We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and great food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent service and great food”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Easy accessible, nice resort (spacious and clean), excellent service, perfect beach and great choise of restaurants for breakfast buffet, lunch and dinner (buffet) as well.

We went there over CNY which means it is very, very crowded and also with a lot of kids. So keep that in mind when planning your trip. When looking for a place for family holiday it is great. We visited as a young couple/no kids, but nonetheless great holiday.

Room Tip: We had a regular sea view room which is okay, nothing special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen0309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,179
    869
    239
    107
    70
See reviews for
1,565
847
90
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Visited this lovely hotel with my 2 kids - age 2 and 7. It was almost perfect for families with young children. Lots of facilites and activities : lots of pools, water slides, swings, water play and an indoor playground. What stands out the most is that snorkelling is right at your door step! Elder kid and I were snorkelling and feeding fish everyday. If you are in other resorts in S.E.A region, you may need a boat ride to do all these, but not here. There's even a PADI dive school in the hotel for those who are into serious diving. Another thing worth mentioning is their service. Even my 7-year old commented that staffs here are alot friendlier than in Shangri-La Golden Sands in Penang!
Food-wise, rather standard fare but lots of Korean selection (probably due the number of Korean guests here). On the 3rd day, we are quite sick of it. Lack of chinese food.
However, do note that besides the hotel, there is really much to offer in Cebu. Well, maybe it's not a fair comment, but as a S'porean, I do need some retail therapy in the evenings but was disappointed. Nearest decent mall takes a while to get there cos of the traffic. Hotel offers free transport to these malls (but dont bother!). I would only rate 3-stars for this Cebu holiday but definitely 5-stars for the hotel. Thank you Shangri-la Mactan!

Room Tip: The new wing costs a little more but it's definitely nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MPLai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legazpi, Philippines
Level Contributor
223 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

As the name connotes, the name Shangrila exudes Luxury -- elegance -- and of course class.
But just like any other Shangrila chain of Hotels / Resorts, its seemingly the same with each other.

I have been to Shangrila Resort in Tanjung Aru - Kota Kinabalu and the landscape and building structure is similar to that of Shangrila Mactan , Cebu. Massive, huge landscape and a great view from every angle.

Above is only an example of the many similarities of Shangrila around the world.

Expect good service, clean areas, nice bathrooms and rooms and of course be ready to pay for a hefty amount of cash for all of these luxuries.

We had lunch buffet at the Resorts "TIDES" restaurant and I would say that from 1 to 10 , and 10 being the highest, I can rate this restaurant as "6". The ambiance is casual and they have 6-stations being (Japanese station, kebabs and grilled food station, pasta/burger and exotic food station, salad station (of which choices are too limited) ; soup/Chinese some sort of station and of course the dessert station!!

Well of course, food taste is very SUBJECTIVE. I might find lamb an interested food and for others its not. I might find the pasta good but again, for others its not. But just the same, Iam more concerned about the food in general -- its selection is quite "conservative" -- but cant complain much as they offer a quite reasonable price for lunch buffet at Php1,500++ (around US$37.50++ - that is P40. to 1-US$ as of this writing).

For those who have been to one of Shangrila Resorts and Spa anywhere in the world. Just expect things to be equally the same!!

Room Tip: Choose a room that's facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Men, if you are going to Cebu you owe it to your family to go to this hotel. It is by far the best hotel in Cebu and probably one of the best in Asia. I cannot imagine a better experience than we had at this family friendly hotel.

PROS
- The beach area is fabulous. Too often you find hotels that are heavy on hotel and light on beach. That is not the case here. You can walk right off the beach to some great snorkeling. Lots of toys available for the kids. My only complaint is that the sand is a little coarse if you want something that could be improved.
- Watersports, para-sailing, wake boarding, banana-boating; it's all at the hotel. If you prefer you do not even need to leave the resort grounds.
- Hotel staff are world class and the onsight facilities make you feel safe. For example there are two nurses available 24 hours which was great because my son banged his knee running on the resort at 9PM at night. Twenty minutes later they had his would cleaned and he was at 100%.
- If the weather turns poor there is a great indoor play area that kids up to ten years old would find great.
- There are visitors from all over the world Japan, China, Europe, North America, Russia, Korea, all the world is represented.
- Rooms are great but who spends time in their rooms.
- We ate at the buffet all the time because it was easier with kids. They had food to fit every diet.

CONS
- If you are single or a couple I could see certain people being annoyed by the number of children however there is a second pool sans the waterslide and water guns that non-families would enjoy.
- While not outrageous expensive it does add up. Everything you touch will cost about USD $10 and between the exotic drinks, mini-golf, and snacks there are a lot of touches.
- The area around the hotel seems quite poor but that is the Philippines.

Other Notes: We took a boat trip to the local reef. It was a great trip with the local boat boys and the hotel sends a chaperone with you. However, in my non professional opinion I thought the hotel provided an equal snorkel experience. We did take our two children (8 and 5) snorkeling in the open water. The boys did ok but the water currents were uncomfortably strong. In hindsight we would have snorkeled at the hotel and island hop for the food instead.

Airports: If you can avoid flying through Manilla I recommend it. Most of the airport staff are corrupt and you will likely be shaken down for money (I was). The Cebu airport is more under control but still decades behind the times.

Room Tip: Who stays in the rooms at this hotel? But you should get one facing the water. Isn't that sort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wisconsin_Cobber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Excellent all-around. A very comprehensive large resort with mutliple pools and restaurants to keep guests occupied. Stayed for over a week but never got bored. Beach, pool, restaurants were fantastic. Only gripe would be the sheer popularity of the place, so hunting for a good shaded spot by the pool can be a challenge, as is finding the best spot at the restaurants. In connection with this is the lack of personal-level service found at other 5-star resorts. The neighboring Crimson resort, in comparison, was able to provide this, although to be fair, the Crimson resort is smaller. Another gripe was the frequency with which the card-key stopped working. A rather bothersome issue. In any case, an excellent place for North East Asia guests to escape the winter. Scores high points in all categories.

Room Tip: Ocean Club
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donSeoul_SouthKorea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This is our 2nd visit to Shangri-la. The 1st being March 2012.

We booked a 10 night stay with the intention of "checking out" another hotel for a further 5 nights. However, upon arrival and over the following days members of staff just kept saying "welcome back." We began to realise just how much we enjoyed our previous stay so much so that we extended our stay here for a further 5 nights and decided to forget about the other hotel.

We took breakfast and evening meals at Tides restaurant and the selection of food on offer was excellent. Chef June not only catered for my dietary requirements but also prepared some fantastic traditional filipino food for me to try while Benedicto and Limuel made sure our every need was attended to.

Looking at some of the negative comments here on Tripadvisor I have to say that is certainly NOT what we experienced on either visit. Literally every member of staff we encounted was so poilte, respectful and sincere. The staff here genuinely want you to have the best possible holiday and they are so passionate about there work that NOTHING is too much trouble for them.

We also tried out the Chi Spa this time. OMG! It was the best massage (Philippine Hilot) I have ever had but let me tell you this, the cost P2400 each (promo) was a bargain just to see inside the actual place - you get your own villa!!

I have fallen in love with the Philippines and its people. They have one asset which sticks out like a sore thumb and something which is heading for extinction at an alarming rate in the UK and that is "Self Respect" With self respect comes respect for others. On my 1st visit I was walking through a park and a group of 14-16 year old school girls were walking towards me all with beaming smiles on their faces when one of them said "welcome to our country sir, we hope you enjoy your vacation." That blew me away! If you looked at a group of similar girls in the UK the best you could expect would be a mouthful of obscenities.

At the pedestrian entrance to the hotel there is a sign which reads "Thru this pathway pass the most courteous, sincere, respectful and helpful hotel employees in the world." Let me tell you this.......every word of it is true! These really are the best of the best!

Here's some tips for those people who have left negative comments on Trip Advisor in the hope that they might have a better holiday next time whether staying at the Shangri-la or any other hotel....

If you're the sort of person who:-

1) expects perefection..... start by looking in the mirror. You're not perfect yourself and never will be so don't expect others to be perfect.

2) is looking for total peace and quiet..... go find an uninhabited island in the middle of the ocean and stay there.

3) considers themself to be superior to others..... try dealing with people on an equal basis for a change and you'll be amazed at the results.

4) is impossible to please no matter how hard people try..... either get a life or do everyone else a favour because you're wasting precious oxygen!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The resort has a magic charm that is beyond description. We arrived in a afternoon with dark clouds and occasional drizzling, not the best for a resort holidays. However, there are so much to keep us occupied, be it just a stroll along the paths and explore new corners with photo-perfect scenery; or a nice Mactan Iced-tea by the Cowrie Cove watching sun-set. Spend an hour snoring under the tree and waking to the ice-cream corner with the chess on the floor. Happy life can be really simple...

Room Tip: Rooms on the Ocean Wing is more private than the main wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Principessaciu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
0.9 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
1.9 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,106 reviews
1.6 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 41 in Mactan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
2.9 mi away
Waterfront Airport Hotel and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
Address: Punta Engano Road, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 530
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in lush tropical landscape and with a crystalline coastline, Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa, Cebu is the premier, award-winning deluxe resort property in the Philippines. It has won acclaim from both domestic and international travelers for its spacious and well-appointed 530 guestrooms and suites, the variety of its dining, entertainment, sports and recreational activities offered in its paradise-like setting and as home to CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, one of the largest spa villages in Asia.Nestled amidst 13 hectares of lush greenery, landscaped gardens and with a 350-meter white-sand beach, Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa, Cebu is the quintessential modern-day paradise. It is an exciting refuge for nature lovers and a favorite among holidaymakers, as it combines rustic surroundings, modern conveniences and genuine Asian hospitality that are distinctly Shangri-La. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Mactan Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Mactan Hotel Lapu Lapu
Shangri Las Mactan Hotel
Shangri La Cebu
Shangri La Mactan
Shangri Las Mactan Lapu
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing