We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveler rating
59
36
18
20
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
36
18
20
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews elevated pool scuba diving deluxe room mactan island short stay the food is great pools resort jeepney jacuzzi philippines
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 149 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2018

Visited Cebu from Melbourne for a few days and decided to stay at this hotel due to location and price and I must say it did not disappoint! The staff were very friendly and the rooms were clean! I like the fact that they have two swimming pools you can choose from. I will definitely come back!

Stayed: May 2018, traveled on business
3  Thank FredR1723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2018

Stayed at this resort for a few days on business and enjoyed my stay. Clean rooms with nice views! There were pools but did not have the chance to use them. Location was far from the crowds which made my stay more relaxing

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Jose P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2018 via mobile

I had the chance of going to Palmbeach because of a seminar I had to attend. The venue we booked was occupied by 100 attendees, equipped with full aircondition and comfort room. The merienda was served buffet style and for the taste I give it an 8/10. I love the pool by the way even though the place is small, the pool is quite big and the pool lounge is spacious. There are alot of instagram worthy spots too.

Stayed: February 2018, traveled on business
2  Thank Kathleen Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2018 via mobile

My wife and I went to cebu to celebrate our honeymoon first impression was good big and spacious but then we notice that bed and amenities were dirty . Then they made us pay for half day when it supposed to be part of our package. I won't come back here for more cheaper that can be neither recomend to anyone .

Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Juancris2427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmbeachResortCebu, Management at Palmbeach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2018

We are saddened to know about your experience in our resort. Please note that you did not make a direct booking with us but booked with a travel agency. Instead of complaining with us about being charged for late checkout, you should have complained directly with your travel agency to whom you made direct arrangements with. We are not aware of your arrangements with said travel agency, however, our standard hotel policy time for check out has always been 12:00nn. When you complained and informed us that there was an agreement with your travel agency to make the late checkout part of your package, we immediately called the travel agency but the latter denied and did NOT confirm the late checkout with us. This explains the charge for the late check out. Kindly also note that our front desk was trying to call you before 12:00nn to remind you about the check out time. You were also informed upon check in that check out time is at 12:00nn and you did not complain at that time. Regarding the "dirty" bed and amenities you mentioned, you placed the DO NOT DISTURB sign on your door during your stay. Nevertheless, our Housekeeping staff could always clean the room upon your request, you could have just asked. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2018

location is ok. pools are dirty. so is the beach. staff mostly hangs out with eachother. only place in the world where they give coffee in the room but without spoons. we had a not working aircon and it took them three hours to give is a new room. they were also very hesitant about that. the manager is a girl who is good in a bar but not for managing this place. i would never recomend this place to somebody. also the tv is not working good.

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ingmar b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReginaNonato, - at Palmbeach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2018

Dear Mr. Ingmar,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for having taken your valuable time to share your experience. Please be informed that you booked and paid for a room that is good for 2 persons and 1 child. When you arrived, you were 3 adults and 2 children. Our front desk staff respectfully informed you about the extra person which has a minimal fee, but you refused to pay the said amount despite our hotel policy. To prevent you from feeling unhappy with your stay, we decided to make the stay of the extra persons complimentary. An hour after your check-in, your wife called the front desk and asked for an additional 2 pillows and 2 blankets, which was supposed to be included in the excess person's rate which you refused to pay.

After a while, when you called and requested to have the aircon in your room fixed, our staff went swiftly to your room. When we asked our staff about your complaint, he told us that there was no problem with the aircon and the temperature just needed to be adjusted. The second time you called, you informed again that the aircon was not yet fixed, our staff then again went to your room and informed you to wait since he just adjusted it earlier, thus, the temperature was still adjusting. After 20 minutes, your wife went down and informed our front desk staff that the aircon is not really working. Our staff informed our Officer in Charge with regards to your concern and when she immediately went to your room, she found out that the aircon was really working. Despite this again, we decided to let you transfer to another room for your satisfaction. We turned on the aircon first and let you check the room before we let you transfer. When your wife saw the room she again complained because she was looking for a more spacious room. Again, we emphasize that you only booked a room for 2 pax but you were a group of 5 pax.

It took time for you to transfer to another room not because of our staff but because you insisted that, that was not the room that you booked. This is despite the fact that the aircon was working and you only paid for a room good for 2 persons.

Please be informed that we always emphasize to our staff our goal of providing high-quality service to all our guests. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we apologize for whatever inconvenience you may have encountered during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews