We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad day tour reception”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

We were a group that opted to stay at Shangrila Mactan for day tour.the price for day tour is 3000 per person but for 10 and more it is 2400.we paid at the private collection section.we were not treated very well by the receptionist at the private collection section.she was very unfriendly to us.at the back of our minds,she was rude because we were only there for day tour only.i just forgot to get the name of this very rude receptionist.after paying we were not told where to go we had to go up and down stairs because we had baggages with us and that receptionist did not assist us.good thing the place was very nice.fish in the sea were on the shore and snorkeling here is the best...day tour includes lunch buffet but personally,we did not enjoy lunch because the food choices were limited.and they do not refill trays immediately.i just hope that the resort will consider taking care of their day tour customers.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Isla823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuergenDoerr, General Manager at Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We apologize for the disappointment you have experienced. Please be assured that we are addressing the matter, and that appropriate measures will be taken to ensure this does not happen again.

We hope you will be able to come back and enjoy our Shangri-La hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,755)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,285 - 2,291 of 3,755 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2012

I will confess that I stayed at the resort for buisness so I was not there during the day to really enjoy all that the resort has to offer. Nevertheless, it was very nice stay and a nice alternative to the older hotels in Cebu City (which is 30min-45 min away). There are several nice pools on the complex. I did enjoy a drink on a bar situated on a promontory above the beach with spectacular views of the ocean. The resort is also only 15 minutes from the airport.

This is very much a family resort with young familes with young children.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gearhead85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

My 2 children ages 6 and 8 years old. Really love the place. They enjoyed the beach so much although it is not that big. They love the slides and most especially they love the kids zone. In kids zone has a giant slides and the kids and do art works there. We also love thier food. Although it is a bit expensive. But overall a lovely place for family vacation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovely082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We were expecting to stay in a 'Garden View' room, but were interested to find we were given a room which faced the pools and sea. Not a 'sea-view' though as we were low down and adjacent to the roof over the restaurant - 'cement-roof view' really but no big deal. The room was rather tired, with scuffed and damaged fittings, no plug in the bath, very poor reception on the TV and a flickering strip light by the bed - there is a program of refurbishment taking place and it was very good of the maintenance man to assure us that our 'room would be much better in a year's time!' (very helpful). Anyway, he replaced the TV and fixed the bath so we were happy enough. Just a rather underwhelming start to our holiday.

Let's be positive, the main buildings, grounds, pools and beach area are all beautifully maintained; a stunning environment in which to relax and unwind. The fitness gym was excellent with all facilities well equipped and staffed. The quality of food was good, if a little expensive. Our son enjoyed the snorkelling, swimming pools and water-playground, he also enjoyed a few sessions in the 'Funzone' such as the T-Shirt painting. The staff are fantastic; always smiling and keen to please. Shops, bars and entertainment all good.

Some issues we encountered are basically a result of the size of the hotel. Long queues at breakfast time, room not made up until late in the afternoon and (despite what other reviewers might say) 'poolside sun-lounger politics' every morning. Having stayed at Shangri-La properties in Penang and Kota Kinabalu, we were surprised and disappointed at just how many of the activities and facilities had to be paid for as 'extras'. Whereas we could grab a kayak and go for a free paddle in KK, here we had to pay. Dropping in and out of a range of activities at the kids club wasn't an option either (different to Penang) as you pay for a whole morning or afternoon session. Basically, no opportunity is missed to get more money out of you; the fact that the 'free shuttle' service to the shopping mall costs money being a perfect example.

Reading back, I realise this review sounds rather more negative than intended. The resort is beautiful and the setting superb; we always treat disappointments philosophically and we did have a great week. The convenience of direct flights from Hong Kong and proximity to the airport mean it's a place we probably would return to. It's not cheap though and when you pay that much you don't necessarily expect an occasionally shabby experience.

Room Tip: Refurbished would be better (though charging more for them seems a little unethical). Anything on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dkz1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is the perfect way to escape to Cebu for both adults and kids. I have stayed twice: once with adults and once with a 3 year old. Both times were amazing. The pools are huge and the water slides and indoor playground are perfect to entertain kids for days. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and the staff go way out of there way to be accommodating. The gym facilities are top notch and the sauna/steam etc are like a spa. The breakfast buffer at Tides is killer and the food at the other restaurants for dinner was very good. The market is within walking distance and it's easy to hire a driver or take a taxi to Cebu city. I highly recommend Maya restaurant when you want a change of pace from hotel food. I will 100% return to this hotel each time I visit Cebu.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annmarie1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I stayed in a refurbished garden view room for two nights, and though find it a great experience, it is still not perfect. although compared to the Shangri La in Boracay, this is definitely more worth it (depending on what you seek, though).

Service is warm and great, but not consistent. My room did not had tea and only had coffee. This happened over two days. Yes, I really want my tea. The refurbished room looks clean and new and bathroom was clean. Bed wise, as with all Shang, is firm and comfy. The only other fault i can complain about is that the light settings could have also been remodeled to have a gradual intensity setting when turning it on; now, all the beams just straight out when you turn the switch-not necessarily ideal for someone who is waking up.

The beach here is great, and i spent most days and afternoons there. the waters are amazingly clear and you do see fishes constantly in the clear waters. Bring water shoes if you intend to walk in as there are lots of edgy coral reefs. so the beach is not exactly perfect for a dip with all that rocks (Borocay is reef free and has great waves, but lack the clarity as it is deeper)

Staff everywhere are so attentive and they can spot what you need or want almost immediately. Though I had same problems with getting help from staff when I head towards the beach; no one spotted me and I had to find my own spot and get my own towels.

There also also two huge pools for you to choose from; I spent time mostly at the smaller (but still huge) Ocean Wing pool as there are lesser kids.

Dining wise, food was decent at the many restaurants and I really enjoyed the outdoor area for dinner at Cowrie Cove as the waves come sweeping into the shoreline. Breakfast was included in room rate and had a great huge wonderful selection. Service here also seemed calmer compared to Borocay despite the throngs of Japanese and Koreans.

Chinese food was also not bad, and prices are almost on par with better restaurants in town.

There is also wifi throughout the hotel, even on the beach, though connectivity can be on-off. The shuttle to the mall costs 100 pesos per person and i rec. one to head to Ayala Mall rather than SM as Ayala is ore upscale and with better dining options. Even if you cannot make it back on the bus, the cab from Ayala to the resort costs less than 300 pesos. In short, if there are 2 or you, which will most likely be, just grab a cab. The cabs are all metered and when you get onto one at designated taxi stands at airport, malls or the hotels, there will be someone to pass you a note with the cab license so you can always file a complain should they not charge you by the meter.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeraldSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed only for 1 night during a stop over for a business meeting in Cebu and had the most fantastic experience ever; staff and service is fantastic, the reef in front of the beach is the nicest place I ever snorkeled (and I have been in places like Maldives, Red Sea, ...). Rooms are at end of life time, but are still OK and place is very clean.
All-in-all an amazing experience, especially since this was a very short break during a business trip. I will definately try to spend some more time here when going back to the Cebu area.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view room, it makes sense to pay a bit extra for that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TVCBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
0.9 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
1.9 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 92 in Cebu City
3,586 reviews
1.6 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 43 in Mactan Island
743 reviews
0.6 mi away
BE Resort, Mactan
BE Resort, Mactan
#15 of 32 in Lapu Lapu
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa

Address: Punta Engano Road, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range: $310 - $548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 530
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in lush tropical landscape and with a crystalline coastline, Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa, Cebu is the premier, award-winning deluxe resort property in the Philippines. It has won acclaim from both domestic and international travelers for its spacious and well-appointed 530 guestrooms and suites, the variety of its dining, entertainment, sports and recreational activities offered in its paradise-like setting and as home to CHI, The Spa at Shangri-La, one of the largest spa villages in Asia.Nestled amidst 13 hectares of lush greenery, landscaped gardens and with a 350-meter white-sand beach, Shangri-La's Mactan Resort and Spa, Cebu is the quintessential modern-day paradise. It is an exciting refuge for nature lovers and a favorite among holidaymakers, as it combines rustic surroundings, modern conveniences and genuine Asian hospitality that are distinctly Shangri-La. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Mactan Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Mactan Hotel Lapu Lapu
Shangri Las Mactan Hotel
Shangri La Cebu
Shangri La Mactan
Shangri Las Mactan Lapu
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing