We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JPark Island Resort & Waterpark, Cebu
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

The imperial palace resort and spa is one of the grandest hotels in Cebu. It's pricey yet worth it. An overnight stay would cost you an average of 10,000 pesos which includes breakfast buffet and some other discount coupons. The waterpark is a great place that families and friends would enjoy. They have a schedule of a number of activities which you might enjoy like the pool aerobics. On a saturday night, dinner buffet of Familia Restaurant is set outdoor near the pool. They have music and fire dance. There is a wide range of food - international cuisine. The service of the hotel attendants is great. There's wife almost everywhere! Love this place!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zobel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    264
    111
    39
    28
See reviews for
394
82
13
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

two bedrooms suite were enough to accomodate 4 kids & 2 adults, food is ok,
water park is superb & my kids kept on going back.
minor problems like digital box that wasnt working was easily fixed, service was fast.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gltsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We got there at around 10am, 4 hours early from our check-in time. We went directly to the reception area for our room reservation and was informed that there were no available rooms yet for check-in. They asked for our number so they can call us once they already have an available room. So we just roamed around the vicinity while waiting for them to call us. But hours passed and we didn't notice the time that it was already 2pm and nobody has even called us yet. So we got back to the reception area and asked for our room. Without even an apology that they failed to call us or have us checked-in, they let us wait for more than 40 mins before they got us a room. It was a let down knowing that we paid in advance for our room reservation.

On the lighter side, I found their room quite lovely, modern and very spacious. I love how they designed their rooms. The room consists of a sala, bathroom, kitchen, balcony and bedroom. It seems like you are living in a condo unit! The main water pool is really big but is still crowded when we got there. Their water slide is also a fun experience to do.

We had our dinner at Cheon San Chinese Restaurant, price was a bit steep but it was worth it especially for a chinese food lover like me. Their breakfast buffet at Familia Restaurant also offers a lot of variety of yummy foods. The only downside is we had to wait for a while to get us seated since there are a lot of people dining in the place.

All in all it's a lovely, modern place. A great place to stay for those who love swimming but needs improvement on their customer service.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank bedazzle101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san fernando
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We got to stay in this resort/hotel for 3 days and 2 nights because our company hosted a business conference here. Upon arrival, we had a short 15 minute trip from the airport and we checked into our spacious rooms with king sized beds. Fortunately, we were given a room facing the ocean and the swimming pool. Rooms come with free internet by the way. Just ask for LAN cable from housekeeping. After lunch, we decided to go to Cebu city proper which is around 30 to 45 minutes away (depending on traffic which is usually bad). Unfortunately we missed the hotel shuttle going to the city and had to take a cab. But on the way back, we were able to catch the shuttle which has pick up points at SM and Ayala Mall. Accommodations come with free buffet breakfast daily. Our conference proper was held in their main ballroom which could probably accommodate at least a thousand people comfortably. In the afternoon, during our free time, we got explore and try out their water park. There were water slides, kiddie pools, a lazy river pool and an adult pool with a floating bar in the middle. The beachfront, while a little narrow, was very clean. The hotel also had a spa but we did not try it because it was a little expensive ($80 for massage). Overall, the place was clean and relatively new. The food was superb. All the staff were very friendly and attentive. There was also an abundance of foreigners, mostly Koreans, in this hotel. I just found this hotel to be a little pricey for local clientle. Based on their tarrif, a night would cost around P 8k to P9k.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view facing the sea/pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zangetsu63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

This is a big, busy, always buzzing hotel …. Thankfully, it wasn’t too crowded during my family’s 2-day mid-April holiday in the midst of the Philippine summer season (but I bet it gets really packed during the July-August Korean summer period, as 90% of the clientele appear to be Korean).

The real treat at Imperial Palace is the “waterpark” ---- Superlative! We thoroughly enjoyed swimtime in the pools (there are four of them, though the website hypes this up to six pools … the wave pool, river pool and beach pool are actually one linked swimming area). Our kids loved the Captain Hook pool most of all, with its splashing water features and mini-slides --- and even the 47-year-old biggest kid (that’s me) spent many glorious minutes getting soaked in the ‘mushroom waterfall’. A perfect antidote to a searing hot day. The wave pool is also nice, though the wave feature isn’t always turned on. A casual swimmer could appreciate the twisting pools and hidden corners from which you can paddle into a swim bar and order a summer cocktail.

The “Island Pool”, a lagoon-like affair closest to the hotel buildings, allows for more athletic swimming activities. Don’t expect peace and quiet, as performers occasionally stage noisy mini-shows on the fringe of the big pool. The tranquil tropical scenery was marred by giant black murals resembling totem poles (we called them “giant tiki heads”) set up around the lagoon pool, evoking some kind of South Pacific Disneyland rather than anything remotely Filipino.

Our 5th floor garden view room was perfectly adequate, but don’t fall for the hype about “elegantly furnished rooms” offering the “utmost in luxury, comfort and relaxation”. We got a standard room with old-style lighting (the usual 2 bed lamps, 1 lamp by the side table and armchairs in the corner, a light over the dresser) and so-called “Greek-Mediterranean” décor that didn’t really grab me. The room itself seemed smaller than the stated 38 sq. m, although it was spacious enough for our needs (except that the two beds were on the smallish side, a very tight fit for a family of two adults and two big kids ---- we missed the double queen beds in L.A.’s Holiday Inn Express). The bathroom was better, lots of space and light and a big black marble countertop. The TV digibox cable system was unusually hard to operate, and it kept malfunctioning. We detected some signs of wear and tear (scuff marks, a bathroom door that was hard to lock) but the room was clean enough. More of a good 3-star room or a fairly average 4-star room.

The breakfast buffet at the Familia restaurant was huge --- a great selection of different kinds of food with Filipino, Korean and Japanese specialties alongside the traditional eggs and sausages and cereals. Yes, you can have sushi/maki and kimchi and the famous danggit for breakfast here. But be prepared to brave the crowds and the packed, noisy atmosphere …. and walk awkwardly in the small space between tables as you carry teetering plates of food. The coffee shop needs expansion, fast! Service was a bit erratic but friendly --- one manager was especially accommodating and helpful. A lady supervisor, seeing us pack up the unfinished bread rolls of my 7-year-old son, warned us respectfully but sternly that take outs are prohibited (she used the Tagalog word “bawal”), even though signs on each table announce prominently that take-outs are allowed, although “highly discouraged” because of the risk of food spoilage.

The Café Amiga, a quiet restaurant near the Familia buffet room, was a delightful surprise with exceptional service for dinner (see my separate review on this).

We didn’t try the beach, which didn’t look too inviting at high tide. (The beach at Shangri-la Mactan is better.)

We liked the airy lobby lounge with its huge archways overlooking the beautifully landscaped gardens and the island pool.

Three thumbs up for the well-equipped and very colorful Kids Club, where our youngest son spent more than three hours playing around and meeting new friends. Please ask for an explanation on how the Kids Club charges are assessed. The rate is PHP300 for the first hour and PHP150 for each succeeding hour … BUT if you come back the next day for another play hour, you get charged the PHP300 again (unless you pay in advance for a set number of hours on the first day, and use some of the paid hours on the second day). Sorry if it sounds confusing, but best to ask and be well informed rather than end up paying more than you expected. The staffers at the Club are really friendly and had good rapport with the kids.

Overall, the resort earns a gentleman’s “4” rating. Maybe the room deserves only a “3”, but the pool and swimming area gets a rounded-up “5”. My family had a memorable holiday, and that’s what counts most.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor. Ocean view is better but pricier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wingdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

The hotel is quite huge, with many rooms, but the supposedly big pool is not enough for the number of people using the pools, as they do accept "day-trippers", that is, people who go only for day excursions, not overnight guests. Thus, one can NOT expect much privacy and quiet while there, which is quite disappointing. Also, the beach is not too clean, and during high tide, debris from neighboring populated areas may gather in their beachfront, near the boardwalk. Not quite recommendable...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joycee456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

My booking was for 3 people ( with 17 year old kid) but was given a king size bed for 3 people. They insisted and passed the blame on the site where I booked by stay. It was later resolved after so many run around from the hotel personnel. With breakfast included and prepaid during the booking, this was assumed that the 3rd guest would be covered, but unfortunately, it was not and again passed the blame on the site I prepaid. I ended up paying a $30.00 breakfast The site is very reliable, which I always use to book my hotels for over the years that i have been traveling across USA, Hong Kong, Cebu City and Mactan, Cebu Philippines. The Imperial Palace Hotel personnel and employees don't coordinate or communicate among each other thus unresolved their existing guest problems. I would not recommend this hotel.. I highly recommend Shangrila or Plantation Bay if Shangrila is not available. The guests are better off paying a $50.00-$75.00 room rates rather that this overpriced hotel.

Room Tip: Check Shangrila or Plantation Bay or other hotels in the area. Please AVOID this hotel....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nenette_tice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
1.6 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
2.4 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
0.8 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 42 in Mactan Island
697 reviews
5.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 90 in Cebu City
3,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JPark Island Resort & Waterpark, Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JPark Island Resort & Waterpark, Cebu

Property: JPark Island Resort & Waterpark, Cebu
Address: M.L Quezon Highway | Brgy. Maribago, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines (Formerly Imperial Palace Waterpark Resort and Spa)
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#6 Family Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#7 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#7 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — JPark Island Resort & Waterpark, Cebu 5*
Number of rooms: 556
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your JPark Island Resort & Waterpark, Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Palace Waterpark Hotel Lapu Lapu
JPark Island Resort & Waterpark, Cebu Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing