'game' the system (e.g. by calling 15 min earlier to have a table ready), high-class people who are used to 'boss around' the locals or staff who shys away from English speakers. My hunch is that they are known as better tippers as I gave a "baksheesh" to the pool attentant when I secured the last available sunbeds for the family and he kindly offered to 'reserve' these for us also for the next day...

Other points :
+ Strangely, I could not withdraw cash from the ATM at reception, but the ATM (from BPI) at the parking lot worked.
+ When we could not get dinner at the resort, we went outside. Just opposite the staff entrance behind the parking lot is the 'Hola Espana' restaurant which was good.
+ While the Shangri-la offers almost everything, I recommend to see more of the island and also do a shopping trip to a mall in Cebu City.

Room Tip: Family rooms are great.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TokyoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This place is great. Staff is wonderful and very attentive. Room is always kept clean and crisp. The beach is beautiful. The only downside is the food. Please improve the food Shangri-La! The only place that was good was Tide's but it is very over priced. All in all I am giving it a four star review due to the positive attitude of the staffs.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

our first time to visit Cebu and chose this hotel because of the trusted shangri-la hotels. upon our arrival, a friendly private van picked us up at the airport. our stay was pre-purchased so the front desk personnel took us straight to our room and did the check-in process there. the family room was spacious and perfect, it has a separate living area, 2 queen beds, a veranda, and a view of the sea. we stayed for 4 nights and did tons of different activities: played on the beach, fed the fish, kayaking, miniature golf, kiddie pool and slide. they have the best breakfast, lunch, and dinner buffets.

Room Tip: book the family room if you're travelling with kids - they're really spacious . choose a room near the main lobby - the cultural shows can be seen from your veranda. choose the private van/car over the shuttle - the shuttle gets full and crowded.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fortmac_eric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews