We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No need to leave the hotel; relaxing resort.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“No need to leave the hotel; relaxing resort.”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

If you are looking for a resort to relax, unwind, and just do nothing, the Shangri-la at Mactan is the place to be. Located on Mactan Island, the resort is a 15-minute drive from the Cebu airport. After a long journey, a short ride to the hotel is always a welcome. The resort staff were friendly and always available to help. They upgraded us to a suite, which included a living room, a maid's room, which was the smaller than what I would call a walk-in closet in the US, two bathrooms, and a very large balcony with two lounge chairs and resting area. I could have been happy just to spend the vacation in our room ordering room service around the clock.

However, I was in Cebu to take a GUE dive course, which took place at Scotty's dive shop, located on the grounds of the hotel, and I did not have time to enjoy the amenities of the hotel much. If I hadn't been there for a dive course, I would have lounged by one of the two pools, worked out in the fitness gym, sipped cocktails in several of their bars, or just read and napped in a lounge chair in the privacy of our living-room sized balcony. Because the dive course required almost 12hours of theory/diving, I was a little disappointed that I could not truly enjoy all the hotel amenities. However, we made it back to the hotel a few evenings to catch the cocktail hour in the executive lounge and the staff members were wonderful. They kept our wine glasses full.

Just a few minutes walk outside the hotel entrance there are a few restaurants that offer a change from the resort restaurants. We tried Michelangelo's for their pizza. It was okay, but not good enough for us to leave the resort again for another meal. Both Acqua and Cowrie Cove were okay hotel food - nothing spectacular but easy and convenient. We had a list of restaurants we wanted to try in Cebu, but because of our late finishes each evening and the bad Cebu traffic, we opted not to venture out into Cebu late for dinner. After a full day of diving, all we wanted to do was have a glass or two of wine, eat a few bites and go to bed. However, if we were to go back to stay at the resort, without other commitments, we would definitely try the Cebu restaurants recommended by others.

There is a marine sanctuary just off the beach from the hotel. Because visitors have taken to feeding the fish, it's easy to step into the ocean and have a swarm of fish swimming around you, hoping for a morsel of food. I have never experienced that before-shooing schools of fish away from my face. The resort has all the water-activities you could want-scuba diving, snorkeling, banana-boating, jet skiing, etc. Although my husband and I were there as a couple, the resort is perfect for families because there are lots of activities for kids - water slides, jungle gyms, kids activities - and an area where you can drop off your kids, if parents need an "adult' break.

I recommend the resort for couples, families, friends and business travelers.

Room Tip: Try to get upgraded to a suite; you won't want to leave your suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2travelandeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,258
    894
    243
    114
    72
See reviews for
1,643
864
93
364
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (658)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed December 6, 2012

The place is well staffed so that you get attention and whatever you need quickly. Service staff were warm and cheerful and this made alot of difference. The marine life at the beach was astounding! No fault with the rooms, though they could be a little nicer with the price we are paying.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howsjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

We were a group that opted to stay at Shangrila Mactan for day tour.the price for day tour is 3000 per person but for 10 and more it is 2400.we paid at the private collection section.we were not treated very well by the receptionist at the private collection section.she was very unfriendly to us.at the back of our minds,she was rude because we were only there for day tour only.i just forgot to get the name of this very rude receptionist.after paying we were not told where to go we had to go up and down stairs because we had baggages with us and that receptionist did not assist us.good thing the place was very nice.fish in the sea were on the shore and snorkeling here is the best...day tour includes lunch buffet but personally,we did not enjoy lunch because the food choices were limited.and they do not refill trays immediately.i just hope that the resort will consider taking care of their day tour customers.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Isla823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuergenDoerr, General Manager at Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We apologize for the disappointment you have experienced. Please be assured that we are addressing the matter, and that appropriate measures will be taken to ensure this does not happen again.

We hope you will be able to come back and enjoy our Shangri-La hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I will confess that I stayed at the resort for buisness so I was not there during the day to really enjoy all that the resort has to offer. Nevertheless, it was very nice stay and a nice alternative to the older hotels in Cebu City (which is 30min-45 min away). There are several nice pools on the complex. I did enjoy a drink on a bar situated on a promontory above the beach with spectacular views of the ocean. The resort is also only 15 minutes from the airport.

This is very much a family resort with young familes with young children.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gearhead85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

My 2 children ages 6 and 8 years old. Really love the place. They enjoyed the beach so much although it is not that big. They love the slides and most especially they love the kids zone. In kids zone has a giant slides and the kids and do art works there. We also love thier food. Although it is a bit expensive. But overall a lovely place for family vacation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovely082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We were expecting to stay in a 'Garden View' room, but were interested to find we were given a room which faced the pools and sea. Not a 'sea-view' though as we were low down and adjacent to the roof over the restaurant - 'cement-roof view' really but no big deal. The room was rather tired, with scuffed and damaged fittings, no plug in the bath, very poor reception on the TV and a flickering strip light by the bed - there is a program of refurbishment taking place and it was very good of the maintenance man to assure us that our 'room would be much better in a year's time!' (very helpful). Anyway, he replaced the TV and fixed the bath so we were happy enough. Just a rather underwhelming start to our holiday.

Let's be positive, the main buildings, grounds, pools and beach area are all beautifully maintained; a stunning environment in which to relax and unwind. The fitness gym was excellent with all facilities well equipped and staffed. The quality of food was good, if a little expensive. Our son enjoyed the snorkelling, swimming pools and water-playground, he also enjoyed a few sessions in the 'Funzone' such as the T-Shirt painting. The staff are fantastic; always smiling and keen to please. Shops, bars and entertainment all good.

Some issues we encountered are basically a result of the size of the hotel. Long queues at breakfast time, room not made up until late in the afternoon and (despite what other reviewers might say) 'poolside sun-lounger politics' every morning. Having stayed at Shangri-La properties in Penang and Kota Kinabalu, we were surprised and disappointed at just how many of the activities and facilities had to be paid for as 'extras'. Whereas we could grab a kayak and go for a free paddle in KK, here we had to pay. Dropping in and out of a range of activities at the kids club wasn't an option either (different to Penang) as you pay for a whole morning or afternoon session. Basically, no opportunity is missed to get more money out of you; the fact that the 'free shuttle' service to the shopping mall costs money being a perfect example.

Reading back, I realise this review sounds rather more negative than intended. The resort is beautiful and the setting superb; we always treat disappointments philosophically and we did have a great week. The convenience of direct flights from Hong Kong and proximity to the airport mean it's a place we probably would return to. It's not cheap though and when you pay that much you don't necessarily expect an occasionally shabby experience.

Room Tip: Refurbished would be better (though charging more for them seems a little unethical). Anything on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dkz1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC, NY
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is the perfect way to escape to Cebu for both adults and kids. I have stayed twice: once with adults and once with a 3 year old. Both times were amazing. The pools are huge and the water slides and indoor playground are perfect to entertain kids for days. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and the staff go way out of there way to be accommodating. The gym facilities are top notch and the sauna/steam etc are like a spa. The breakfast buffer at Tides is killer and the food at the other restaurants for dinner was very good. The market is within walking distance and it's easy to hire a driver or take a taxi to Cebu city. I highly recommend Maya restaurant when you want a change of pace from hotel food. I will 100% return to this hotel each time I visit Cebu.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annmarie1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
0.9 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
1.9 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 90 in Cebu City
3,270 reviews
1.6 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 42 in Mactan Island
697 reviews
0.6 mi away
Be Resorts - Mactan
Be Resorts - Mactan
#13 of 31 in Lapu Lapu
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
Address: Punta Engano Road, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 530
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in lush tropical landscape and with a crystalline coastline, Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa, Cebu is the premier, award-winning deluxe resort property in the Philippines. It has won acclaim from both domestic and international travelers for its spacious and well-appointed 530 guestrooms and suites, the variety of its dining, entertainment, sports and recreational activities offered in its paradise-like setting and as home to CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, one of the largest spa villages in Asia.Nestled amidst 13 hectares of lush greenery, landscaped gardens and with a 350-meter white-sand beach, Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa, Cebu is the quintessential modern-day paradise. It is an exciting refuge for nature lovers and a favorite among holidaymakers, as it combines rustic surroundings, modern conveniences and genuine Asian hospitality that are distinctly Shangri-La. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Mactan Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Mactan Hotel Lapu Lapu
Shangri Las Mactan Hotel
Shangri La Cebu
Shangri La Mactan
Shangri Las Mactan Lapu
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing