We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb attention in beautiful facility!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Abaca Boutique Resort
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Abaca Boutique Resort offers superb personalized service unseen in most exclusive hotels in the world, and with only nine suites and what seems more than a 1:1 ratio of some of the best trained and friendly staff I have ever encountered, its easy to understand why.

From the minute you walk into this beautifully designed resort, you are personally greeted by name by the manager along with other members of the staff who take care of all your belongings. You are then walked by the manager to the dining/bar area where you are offered a welcome drink, while your luggage is delivered to your suite.

Al personnel around the geogeous infinity pool area, where most guests spend their days, are attentive to your every move, anticipating your every need. For example, the minute you walk into the pool, dry towels will be placed for you at the access/exit point. If that weren't enough, when they see you coming out of the water, one of them will rush to open the towel for you and place it on your back! During the day they will continually walk by bringing you ice water with a lemon wedge and complimentary homemade fruit sorbets.

You can choose your place to lounge at the pool area in either one of 5 beautifully appointed shaded cabanas or lounge chairs. You have the option of having breakfast and lunch served there as well, instead of going to the restaurant.

They'll arrange everything for you, from boat tours to city tours, where one of the hotel buttlers will accompany you to care for your every need. We took an island boat tour and aside from the buttler, one of the hotel's chefs came with us to prepare our meal on an island, consisting of fresh seafood, fish, chicken and pork on a charcoal grill. They brought a complete serving set, including table cloth and cloth napkins, silverware, ceramic dishes, as well as chilled plastic water gobblets and champagne flutes, to serve a complimentary sparkling wine and our preselected choice of beverages and mixed drinks.

Their Mediterranean style restaurant is one of the best in the area, visited by guests of other hotels; however as a resident, there is always your choice of table reserved for you, either at the restaurant or bar area.

In spite of the small area, they have a lovely spa with 2 rooms, a single and a double, with very relaxing atmosphere and well trained therapists. It also has a small gym with basic equipment but enough for a place this size.

The resort in general is quite flexible in their services, where you can arrange massages outside of their regular spa hours. You may also request meals not in their menu. Of course these special services require some advance notice.

In short, this place is heavenly, particularly well suited for adults and couples. The only drawback for beach lovers is it has no beach, but does offer comfortable access to the ocean to swim in a cordoned off protected area.

I look forward to coming back soon.

Room Tip: Their oceanview pool side suites have very convenient access to both the pol and spa areas. They al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank MamaMacu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (413)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 413 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2012

If one wishes to experience what it must be like to live the life of a royal, then staying at the Abaca resort may give you an indication. Abaca sets the benchmark for true Filipino hospitality and absolute dedication to customer service.

We booked a 7-night stay at the resort following a week in the hustle of bustle of Manila. Our butler (can't believe I am even using this word) collected at us at the airport, with cold aromatherapy towels and water awaiting us in the car as refreshment for a mere 15-minute journey to the hotel. The city of Mactan is still very undeveloped and you will see many make-up huts lining up the roads where vendors sell their produce. There is no denying poverty remains an issue, as in many parts of the country. But people are so warm and everywhere you go, you will always encounter a smile or a friendly hello.

The hotel is a sanctuary of peace and tranquility and from the moment of our arrival, we were given outstanding service. Your total well-being is the mantra of this hotel and the manager Glen and his staff will do whatever it takes to ensure all your needs are met if not exceeded. We stayed in a master oceanfront suite, which was absolutely massive, comprising a sleeping area, bathroom with a walk-in shower, bath, two sinks and a balcony with lounger, table and dining chairs. The rooms are decorated in a contemporary Filipino style, and eponymous to the hotel's name, tastefully accentuated with abaca furniture and bathroom items.

Breakfast and dinner are served at the adjoining restaurant, where the staff offered us our complimentary welcome drink consisting of a full bottle of sparkling wine on our first night. The restaurant, surrounded by lush greenery and the air of the gentle sea breeze, is run by Australian chef Wade Watson, whose menu is an eclectic mix of Mediterranean cuisine. Chef Wade will take the time to walk around during dinner and chat to guests about their stay and of course the food. I was impressed by this personal touch. The food - all sourced locally - was divine and there was not a single meal that was served on our table which we didn't devour. The pizzas were better than in some places in Italy, and the crispy fried pork delectable. Every day, we looked forward to our wonderful, freshly-cooked breakfast, from your typical English to waffles and blueberry pancakes, which you can either eat at the restaurant or have served poolside. And our dinners were the crowning glory to a blissfully relaxing day by the pool.

The infinity pool at Abaca is really the best I have ever experienced. The hotel uses some other cleaning procedure for the water, but it is not chlorinated so you don't come out of it with this feeling of needing to rinse. I could stay in there for hours, taking in the beautiful ocean vista. Surrounding the pool area are 5 thatched cabanas, with a generous double bed lounger and chairs to relax in. The poolside staff will regularly supply you with ice-cold lemon water, take your orders or await you by the pool with a dry towel after your swim. On our second day, I had fancied ice cream made with local fruit, which was not on their menu. The staff went out to the supermarket and bought me a tub - enough to supply me for the whole week! It was served to me in a beautiful trio of ceramic cups, each containing a scoop back at the pool. That kind of attention and service - as the famous ad slogan goes - is simply priceless.

I indulged in a traditional Filipino "hilot" massage at the spa and we also did a tour of the surrounding islands, with the boat, which can hold up to 20 people, reserved for our exclusive use accompanied by our butler. The hotel will even bring its furniture on this boat trip, so you can sunbathe and have your lunch or dinner on the island.

Our stay at Abaca will be unforgettable. The hotel staff couldn’t do enough to fulfill your needs, without their actions ever feeling contrived. We were utterly spoilt at this hotel and can only wholeheartedly endorse it to others, who are in need of pampering and quality down-time.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank minlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

With all the research done, we knew we were going to be in for a treat. After a rather long flight to Cebu, we finally set foot in abaca. abaca is about 15 minutes from the airport and a world away from what you would experience at any other resort.

Abaca is a 9 suite/villa boutique hotel with service that would make any 5-star international hotel envious. With a high staff to guest ratio, the staff are very attentive, efficient and polite. They know each guest by name, inculding our little one. I particularly liked being called "Sir Jamie" ... had a nice ring to it!

The butler service looks after all needs, whims and fancies [within reason, of course]. Dial a 3 dight number and they can arrange your breakfast by the poolside, lend you DVDs selected from a list, arrange a birthday cake, arrange a boat to go island hopping or a car to go into town to do some sightseeing/shopping.

The staff appear to be cross trained. You can expect to see the pool team deliver your room service or even serve your meals at the poolside cabanas. Everyone is serious about their service delivery.

We spent a fair bit of time at swimming pool. There are floats and other inflatable tubes available for use at the pool. A tall glass of water with a lemon wedge appears in your cabana. If you are lucky, they'll treat you to abaca's home made fruit-popsicle, ice cream and even cookies. One of the pool staff will even have a towel ready when you get out of the pool. Now, that's called service!

The food at abaca is ... to put it directly ... expect to get fat. We still think about the 600gm hand-cut Angus ribeye steak, and the roasted whole chicken in the wood fire oven. These two dishes took our breath away. The beef was juicy, tender, and "beefy" - we had this dish at least twice during our stay! The pizzas and pastas are also done very well and will keep you asking for more. By the time we finished these, we had no room for dessert. We ate all our meals at the abaca.

The rooms at abaca are simple and tastfully furnished. We had a poolside oceanfront suite to start, but were upgraded later. Our suite had a large TV with DVD player, a large toilet area with 2 sinks, bath tub and shower area. It was equipped with a King size bed and our ground floor suite had a day-lounger that could be converted to a bed for the little one. We were upgraded to the seaview pool villa which was ultra spacious, had its own pool plus outdoor shower and an iMac and a large toilet area. This room could sleep 2 adults and up to 3 young kids comfortably.

There is also a gym, kids' room and maid quarters. Great for the gym-rats and parents who want some quality time. Wifi is available throughout the resort.

Downsides? 1. there is no beach. You jump from the pool into the ocean. So if you are looking for a beach holiday with white sandy beaches for the kids to play, try another place. For us, we had the pool and that kept us happy. 2. If you are used to powerful showers like Kramer's Commando 450 shower head [in Seinfeld], the water flow here is a little low; but we are really nit-picking here.

We loved our stay here and given another beach holiday, will opt to come here again. The service was excellent and our accomodations were comfortable, affording a good nights sleep. We will definitely be back for the food!

Room Tip: Get the poolside oceanfront suite which has direct access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Jamie575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

I came with very high expectations (heard a lot about the place and about the food) and they met all my high expectations.

We stayed at Penthouse Oceanfront Suite 6

Room: it is love! very spacious, very comfortable, very cozy, very homey, very pleasant to the eyes. The only thing I didn't like was the chair they have there is not so comfortable once you lean sideways. The room was so perfect there's not much to complain of, am just practically nitpicking here since I want them to be perfect already as they are that close to making it perfect. Also they should have a water kettle in the room, I felt bad disturbing the housekeeping late at night just to ask for a cup of hot water for my tea/coffee.

Bathroom: once you learn the control for the shower everything is smooth. They should add a bidet, it will make it infinitely better. The bathroom is very spacious and nicely done. I love it! The view from the toilet bowl is also a sight to behold!

Service: oh the service is excellent, I think they make up the room each time we leave the room. In a day they fixed our room at least 3 times! Wow.

Restaurant: the food is is really really really good, there's not a thing we ordered that didnt taste good, it was just good and very very good, absolutely no bad choice. I specially love the pizza (they call it flatbread). Oh I can go on and on and on and rave about the food! And the price of the food is not even unreasonably expensive. Dinner's at P1200/pax. The people there at the restaurant? Oh I cant rave enough about them, they made sure our needs and wants are way above theirs. We had a very late lunch on our first day, we swam after and wanted to rest a bit but we overslept and woke up at 10:30pm yet they waited for us even when kitchen closes at 10pm and wait happily is what they did, they didnt rush us for our dinner, we never felt any animosity over the fact that they are working overtime just for our group.

A very very wonderful experience, we went with friends so company was great, room was luxurious, and food was excellent. Oh it was a very memorable experience! Yes it is pricey so this is not one we can do often but will be doing it again for sure!

Room Tip: There are just 6 rooms & 3 villas. They all have a reason for their prices. Master Oceanfront Su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank BenzRana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed 12 days in the Abaca resort and have never before met such a serviceminded team!
Great accomodation, great food and above all fantastic service!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nljohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed 12 days in the Abaca resort and have never before met such a serviceminded team!
Great accomodation, great food and above all fantastic service!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nljohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

This is one of the best places to stay for a vacation not just in Cebu City but in the Philippines. It is very private, and their customer service is far better than the commercialized five-star hotels elsewhere. If you want a relaxing, pampered, and private vacation, Abaca is your best option. The rooms are spacious and very clean, complete with everything you need. The infinity pool and the poolside area are also good. One of the best things in Abaca is its food, which is near perfection. I truly enjoyed my stay in this resort, I got exactly what I came for, and maybe even more. We are definitely coming back here.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ekonomista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
7.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 92 in Cebu City
3,495 reviews
2.2 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 43 in Mactan Island
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abaca Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abaca Boutique Resort

Address: Punta Engano Road, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#2 Business Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range: $341 - $610 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abaca Boutique Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abaca, one of the most exclusive boutique resorts is located in the beautiful central Philippines on Mactan Island. Abaca is a tropical hideaway that offers the tranquility of very private deluxe suites set in a lush tropical oceanfront retreat. In addition to the spacious suites and villas, guests enjoy full luxury spa and restaurant experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Abaca Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abaca Boutique Hotel Lapu Lapu
Abaca Boutique Resort Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing