We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will be spoilt here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Just left after an 8 night stay here. Overall we had a fantastic time. The staff are so friendly nod attentive - they keep changing your towels for dry ones when you are by the pool!

Positives-
Great room for a family ( we stayed in an executive room, it was very spacious, king size bed, dining area and still room for roll away beds for the kids)
Prompt, friendly service
Fantastic breakfast buffet
Great snorkelling from the beach
Great gym
Kids loved the e-zone and adventure club
Lovely pizza at Acqua

Negatives -
They charge extra for most things e.g. Kids club, snorkel hire. Given high cost of accommodation this was annoying.
Food in Tides buffet was a bit disappointing - we were there on Xmas day and there was plenty of choice but the overall quality, with the exception of the roast beef, was average.
Resort isolated from decent shops and restaurants

In summary we had a great stay and would return (maybe not at Xmas though as room charges were high!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rossern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,692)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,232 - 2,238 of 3,693 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed 12 days at the hotel, our second stay. We liked it -again - a lot. The premises are prime beach front and the tropical gardens very well kept. Lots of activities for everyone, including the great house reef for snorkeling and scuba diving. Also great pools and golf pitching and mini golf course.
The newly refurbished rooms are of good taste and functional. The staff is very friendly and attentative, around christmas maybe a little overworked. The food in the restaurants, I agree with many other writers, is good hotel food, no gourmet food, but that's ok given the price.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlablaBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

hotel service was very good,rooms are fantastic nice breakfast at aqua restaurant and dinner at tides..awesome hotel to stay.my experience of this hotel was great i like the buffets and also the bands at lobby it was excellent band i love it!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cebumaggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay here with the kids. This is our second stay here this year and the kids really love the hotel including the pool and adventure zone for kids. Even the bar area and band was very kid friendly. The staff also go out of their way to go the extra mile. Highly recommend this hotel for families.

Stayed: December 2012
Thank MakatiJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Paradoxical how they spend so many resort resources on space for children, but then they allow smoking throughout the pool areas.

They'll respond to this post by saying that the children's area is "non-smoking." In theory, it is. But the water playground is right next to the main pool, which, again, allows smoking.

And the other children's area has very few seats around it, so to find a seat nearby, you'll be stuck setting up in the main pool area = smoking section.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Z S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuergenDoerr, General Manager at Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2012

Thank you for bringing the matter up. We would like to let you know that in the interests of our guests' health and well-being, all pool and beach areas will soon be non-smoking zones. We hope to welcome you and your family back to Mactan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

My family and I stayed at Shangri-La Mactan for a week ending in mid December.

The resort has a great many amenities (the beach is lots of fun and our kids loved AdventureZone and the new kids pools) and the views from the rooms are stunning.

Unfortunately the rooms in the Ocean Wing are starting to look very dated and are in need of a renovation - our room and the corridor had very stained carpets and a broken basin that had been glued back together. Given we paid c.US$250+ per night this wasn't what we were expecting. Our friends stayed in some of the cheaper 'deluxe ocean view' rooms and were treated to fantastic newly renovated rooms with very pleasant decor / beds etc.

Having previously stayed at the resort, we went back to the Ocean Wing (located on Level 8 of the hotel above the Acqua resort) so that we had access to the Ocean Lounge but found the food served had declined materially in terms of quality compared to when we last stayed there.

We found the service was attentive and friendly but staff either we not able to help us with our enquiries or forgot that we had requested something (after which we had to follow up for it to be done) - nothing too major but was just more annoying than anything else. Further, a number of maintenance activities were being carried whilst we were there. We were then faced with a number of full days of hammering / grinding which continued despite us talking a number of times to the staff in the Ocean Club.

As Shangri-La is undertaking a comprehensive maintenance of the property so we can only hope this is going to include the Ocean Wing as there are a number of new hotels opening in Cebu that are closer to the city and especially at the higher end will give Shangri-La a run for its money.

In terms of restaurants, we thoroughly enjoyed Tides and Acqua but the best was the restaurant down by the beach - fantastic fresh and delicious food.

The wifi in the resort was also very fast and easy to access so that was also a plus.

Chi Spa is fantastic, however it does come with premium prices for its massages.

Room Tip: For uninterrupted beach views (and a great ocean breeze) request rooms in the Ocean Wing above level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Francis d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

we booked through agoda the night before and they did not receive our reservation. when you arrive there is a lot of greetings but it does not seem genuine and everyone is following a playbook script. we arrived in the hotel late, shown to our room was nice gesture but not necessary. the room itself compared to north america would be would be a three star hotel .. rooms need updating and nothing home to write about. we headed to tides restaurant at 10 pm after being told it would close at 11 pm. we ordered and was rushed to have our main entree then 5 minutes later asked to clear our bill. we paid and then everyone vanished ... couldn't even get a refill of water ..what was the point of paying the mandatory service charge for no service? breakfast was ok and the beach area was the nicest in the area. i would say the service was better after spending a couple of nights at plantation bay. for the money you pay at shangri-la, it isn't really worth it. the grounds remind me of sheraton in maui. otherwise i would say it was a miss and disappointment. spend your money elsewhere.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
3  Thank WanderlustYYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuergenDoerr, General Manager at Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2012

We are sorry to read about the concerns you had during your stay. Please be assured that we are looking into the points you raised, and we hope that you will be able to return and experience Shangri-La hospitality from the heart.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
0.9 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
6.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 92 in Cebu City
3,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
1.6 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 43 in Mactan Island
723 reviews
8.6 mi away
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
#3 of 92 in Cebu City
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa

Address: Punta Engano Road, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range: $279 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 530
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in lush tropical landscape and with a crystalline coastline, Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa, Cebu is the premier, award-winning deluxe resort property in the Philippines. It has won acclaim from both domestic and international travelers for its spacious and well-appointed 530 guestrooms and suites, the variety of its dining, entertainment, sports and recreational activities offered in its paradise-like setting and as home to CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, one of the largest spa villages in Asia.Nestled amidst 13 hectares of lush greenery, landscaped gardens and with a 350-meter white-sand beach, Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa, Cebu is the quintessential modern-day paradise. It is an exciting refuge for nature lovers and a favorite among holidaymakers, as it combines rustic surroundings, modern conveniences and genuine Asian hospitality that are distinctly Shangri-La. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Mactan Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Mactan Hotel Lapu Lapu
Shangri Las Mactan Hotel
Shangri La Cebu
Shangri La Mactan
Shangri Las Mactan Lapu
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing