We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you want to get out of city life, go here” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“If you want to get out of city life, go here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

In my opinion, this resort is for people (whether you are single, a couple, or a family) who really want to take a break from the hustle and bustle of city life. Location is far from the main city (around 1.5-2 hours away). You either have to take a shuttle that the resort provides or call in advance for a taxi ride.

The resort has villas where you can stay in, instead of a hotel. The villas are about 2-5 minutes away from the beach. Beach area is rather small, compared to other resorts. It's not a long beach. Facilities are good. Don't expect too much on the pool though as it is only 4 feet deep (max) and water is hazy. Gym is small. They have children's play area. For food, they serve several dishes. Plenty of desserts. Their water though tastes different. Staff are nice and helpful although in one instance, they did not fix the light when I told them it was not working. In our room, the bath tub's knob to drain the water was not working as well.

You can also go to different islands nearby (about 1 hour away) to snorkel, have seafood lunch, visit the marine sanctuary, etc... Otherwise, you just stay in the hotel, relax, have a spa, swim, play beach volleyball, etc..

It's worth trying out, especiallyt for couples. I believe they have couple's suits and they have buy 1 take 1 massages.

Room Tip: There are rooms that have their own private mini pool. Inquire about it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank k0rap08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCrimsonMactan, General Manager at Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear K0rap08,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience while staying at Crimson Resort and Spa. We sincerely value your comments in our continuous effort to provide friendly and efficient service.

I have noted your comments and I express regret that you are dissatisfied with the size of our beach, pool and gym which we will look into in the future as we are continuously looking for ways to further improve our resort to the satisfaction of our guests. I have also asked our Chief Engineer to address the response time in fixing the light as well as the bath tub knob for draining the water.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,


JAMES MONTENEGRO
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,552
    1,107
    359
    88
    67
See reviews for
1,230
1,088
100
221
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paranaque
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed there last summer, April 2012 on a big corporate group. 3days 2 nights stay.

The good: The facilities are really good, the pools are great, the villas are pretty nice, service is excellent, & food was also great!

The bad:

1. The beach is pretty rough, too many rocks, too many seaweeds, and plenty of small creatures that when it touches to your skin, they itch and leave rashes. Don't know if these are jelly fish or something. The under current is also pretty strong! So don't go out swimming too far and alone without a life vest. Good thing though is that they have a life guard on stand by at all times and they don't allow night swimming. They only allow swimming in the beach from 7am to 6pm i think. Snorkeling is also good at the deeper part of the beach but you have to watch the current though. You might have a hard time swimming back to shore.

2. The resort is kinda isolated. Its too far from the city and about an hour's travel. They have a shuttle service though but they have a schedule of drop off and pick up at various areas of the city like in SM or Ayala mall. So better mind the time if you plan on riding the shuttle, else you'd have to take a cab. By the way, not all cabbies are familiar with the resort just yet as they just opened. You'd have to be very specific about the resort's address and nearest landmarks. If you have no plans in buying pasalubong or gifts from the city, then you'd have no problem leaving the resort. Otherwise, stick to the shuttle schedule or get your own cab.

Overall, the place is really nice! Not perfect but nothing is. Would recommend it but with caveat.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a villa or room near the pool. Its near the center of the resort. Otherwise you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCrimsonMactan, General Manager at Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Jonathan A,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience while staying at Crimson Resort and Spa. We sincerely value your comments in our continuous effort to provide friendly and efficient service.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our villa, food and service during your stay with us. I have noted your comment regarding our beach which we are currently improving. Since your stay with us the local cab drivers are already familiar with Crimson and are already aware as to where we are located.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,


JAMES MONTENEGRO
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Thumbs up:

1. Picturesque. It is the best adjective to describe the entire property. From the receiving area/lobby, one can see the infinity pool and the beach. Clean and quiet surroundings coupled with the sunny weather, beautiful!

2. Spacious villas. We were three families and were given connecting rooms. Comfortable beds; separate bathtub & shower area inside. There were two pairs (his & hers) of complimentary white rubber flip flops, which were great for walking in and out of the villa.

3. Pools. Guests had 3 choices: 2-, 3- and 4-ft pools. For adults and older kids, the 4-ft pool was too shallow & water was not that cold. But the 2- and 3-ft pools were best for younger tots who really had a blast. There were beach balls and floaters for rent, too.

4. CrimZone. An activity center for younger kids. They can play inside an air conditioned facililty or outside in the playground.

5. Score Sports Bar. There were billards and chess; a deck of playing cards on every table, too.

6. Staff. Always smiling, accommodating, & were prompt with our requests. Every time a staff would see us, they'd greet us with a bow, very courteous indeed.

So-so:

1. Breakfast buffet. The spread was not that huge. But it was enough to sate us. We felt alienated tho' because we were outnumbered! It felt like we weren't in the Philippines anymore. The guests were mostly Koreans and perhaps some Japanese. Even the food tags had Korean translation :-)

Thumbs-down:

1. Beach. Too limited/short; too rocky, the kids can't get near the water that they just settled with playing in the sand (not as white & fine as Boracay's tho'). Adults and older kids just went for kayaking. Some staff suggested island-hopping if we wanted better beaches and for snorkeling.

If the beach area will significantly improve, we will go back to this charming resort!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sofia_Helena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCrimsonMactan, General Manager at Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Sofia_Helena,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience while staying at Crimson Resort and Spa. We sincerely value your comments in our continuous effort to provide friendly and efficient service.

I have noted your comments and I express regret that you are dissatisfied with our beach area. We are still in the process of making some improvements in that area as we are continuously looking for ways to further delight our guests.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,


JAMES MONTENEGRO
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of days after returning from a week in Boracay, waiting for a late night flight back to the US. The overall look of the resort is nice, with good quality landscaping and plantings. The resort is new, so everything is in top shape. It is very tastefully designed.

The pool was nice, with a separate shallow pool for smaller children. It also had a nice view over the ocean. The gym, while not really large, was adequate to maintain your workout schedule while here.

We only had breakfast here, so I can't speak to the other meals or restaurants. Breakfast was pretty good, with an emphasis on Korean type foods, as the majority of the guests hail from there.

The staff was extremely helpful and friendly, and really went out of their way to help make our stay pleasant.

The only negative for me would be the beach. It is fairly small and not great for swimming. So better to stick with the pool, or go island hopping to some better spots for snorkeling and swimming. Trips can be arranged through the hotel or online.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCrimsonMactan, General Manager at Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Mark G,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience while staying at Crimson Resort and Spa. We sincerely value your comments in our continuous effort to provide friendly and efficient service.

I am thrilled that you chose to stay at our resort to wait for a late night flight back to the US. Your wonderful comments regarding our facilities, food and services has been passed on to my colleagues. I have noted your comments with regards to our beach area which we are
currently improving to further delight our guests.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,


JAMES MONTENEGRO
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

The resort charges so expensively to what they are offering. Breakfast buffet worst I've had in a 4-5 star hotel. The breads are so old looking and tasting, hard to believe I am dining in a first class hotel. The beach is not swimmable at all, rocky and lots of seaweeds, they don't clean it at all. To top it all, we found a "cockroach" in our bedroom. Believe it or not !!!!!! I told the villa host but didn't do anything to make up for it. My daughter and I did not have a good sleep thinking there will be more of the cockroach coming out. Will never come back again ever nor refer it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCrimsonMactan, General Manager at Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Josie C,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience while staying at Crimson Resort and Spa. We sincerely value your comments in our continuous effort to provide friendly and efficient service.

I have noted your comments and I express regret at your dissatisfaction with regards to the breakfast buffet, beach and incident with the cockroach. Since your stay with us we have enhanced our breakfast buffet and changed our supplier for pest control. We have also made improvements in our beach area which have been complimented by other guests here on TripAdvisor.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,


JAMES MONTENEGRO
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed at Crimson 2 weeks ago. It is a very nice resort basically in the middle of nowhere. Rooms spacious and clean. All staff are incredibly friendly - they really are an asset. Breakfast good - pool quite shallow hence quite warm. Beach is nice. Guest demographic appears to be mostly Korean/Japanese.

However the hotel wifi was useless. Good signal in my room but basically no throughput. I would guess that capacity of the link is far too small for the number of guests.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Comoman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCrimsonMactan, General Manager at Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Comoman1,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience while staying at Crimson Resort and Spa. We sincerely value your comments in our continuous effort to provide friendly and efficient service.

I am grateful for your excellent comments with regards to the resort’s rooms, breakfast, beach and our friendly staff which I have shared with my colleagues. I have also noted your comment about the Wi-Fi during your stay. Regretfully, we were having difficulties with our internet supplier during that time which is now rectified.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,


JAMES MONTENEGRO
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

The whole property is huge. However, their lobby and their other facilities are quite small compared to other 5 star resorts. The entrance reminded me of Shangrila Boracay. The lobby was a bit crowded when we arrived so that really didn't make a good impression on me at first. But along the way, i started to really like Crimson. Their staff are wonderful and the place is clean and well maintained. The place looks beautiful and picturesque. And for the price i paid for, it was all worth it. But there were some let downs during our stay but they fortunately were able to fix it. When we arrived to our room, there was a problem with the sink and one of the hallway lights was busted. We had to call room service and they sent their plumbers and utility men over. That could have been avoidable and is one of the reasons why I'm just giving this review 4 stars. The food was very good, but I had better breakfast buffet experiences. However, i still would recommend it. The other reason was that the resort gets kinda crowded, especially the pool area during lunch time. No matter how great the resort is but if it gets a little too crowded or a bit noisy, it loses its appeal for me. I hope they can find a way to manage this.

Room Tip: Inquire about their local resident's rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thepickyflashpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCrimsonMactan, General Manager at Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Thepickyflashpacker,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience while staying at Crimson Resort and Spa. We sincerely value your comments in our continuous effort to provide friendly and efficient service.

I am delighted that we were able to change your impression of our resort with our wonderful staff and well maintained facilities. I have also noted your comments regarding the hallway lights which I have asked our Chief Engineer to address. Our F&B Director will look into our breakfast buffet as we are currently looking for ways to further improve this for all our guests.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Sincerely,


JAMES MONTENEGRO
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
1.1 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 41 in Mactan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
6.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,974 reviews
1.5 mi away
Be Resorts - Mactan
Be Resorts - Mactan
#15 of 30 in Lapu Lapu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan

Property: Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
Address: Seascapes Resort Town | Mactan Island, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#4 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#4 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#4 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan 5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Synonymous with luxury and personalized service, Crimson Resort and Spa is the new destination and resort to experience. Nestled in one of the country's most prestigious tourist destinations, this exclusive piece of paradise is just 15 minutes away from the Mactan International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crimson Resort And Spa, Mactan Hotel Lapu Lapu
Crimson Resort And Spa, Mactan Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing