We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On-site Marine Reserve is the star of this resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Covington, Louisiana
Level Contributor
154 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“On-site Marine Reserve is the star of this resort”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Expectations are always high at a Shangri-La Resort, and this one delivers. The usual suspects are there, such as a large and diverse pool complex (with water slide for kids), the gorgeous Chi Spa, multiple restaurant options, kids club, etc. Where this resort has an advantage is at the beach. There is an outstanding house reef, reachable even for younger children. You may see dozens of tropical fish species including sargent majors, clown fish, eels, parrotfish, damsels, and even a few lion fish, Giant clams also seen in deeper water. Excellent water sports options abound as well at the beach. A top notch resort with attentive staff. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ocean wing room guests can dine at Acqua Restaurant at breakfast, which is much less crowded than at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,181
    870
    239
    107
    70
See reviews for
1,567
847
90
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
171 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Pros :
-Complimentary airport pickup
-Family friendly environment with kids pools, water slides, miniature golf, ping pong table and adventure zone with giant slides (for a fee).
- Complimentary bottles of water, nespresso coffee, tea.
- Free in room Wi-Fi
- Daily fresh fruits
- Packed breakfast for early check out
- Private beach

Most the pros are standard amenities for any 5 stars resort. There is really no wow factor here.

Cons :

-Room - we have a suite with a separate sitting area but the room still feels small and no view. Bathroom is not too spacious. The room does not have a wow factor.
-Breakfast - good selections but the restaurant is crowded during the peak holiday season, so service was rush and not too attentive.
- We could not find any poolside attendants to order food. We had to walk to the bar in person to ask for service.
- Unlike other Shangri-La resort, some facilities for kids (Adventure zone ) are not complimentary.
- Kids do not get special treats upon check in even it's a family resort. Nor was there kids slippers or robes.
-Kids pool are crowded and many pool chairs were occupied by hotel nannies watching the kids.
- Shuttle bus to airport on certain hours only. For early check out, need to take hotel car which is 4x more $ than the metered taxi.
- Metered taxis are hard to get as they are all outside the entrance of hotel which a 2 mins drive from the lobby. It seems that the hotel discourages guests using metered taxis.

Overall, it's a comfortable place to stay, but not for it's value. It's disappointing as compares to other Shangri-La resorts in Asia.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sfonorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuergenDoerr, General Manager at Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments. We are continuously searching for ways to improve on what we offer to our guests and will certainly look at the issues that you brought up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Myself, Wife and our 2 year old stayed at this resort over xmas and new years.
It is probably the best resort we have seen that caters for adults and children to a high standard.
Staff are very helpful and friendly - nothing is too much trouble.
Kids are most welcome there, but do not also take over the place either.

Definitely worth a trip if you want a resort based holiday with the kids. We plan to return this year.

Room Tip: Sea view with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dewi_J_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, absolutely beautiful view! Snorkeling was right at their beach a few feet from the shore. So stunning gardens and walkways. Restaurants are great! Spa is so well designed for pure relaxation! I did not want to leave. :)

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TessMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I really love the location, the service and most of all the Food. The breakfast items are huge, I cant even memorized all the items but all are really delicious. The internet is free and really good. The front view of the room is unforgettable. I always love to visit one more time.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zibran I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had a great time at the Shangri-la. It's only a 15 minute ride from the airport, which makes it a great weekend get-away splurge. The dinner buffets, although pricey, were delicious. The snorkeling on the private beach was fantastic. Not only was the water warm and inviting, but we saw so many colorful, tropical fish. The secluded grounds will really make you feel like you're away from it all. This is definitely not the most exotic place you can visit in the Philippines, but the service from the staff, the private beach, and the good snorkeling made it a worthwhile visit for us. Since the food prices are a bit high, you may want to take the Shangri-la's complimentary shuttle to SM Mall to eat at less-pricey establishments.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Ocean Wing. The complimentary use of the water sports equipment and the breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our family of 2 adults and 2 kids stayed at the resort over Christmas night. This is our 3rd stay here, since New Year's Eve of 2000. No doubt, the rates at this Shangri-la resort is always higher than other Shangri-la resorts over the holiday periods, but it still provides endless recreation for everyone, somewhat justifying the higher pricing. The resort was clearly full and busy, but everywhere, from the front desk, to the baggage handling service, to housekeeping, staff was always helpful and prompt, never once showing signs of fatigue or being overworked. That's the beauty of the service industry in the Philippines. We also note that the hotel continually upgrades itself (we did notice that our room was refurbished), and also added more water play areas, etc, to provide more variety.

One of our bags did not arrive at the airport and when we checked in, the lady at the reception (I'm sorry we didn't get her name) immediately offered to help us retrieve it from the airport the following day on the same flight using the resort shuttle van. All we had to do was to hand her the lost baggage form. Since we were there for only one night, and did not have any beachwear with us, she offered complimentary amenitiy kits, and to extend our stay to as late as possible the following day. Sure enough, two beautiful boxes were delivered to our room, consisting of t-shirts, shorts, disposable underwear, cleansing solutions, deodorant and hairgel. My husband's shorts did not fit him, and housekeeping went back and forth twice more to bring him the right size. That's the 5-star quality service this resort offers which makes it so popular and for customers to return time and again.

It was packed at the pools and beach, but the clear blue waters with fish swimming around your feet, and extensive facilities like snooker, ping pong tables, mini golf, badminton make this place a fun setting for the whole family. Not to mention the indoor adventure zone and e-zone for when it rains or a reprieve from the sun and sand.

I had a massage at the Chi spa that night, and the therapist, Girlie, was one of the best I've experienced (this is comparing with Banyan Tree Spas and Mandara Spas in the region).

Needless to say, we will return yet again, but perhaps during a less peak period the next time around!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susantiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
0.9 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
1.9 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,110 reviews
1.6 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 41 in Mactan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
2.9 mi away
Waterfront Airport Hotel and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
Address: Punta Engano Road, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 530
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in lush tropical landscape and with a crystalline coastline, Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa, Cebu is the premier, award-winning deluxe resort property in the Philippines. It has won acclaim from both domestic and international travelers for its spacious and well-appointed 530 guestrooms and suites, the variety of its dining, entertainment, sports and recreational activities offered in its paradise-like setting and as home to CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, one of the largest spa villages in Asia.Nestled amidst 13 hectares of lush greenery, landscaped gardens and with a 350-meter white-sand beach, Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa, Cebu is the quintessential modern-day paradise. It is an exciting refuge for nature lovers and a favorite among holidaymakers, as it combines rustic surroundings, modern conveniences and genuine Asian hospitality that are distinctly Shangri-La. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Mactan Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Mactan Hotel Lapu Lapu
Shangri Las Mactan Hotel
Shangri La Cebu
Shangri La Mactan
Shangri Las Mactan Lapu
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing