We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did the trick”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lapu Lapu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Green Gate Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #29 of 58 Lapu Lapu B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We wanted to spend one day in Cebu on our way home from Malapascua. Green Gates offered the best combination of position and price.
When we arrived we were offered an upgrade to the MES for PHP2500. We negotiated it down to PHP2200.
The room was large an comfortable with aircon. The cupboard to hang clothes is locked because some previous guest lost the key and, although there is a bath, the plumbing has been rigged so you can only shower (after two weeks of cold showers I really wanted to have a nice bath).
The bed was comfy and we slept well despite a party across the road (not the norm).
Breakfast was eggs and bacon with coffee served at our leisure.
Lovely pool and garden and the resident mynah bird is quite talkative and entertaining.
I'm sorry I didn't eat more there but we wanted to explore the city.
The pool is cool and relaxing.
Free wifi with good connection.
Green Gates did the trick and I'd recommend it.
The area is not exactly location, location, location, but you are surrounded by high walls and ample security so it becomes a bit of an oasis.
Taxi to the Ayala shopping mall is about PHP300 in aircon taxi and takes about 40mins in heavy traffic. Airport is about 10 mins away.

Room Tip: you have a choice of shared bathroom (shower) rooms (2 of) or the MES (1 of). I think its worth hagg...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pompies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
There are newer reviews for Green Gate Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 35 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2012

service was great. friendly staff. rooms were very clean. owner was very down to earth .we had a great time drinking by the pool . and oh... the food ... hmmmm.... just couldn't get enough of the baby back ribs and the BBQ !!! it felt like home... away from home... :) thanks for everything! will definitely come back!!

Room Tip: you wouldn't wanna miss on the pool suite !!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franz h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We arrived from Boracay and had a taxi throw Mactan Island. Full, ugly, grey and dirty surroundings. Egen the Green Gate opens you'll se à beautiful Green garden and a big house. The room was big and comfy with a big bed. We also had turer nice altans and à pillande to choose between. Inside you have Teo cosy sort of livingroom. We felt like a part of the family. Borg Grant and his wife and their help was nice and attentive. I Will not rekommend Mactan Island as à place to visit but if you go there, do'nt miss to stat in Green Gate.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cala254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

I’m from the cebu city and when you discover a place that offers a relaxing ambiance, pool and a lovely garden, its heaven! This is exactly what we feel about the green gate. They offer privacy, courteous staff and the pool was especially memorable for us, as my kid loved it very much. All of that and delicious chicken kebab was an awesome getaway experience.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank purecebuana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

The room was huge and the bed comfortable.
We just stayed the one night (a Saturday) which turned out to be karoke night.
I'm never much of a singer but the scoring system seemed to favour me for once.
Do make sure you have the phone number as it's easy for the taxi to drive straight past.

Room Tip: If you have the dosh go for the big room with bath.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We enjoyed our stay very much at the Green Gate. Pool area and garden is amazing. Such a peaceful place to stay and chill at. Great food and staff also. If you visit Cebu I can recommend this place.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reddawn68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

If you want to feel like you are staying with family this is the place for you. Grant and Violet are the owners and hosts and you couldn't ask for nicer people. The rooms are great especially the suites. Violet is one mean cook. Try her baby back ribs they are to die for. Breakfast canadian style is super, her onion rings are really good. Try Red Horse beer it is the best philippino beer you can get and the price is right. We forgot to mention the staff at Green Gate they are really great as well and they can be fun to have around. The house inself is something else. It is like a mini mansion. The prices are really good for what you are getting. We stayed at the Greengate three times in three weeks and we will use them again when we return to Cebu. Also if you just want to relax this is the place for you. The beach is close by, a ten minute cab ride will get you there. Try Greengate you will not regret it.

Room Tip: Try the Garden or the Pool suites, excellent rooms
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank r and k n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lapu Lapu hotels
0.0 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
0.0 mi away
Plantation Bay Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
0.0 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Waterfront Airport Hotel and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Gate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Gate Bed and Breakfast

Address: 0056 Pajac Abuno, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Lapu Lapu
Price Range: $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely landscaped Bed and Breakfast located in the center of Lapu lapu city. Close to Airport, beaches and the heart of Cebu City. Truly delivers the feeling of an absolute private resort. Privacy and Luxury at an affordable price with friendly people waiting to serve you at the high standard you deserve. A one of a kind property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Green Gate Bed And Breakfast Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing