We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard Rooms are too noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Goldberry Suites & Hotel
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Comfortable and modern boutique hotel that has excellent internet connection. The memory foam beds are also excellent.

Standard rooms are by the road side and are extremely noisy. However, they offer very good views. If you are a budget traveller, go for the studio rooms. Otherwise, go for the deluxe rooms that are facing away from the road.

Room Tip: Stay away from the noisy standard rooms facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrownieWee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 278 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

We booked two standard rooms. Our kids were in room 405 which has 2 twin beds and is very spacious. We were in room 405 which came with a Queen Bed, but was only half the size of our kids room and had a smaller refrigerator. It also had curtain Windows on two sides which was nice at night, but allowed so much heart in during the afternoon that the air conditioner had trouble cooling the room even with the heavy curtains closed. Room 405 also doesn't have WIFI reception. The first time I called the front desk, they just said they would reboot their router. When that didn't work, I had to call again and explain that I had reception in the hallway just not in our room. This time they set up a router in our room which worked really well except that they had to unplug the desk lamp to plug it in (there are very few electric outlets in the rooms). Our key card also stopped working in the power slot, and we had to wait about 10 minutes in a hot dark room while they brought up a new one. Had I known it would take so long, I would have gone down to get it myself.

The breakfast that came with the rooms was quite good with about 10 or so pre-set options to choose from (be sure to turn your menu over to see the options on the back).

We had a bit of a scare when we saw the Extra Room Amenities rate sheet. It made it look like there was a charge for using the shampoo, lotion, tea and instant coffee that came with the room. A call to the front desk confirmed that those charges were only if you ordered extra of these items. There was also mini bar with fairly reasonably priced items and 2 complimentary bottles of water with each room.

All in all this is a good place to stay for a night before flying out, but for longer stays you should definitely check out other options as there is not much close to the hotel. Also, for a nice spacious room ask for 406 and definitely avoid 405 if possible.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelingonward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldberrysuites, Manager at Goldberry Suites & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Travelingonward,

Thank you for your posted review regarding your stay at Goldberry Suites & Hotel, every review helps us to improve our service while we maintain our policy of excellence in guest comfort and satisfaction.

We respectfully apologize for the inconvenience caused. A run through check was conducted in reference to your review & we were able to correct & will continuously improve everything needed, as this is our commitment to excellence in guest satisfaction.

Once again kindly be assured that your comments are well accepted. I do hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.

Thanks again for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.
Should you wish to discuss any matter, please feel free to contact me at your convenience at gm@goldberrysuites.com.

Best Regards,

Goldberry Suites & Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The hotel has a good location close to the airport - about 5 minutes in a taxi. If you arrive later or have to leave early from the airport this is the perfect location. Of course this close location (right at the main street and not far from the biggest bridge) is not exactly scenic. The hotel itself is clean, the staff is friendly. The rooms are modeled nicely, modern. Breakfast is served in a small restaurant next to it. Selections are ok.
For us it was a stopover over the night between flights - and for this it is perfect, clean and close to the airport - the right thing after a long flight!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Werner M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I was so amazed by how absolutly fabulous this place is, They are beyond Forbes trained !!!!!!! The room was perfect for all my diving equipment and snorkle stuff. It was like a dream come true 30,000 leagues under the sea. I felt like the little Mermaid while staying here. They treated me like Manny Pacquao even tho I was a white guy. I love this place and will stay here on my next trip.


Ramish Daca-Daca & Jerad Jarvis "aka" Ice Cream man

Room Tip: ask for the rooms next to the rooster cages . lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joe s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We wanted a hotel to stay at the end of our holiday in tthe Philippines - ideally situated near Mactan International Airport. We chose Goldberry Suites Hotel after reading good reviews. We booked a double room for four nights prior to leaving. We were so astounded with the service and room comfort and the very warm welcome which greeted us on arrival. The room was immaculate, wonderfully air conditioned which could be remotely controlled to suit. it was the ideal place to relax and reflect on the wonderful time we had in the Philippines. We found several eataries close by which served wonderful local cuisine. Transport was available to take us to the airport on our day of departure. I will most definately be booking into Goldberry Suites and Hotel next year when we intend to visit again. This hotel is definately the "icing on the cake".

Room Tip: I really cannot fault the room we stayed in even though we were facing the main street, the room was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ralph315876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I stayed here on three separate occasions during my 12 day Philippines holiday and each time had a deluxe room. The rooms appear similar as to how they are displayed on their website - very clean and modern, and I felt very comfortable staying there.

Some say the location is not that great, but for me it was conveniently located close to where my friends lived. Being on a main road, its also easy to get a taxi to wherever you wish to go - its about 170 pesos to get to Ayala Mall, or 100 to the airport. There is the Gaisano Mactan Island Mall not so far away as well (if you don't mind a bit of a walk), which has a department store for your shopping needs. Its also possible to catch a jeepney from outside to take you to the Lapu-Lapu Shrine...sure, you could take a cab there, but its a good experience to travel the way the locals do.

I am not a big breakfast eater, so the free breakfast offering was sufficient for me - there was a good variety, although I preferred the longanisa (local sausage) with egg, rice, watermelon and choice of juice or tea/coffee.

The staff were always friendly and helpful, and the one time I had an issue (with the tv), it was resolved in a satisfactory manner.

The only negative things I can say is that in a couple of the rooms the shower water was not that hot. Not such an issue in summer, but I don't know what it would be like in winter.

It would be a better hotel if it had a pool. I was informed, however, that the pool across the road at Bellavista Hotel is available for a small fee.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are quieter and worth paying extra for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

One night here and really cooped up. Not a thing to do in this very average place. Room was clean and nice but rated this low as I lost an entire day twiddling my thumbs. No fault with the service but the location sucked

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Quadros_Kris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldberrysuites, General Manager at Goldberry Suites & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear Mr. Seraglios,

Thank you for your stay at Goldberry Suites & Hotel.

Goldberry Suites & Hotel strives for excellence in guest comfort and satisfaction, and deeply appreciates your review and the time taken to express same.

Even if our hotel is located along a major and main road, the lack of commercial business activity in this Island can be the reason for this feeling. I am pleased to advise you that our Executive Management Team is currently aware of your expressed concerns and is already working with our Property Owners for new developments to address this to create more activities & entertainments in our surroundings.

Once again Goldberry Suites & Hotel sincerely thanks you for your stay and your review as we look forward to your stay once again in the not too distant future.

Should you wish to discuss this matter further, please feel free to contact me at your convenience at gm@goldberrysuites.com.


Sincerely,

Goldberry Suites & Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
1.4 mi away
Eloisa Royal Suites
Eloisa Royal Suites
#6 of 32 in Lapu Lapu
464 reviews
0.8 mi away
Waterfront Airport Hotel and Casino
0.4 mi away
Dulcinea Hotel and Suites
Dulcinea Hotel and Suites
#15 of 32 in Lapu Lapu
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 43 in Mactan Island
707 reviews
3.6 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
3.9 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldberry Suites & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldberry Suites & Hotel

Address: M. L. Quezon National Highway | Pusok, Cebu, Lapu Lapu, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range: $44 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Goldberry Suites & Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goldberry Suites & Hotel is a Business Boutique Hotel conveniently located at M.L. Quezon Natl. Highway, Pusok, Lapu-Lapu City 6015, Cebu, Philippines. It is just 5 minutes away from Cebu International Airport, and 5km away from Cebu City. You can reach 2 major malls of Lapu-Lapu City and the Mactan Export Processing Zone in just a few minutes.We offer different room accommodations, all with Cable TV, internet access, a mini Bar, and a Safety Deposit Box. Some of our rooms even have a Private Living Room, Balcony, and Mini Kitchen.Dine in at Vienna Kaffehaus or relax at Thai Boran Spa. You can also visit our Gift Shop and Business Center at the 2nd floor; or book an event or a meeting at our Conference and Function Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Goldberry Suites & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldberry Suites And Hotel
Goldberry Hotel Lapu Lapu
Goldberry Suites & Hotel Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing