We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not much really” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lapu Lapu Statue

Lapu Lapu Statue
Caloocan, Philippines
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not much really”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

I dont know or maybe its just me , but travelling for like an hour or more through the traffic etc. just to see a big statue of one of our National hero may not be a bright idea specially if you have very limited time to spare.

But given more time in would say the visit would be worth specially if you have kids.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank morenosherwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    241
    203
    23
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, Beijing, China
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Out of the Way, but great for history lovers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

It cost me about 260p by cab to get there, and I kept my cab, because I wasn't sure if there would be any available when i wanted to return. So, ended up spending about 800p with wait time and tips (generous). While this is out of the way, there are a couple of nice statues, and heck, this is where Magellan discovered that everyone doesn't love imperial conquerors! A very interesting spot. There is some nice shopping both within the monument and outside across the parking lot. There are good prices on various things. The physical location itself is very beautiful and peaceful. I met some nice business school students and chatted. I liked it, and really, it is an amazing place to go if you love history.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It was a statue”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

The story behind the statue is interesting and we were taken there by a local who could tell us the story. There are markets nearby that had some good bargains.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bronwyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“not much to see”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Just a monument and a statue in honor of Lapu-lapu inside a park. Just went there to take a few photos to let the world know that we were there, I guess. My real purpose of going there was to try out the restaurant in the area, actually.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
139 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Finally!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

I always dreamed of visiting Lapu Lapu's statue in Mactan Cebu City and have a picture with it... wish got granted when my boyfriend was re-assigned in Cebu City, thus I found a reason to visit Cebu for the first time and see the statue for real! It's nice to go here at night for less crowd and you can also enjoy further the view without worrying for sun exposure. I'm glad the statue is still standing erectly and crack-free after the recent calamity that has befallen in Cebu City. The experience is really a dream come true for me.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank iam_via
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lapu Lapu Statue also viewed

Mactan Island, Cebu Island
 
Lapu Lapu, Mactan Island
Cebu City, Cebu Island
 

Been to Lapu Lapu Statue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing