We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy”
Review of Chowking

Chowking
Ranked #73 of 145 Restaurants in Lapu Lapu
Cuisines: Chinese, Filipino, Fast Food
Restaurant details
Bunbury, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Good Chinese Food at a reasonable price. Meal deals very good value. Delivery available too. A must do in Lapu-Lapu City.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank imetmytruelove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    9
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Cebu
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“hocus pocus”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

i cringe every time i hear or read the phrase " good value for the money", and one hears it alot in the philippines, because it is usually based on some perception that is not true and is usually the result of some magic trick successfully pulled off that just gets repeated over and over by the those fooled by it. Hukad has lines of people waiting all the time because they have successfully executed a few of these tricks, namely the unlimited rice--which they can afford to offer because the food portions are just average. How nobody can seem to see the obviousness of this particular sleight of hand is amazing. Why people will even stand in line for it, is incomprehensible! People do not stand in line for anything here if they don't have to. They won't walk if they don't have to. They won't even move if they don't have to...such is the power of this "good value for the money" hypnosis. If you spend one hour doing nothing, you are wasting time, which of course has a value of it's own. In that one hour, you could easily learn how to prepare any of the dishes hukad is known for like crispy dinoguan or humba..


I can't blame the owners of hukad and in fact I applaud them despite my less than stellar review. They are playing the game as the diners of cebu have set it up. Diners here want things that they think have good value and are of high quality..but they don't realize that there is no such thing. One of these must be sacrificed in some way, in any food preparation. What hukad is doing is just filling people up with rice and giving them smaller portions and positioning themselves as a quality place because they are in ayala mall..and it's working. And it will keep working until the other guys on the block get their act together or someone else can execute the magic trick even more effectively.

And people wonder why cebu is so poorly regarded by visitors as a food/restaurant destination. Actually they don't, but that's another magic trick.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seasiantrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Love the Beef Wonton Mami”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We dined at Chowking 4 times and love it. Very inexpensive and clean. Food was fantastic.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great deal for the money”
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Fast service, nice people and many convenient locations

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“i love this place”
Reviewed October 28, 2011

i like their soups and siopao, i was already in the US when this chain got started. first time i had it was in LA and loved it

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank TX0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chowking also viewed

Lapu Lapu, Mactan Island
Lapu Lapu, Mactan Island
 
Lapu Lapu, Mactan Island
 
Lapu Lapu, Mactan Island
Lapu Lapu, Mactan Island
 

Been to Chowking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing