We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very kids friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very kids friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Me and my hubby love bringing our kids to travel with us so it is important for us to choose a kids friendly resort. Shangri-La's Mactan has done a great job in providing a big fantastic kids club for children to play and join their kids program. Besides, their babysitting service is very reasonable. As me and my hubby loves diving, our kids were then being taken care of by the babysitter. When we were back, their diapers were changed and new clothes were put on and they were ready to sleep!! Great job! :)
The house reef is another great bonus as the kids could feed the fish and enjoy time playing on the beach. There is also a big kids pool. The kids had a great time there.
And in the morning breakfast, they have unlimited fresh mango -- very yummy!! This can really occupy the kids as they are all mango lovers!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinker247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,981
    790
    213
    98
    63
See reviews for
1,396
764
83
332
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We visited Shangri-la Cebu for a quick break and were looking for a relaxing 4 days away from busy life in HK. We were not disappointed. Upgraded to suite on arrival which was very considerate given we were traveling with 2 young kids and the extra space was well used. Lovely beach, pool and play areas for kids. Great restaurants in terms of quality and value. Did not want to leave ....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed in Shangri-la Mactan for a short vacation with my family. We have stayed here several times in the past and we never get disappointed with the resort amenities, food choices, and the service. This place is perfect for those with kids, as the management really makes it a point to make the resort as kid friendly as possible. Rooms we stayed in are newly refurbished and other rooms still ongoing renovation. We encountered a slight inconvenience one night as we were swimming in the pool and saw sparks and smoke, and smelled chlorine fumes nearby the pool. The lifeguard on duty was the only staff we encountered who did not seem to care and did not know how to handle the situation. However, when we called the attention of management, they were very apologetic and explained the situation. The management knows how to handle their customers well. Will definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We have stayed at the Shangila in Mactan several times in the past. In fact we even brought our whole office staff once. As to be expected, the service was very good. Efficient and courteous staff. For this trip, we attended a wedding of a friend that was held at the Marquee pavilion, which was within the Hotel Complex. We took the cart going to and from our room which was at the far end Ocean Wing. We only stayed two nights, 3 days.

Room Tip: If you stay at the Ocean Wing, the Acqua Restaurant is less crowded than the Tides main dining area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is family resort with many kids, if you are after quiet honeymoon hideaway you are looking at wrong place. However I stayed here for 3 times in last 2 years and brought with me my 3month old infant and 2.5yr old girl and everything worked out perfect.

What you get:
- Friendly staff in safe cozy resort environment.
- Top beach and coral reef perfect for snorkel right outside your hotel. This is a VERY VERY NICE coral beech and I come to Cebu Shangri-la for THIS beach.
- Overpriced Chi Spa... I'd use them if they were 1/3 the price.

What you don't get:
- serenity of 'adult only' ambiance. You will have kids everywhere.
- utmost luxury in terms of amenities or facilities - this is resort hotel, not a boutique luxury heaven.
- international 5* gastronomy - resort has 3 main dining venues + buffet restaurant. The quality of food was best at AQUA ok at Cowrie Cove and Tide was a disappointment. If food is important you may be out of luck.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank TedinHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

I have stayed here several times while visiting cebu and evertime has been a good experience. They've renovated some of the rooms already and in the process of renovating the rest.

Checkin was a breeze and they greet with you a drink. Room and bed was great, our room was recently renovated so it was very nice. My family has been coming here for years and anytime i am in cebu i make it a point to stay here. Pools were great, the one close to the restaurant with the infinity edge was very clean and well maintained. The other pool area with the slide and basketball goal not quite as clean. Aread behin the basketball goal needs to be cleaned as it is very grassy and dirty looking. Other than that everything else was good.

Breakfast is the best here, so dont miss it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TX0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

I was there back in March 2013 for a business trip. The resort is big and there are a lot of facilities can be use during my stay there. The newly renovated rooms are very comfy and bright, especially the Seaview Room.

I love Tides and Tea of Spring, both provides good food that you can't resist. I was told that they have the biggest Chi spa in the group, and I tried one of the treatment which is totally relax there.

Good resort that also with a huge kids club, many things that can be done and spend time with your kids there.

Last but not least, they have the most beautiful beach with a Marine Sanctuary. You guys should visit here. :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YY625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
0.9 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
0.3 mi away
Moevenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
1.9 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 86 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,723 reviews
1.6 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 41 in Mactan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
2.9 mi away
Waterfront Airport Hotel and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
Address: Punta Engano Road, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 530
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in lush tropical landscape and with a crystalline coastline, Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa, Cebu is the premier, award-winning deluxe resort property in the Philippines. It has won acclaim from both domestic and international travelers for its spacious and well-appointed 530 guestrooms and suites, the variety of its dining, entertainment, sports and recreational activities offered in its paradise-like setting and as home to CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, one of the largest spa villages in Asia.Nestled amidst 13 hectares of lush greenery, landscaped gardens and with a 350-meter white-sand beach, Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa, Cebu is the quintessential modern-day paradise. It is an exciting refuge for nature lovers and a favorite among holidaymakers, as it combines rustic surroundings, modern conveniences and genuine Asian hospitality that are distinctly Shangri-La. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Mactan Hotel Lapu Lapu
Shangri-La`s Mactan Resort And Spa
Shangri Las Mactan Hotel
Shangri La Cebu
Shangri La Mactan
Shangri Las Mactan Lapu
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing