We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful, soulless and highly frustrating place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JPark Island Resort & Waterpark, Cebu
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awful, soulless and highly frustrating place!”
Reviewed July 10, 2010

We went only to use the waterpark and were quoted nearly 11,000 pesos for using the park and a buffet lunch!! We did point out that we could have stayed for a couple of nights at a 5 star hotel in London for that price!! Eventually we were given a quote for just the waterpark (4900 pesos).
Firstly I was told I was not allowed to go into the water wearing a cotton t-shirt, despite being very sunburnt. "We don't allow cotton".
Secondly, I was told to remove all jewellery, even my wedding ring. "We don't allow jewellery"
The "we do not allow..." was continuous ... googles, sunglasses... people over 71 kg"!! I kid you not! We all had to be weighed at the top of the waterslides and were told whether or not we were too "fat" to go down them!!
For any averaged size westerner, don't bother going unless you are prepared to sign waivers at every slide and be weighed on a pair of old scales in front of a queue of excited swimmers, not to mention humiliated!!!
Fun? We had none!
We rushed back to the Shangri La as quickly as we could!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
14 Thank jellymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    254
    110
    39
    28
See reviews for
385
82
13
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2010

I have read and heard so much about this place, but when i finally got there, I was disappointed. It was not as beautiful as I thought it would be. The landscaping is not very attractive. The beach front is narrow. Staff friendliness and courtesy are much to be desired. Rooms, however, are ok, but I don not like the smell of the pillows and bed cover.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mujer_from_cebu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

First, the good points. The beds and rooms are very nicely outfitted and comfortable. The pillows and sheets, for me, are amazing because I really like them soft and fluffy. They have a lot of electric outlets, and I was happy to see that they had speakers for iPods. They also have a nice veranda for appreciating the weather outside.

The food was delicious. I loved their breakfast buffet and the fact that my friends who like continental breakfast and I, preferring kimchi pancakes, can both be happy with the choices. Their restaurants also serve great food, especially the Korean restaurant, although I found it a bit too pricey even for the good quality. The food for the events (we attended a wedding) never disappointed.

The swimming pools are fantastic -- there was one that generated waves, one with a giant slide, and even one with a pirate ship! Definitely a resort with a lot of things to do, particularly if you're with kids (or the young at heart). My friends and I especially liked the pool with a bar in it. ;) There are a few strange drinks, but their mojito was great.

On the other hand, one major downfall of the hotel is its location. There isn't much to do around the area. Basically all the attractions are in the hotel itself, making the hotel its own destination, but that's not really the point of traveling, is it?

Another thing that bothered me was their exaggerated dedication to security. They wouldn't stop asking for our room number. Entering the compound, walking around the grounds, lounging in the pool...? I didn't understand the need to be that vigilant especially when it became not only annoying, but also intrusive.

The shower was also upsetting. The bathroom itself looks very nice, but functionally, it was disappointing. It was hard to take a shower and the drainage did not work. Using the shower inevitably meant flooding the entire bathroom.

Finally, I was a bit upset that we were moved to another room without so much as an apology or even an apologetic tone. Someone at the front desk should be trained to handle this situation appropriately, but that wasn't the case. I was told rather flatly that our reservation -- supposedly 3 beds -- was changed to one king-sized bed and a small couch because twin beds were no longer available. The small couch could not have fit an average-sized person. One of my friends is small, so she took the couch, but she was definitely uncomfortable trying to sleep. Maybe we should've complained more passionately, but the fact that they couldn't foresee our frustration with the new arrangement was a telling of their lackluster customer service.

In short, it's a beautifully developed hotel with great amenties, but they have a number of things that could be improved upon, especially in terms of service and guest interaction.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Asiandomination
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2010

The Imperial Palace is indeed imperial as the name goes. Huge property with one of the most vantage views of the beautiful Philippines Sea. Great place to chill out especially you plan to come with family. Very spacious rooms and well appointed. Good spa.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hgmoorthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2010

This is an absolutely beautiful hotel with a small private beach and water sports facilities which come at a cost. The hotel also has a water park (small one though) where your kids can enjoy a lot. The room rates are pretty reasonable. I stayed in a suite overlooking the green/blue sea water. There are options of villas as well but they are expensive. The F&B rates are also reasonable. The Buffet breakfast was amazing with a huge selection of dishes. There are lovely restaurants with different themes to choose from. The restaurant at the seaside is beautiful and is made on wooden logs where you can sit and enjoy the moonlit night having dinner at the sea. you can go snorkelling and other water sports as well for which the hotel provides a vacation club package as well.
This is far from cebu city so you have to travel more than half an hr if you need to visit there.
Brilliant place if you are looking for a romantic holiday with your spouse/partner.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teenurocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2010

This is the most exciting and enjoyable experience I had in Cebu. Staying in this hotel is simply amazing! it's really beyond my imagination. The waterpark was great and the staff are all accomodating. I will be back again and again...

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cuttie_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2010

Our family went for a 4 day 3 night stay with a group for a seminar in this place. The hotel was great! Our 3 year old son enjoyed the kids waterpark. We enjoyed the lazy river, the waves and the pools.

Their staff was helpful too. I lost my shawl the day that we left. They found it and went out of their way to return it to me. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dandang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
1.6 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
2.4 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 41 in Mactan Island
676 reviews
3.0 mi away
Be Resorts - Mactan
Be Resorts - Mactan
#12 of 30 in Lapu Lapu
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JPark Island Resort & Waterpark, Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JPark Island Resort & Waterpark, Cebu

Property: JPark Island Resort & Waterpark, Cebu
Address: M.L Quezon Highway | Brgy. Maribago, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines (Formerly Imperial Palace Waterpark Resort and Spa)
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#6 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#7 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#7 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — JPark Island Resort & Waterpark, Cebu 5*
Number of rooms: 556
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your JPark Island Resort & Waterpark, Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Palace Waterpark Hotel Lapu Lapu
JPark Island Resort & Waterpark, Cebu Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing