We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seafood is the game”

Cowrie Cove at Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
Ranked #11 of 136 Restaurants in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $100
Cuisines: Seafood, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: At Cowrie Cove, guests can savor fresh seafood under a canopy of stars and with the sound of ocean waves directly below the alfresco deck. The newly renovated Waves Bar is the perfect venue for guests to enjoy signature cocktails at sunset.
Surrey
Level Contributor
104 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Seafood is the game”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Choose your seafood, eat it, enjoy the view, this is one of my happy places. The staff are eager to inform you of your menu choices.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank KacjSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    76
    38
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
98 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Drinks and appetizer”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

The drinks were great(not watered down) the service was great just had drinks and appetizers a place to hang out and relax. had a shrimp appetizer that was amazing.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wnbaaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, limited menu”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

The ambiance is just excellent, with views over the water and beach. There are tables inside and airconditioned, however so long as weather is permitting the patio is the place to be. The perfect setting for a romantic meal. The menu was a little disappointing, it was just to limited. Pacing was good as was the service. My wife’s meal came out fine, mine appeared to have been sitting for a while. Although the prawns were very good and huge.
Price is high for Cebu, we were a little over 4000. However under $100 US for 2, including 3 glasses of wine, in a resort such as this is hard to beat.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sorry :-(”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

The shrimp in our sinigang was not fresh. Pusit (squid) is one of my favorite seafood dishes and I have eaten it in many venues - I could not eat the pusit because it was tougher than rubber - inedible! For a restaurant of this supposed caliber, the food should be of utmost quality ... Sorry :-( very disappointed.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best view and the best seafood!”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had a dinner here with my wife and my 2 year old daughter to celebrate my wife's birthday. We checked in at shangri-la and decided to try out this place because it was recommended by a friend.
Food: We ordered on seafood platter and their signature soup: the cowrie cove coconut soup.The seafood platter was great and their cowrie cove coconut soup is a must try. Before we were served with our orders, they served us different kinds of bread which had a tuna and a cheese dip which was complementary. I ordered for a beer but it was a liquor ban that time due to the elections so I ordered a mango juice. It was kind of sour for me and even my kid does'nt like it.
Service: A plus point on the complementary bread and the very attentive waiters/waitresses. One thing though, since it was a liquor ban I saw foreigners being served with beers but the locals were not. I guess the liquor ban only applies to the locals.
They don't have a kiddie chair for my 2 year old daughter. I tried on a similar restaurant, they even gave my daughter a lighting magic wand just to preoccupy her. So a tip to parents, if you're bringing your kid with you, try the Tides also in shangri-la.
Value: We had a 20% discount plus a 1000 PHP consumable on our hotel stay which we used during our dinner. So it was "sulit" (getting the value for your money) indeed.
Atmosphere: We had a table on the beach side coz we like the ambiance their. But it rained just when our food was served and we were transferred on a room. You can hear the other table talking, so a tip to would be diners: have a table outside if the weather's fine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rommelcapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cowrie Cove at Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa also viewed

Lapu Lapu, Mactan Island
Lapu Lapu, Mactan Island
 

Been to Cowrie Cove at Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing