We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is not a resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sagastrand Beach Resort
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Rooms very small and must share a common bathroom and shower. This all sits on a very small block of land. No beach at sagastrand to speak off.
Pool table old. Has a pool and that is all nothing else very disappointing would never return. Is ideal if you just want to sit and relax and do nothing.
Can not pay at resort by credit card must take cash. No Internet. Staff ok friendly but not expearanced in my view. Food in restaurant best I say ok . Example coffee is a cup of hot water add the packets your self. So sorry if this sounds bad but the web site is very misleading and I am only trying so save others a disappointment . Has great potential when finished but a long way of at this point.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Zuteck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilma f, Owner at Sagastrand Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay at Sagastrand. The general feedback is that the majority of our guests are satisfied with their stay. During our first 1 ½ years several of them have visited us 2 times and a few even 3 times. We are also sorry if you had to share bathroom with other guests, because we try as far as possible to distribute the guests so they have their own bathroom. We are about to start with a new building with 4 separate rooms with bathrooms, and hope this will improve on this matter.

Regarding our staff; you are correct that they, with a few exceptions, are inexperienced. The chef, one waiter and our house manager has several years of experience in the business. Our policy is however to use local workforce as far as possible, and train them. Olango is an island with very few opportunities to get a job, and we are very proud that we only use local workforce. We also saw that you were satisfied with the cleanliness. This has been one of our focus areas since we started.

Internet in Olango is, as several regions in the Philippines, not yet covered. One of the major distributors is however working on this issue. We expect to be able to offer WI-FI access to our guests within the next few months. This will also open for payment with credit cards.
The pool table is second hand, but totally refurbished. The beach is like many other places in the Philippines. It’s nice during high tide, but you can’t swim during low tide. Sea safari can then be an alternative. We have also a new boat that can bring you to the nearest fish sanctuary, just 10 minutes away, for snorkeling and swimming. Also bicycles are now available for trips around the island. We will take your feedback and improve, both by arranging activities and to inform our guests about this.

Even though you weren’t satisfied with your stay this time, you are welcome back to check our improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 36 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2012

I would def recommend this lovely place! The people are friendly and helpful, and always make sure you have what you need. The fairly new pool and restaurant-area is perfect for relaxation and sunbathing. The facility is also a great place to stay if you plan other trips to places nearby, such as Cebu, Malapasqua, Bohol, Oslob, and so on.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Helene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I visited Olango island in the Phillippines in January 2011 and stayed at Abalone Beach. This is a beautifull resort with a very high standard. The island is also great. So if you're exploring the bird sanctuary, visiting the locals or hanging out next to the pool you're guaranteed the time of your life.
Olango island is a quiet place where you can relax and enjoy your holiday. But in the evening a party with the locals are never far away.
I highly recommend others to go to Abalone Beach and see for them selfs, as I had the best holiday ever when I was there. I will definetly go back again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Katja Helen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

On the south part of Olango Island, on the way towards the bird sanctuary, this friendly resort-style accomodation welcomed us with open arms. This small resort is located in a small village, which really gave us the feeling of being with the locals and taking part of their culture.

Abalone Beach has two large, newlybuilt houses with several bedrooms, and all had aircondition and hot water showers, which was not expected on Olango :) The houses was of really good quality, also with big screen TV and a big DVD-collection.

We also took much joy in the salt water swimming pool just next to the beach, and the food from the restaurant was really good! The service was great, it was almost like we were a part of a big familiy! Recommend to enjoy the sunset from the beach (just 20 meters from the house), it was amazing :)

We really hope that we can enjoy Abalone Beach at a later occasion, thanks!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ThereseLNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: 2階のバ-から景色を眺めながら飲む酒は格別です
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 息子と二人旅
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank win8sy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016, traveled with family
Thank Dream D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
4.2 mi away
BE Resort, Mactan
BE Resort, Mactan
#12 of 32 in Lapu Lapu
498 reviews
5.7 mi away
Eloisa Royal Suites
Eloisa Royal Suites
#6 of 32 in Lapu Lapu
469 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
2.8 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 43 in Mactan Island
723 reviews
3.8 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagastrand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagastrand Beach Resort

Address: Bas Daku | Olango Island, Lapu Lapu, Philippines (Formerly Abalone Beach)
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Lapu Lapu
Price Range: $28 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sagastrand Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sagastrand Beach Resort is located on Olango Island, a small island just outside Cebu. From the resort there is a 10 min walk to the famous Olango Island Wildlife Sanctuary. There is also a fish sanctuary just outside the beach. The resort has 40 m white beach line and consists for the time being of 2 houses and a restaurant. The houses have high standard and a very nice garden with possibilities for several different activities like swimming in the swimming pool, mini golf, billiard, volleyball and relaxation beside the swimming pool or in one of the beach houses to mention a few. The houses have very nice terraces with sea view. The daily life on Olango Island has not changed significantly the last few generations, so tourists will have an exotic backpacker experience visiting the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Sagastrand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sagastrand Beach Resort Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing