We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"BE" for Bad Experience”
Review of BE Resort, Mactan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
BE Resort, Mactan
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed for a day tour to enjoy the beach and beauty of Cebu but nevertheless, did not do justice for that ample time, its a time truly WASTED.

The day tour is for 750/php from 8am to 5pm. Since we already checked in at the other hotel near Banilad, we went to Mactan just for its white sand and great beach but to our surprise the place is full of Koreans roaming around.

Their food at the restaurant was so-so, we ordered beef bulgogi and chicken teriyaki which was included at the day tour package, after which we ordered a dessert and an appetizer namely; Mango crepe and Tacos with guacamole. The price of the food was okay for 145php and 180php respectively but to my surprise the food we ordered has its 'LUXURY TAX' included and a humungous 'SERVICE CHARGE RATE'. Utensils were stained, not thoroughly washed nor cleaned.

The ambiance of the resort was not so spectacular as what you can see thru its pictures and reviews. The design itself was an average one. Its like a plain white building with a bunch of Koreans roaming around.

The facilities were disgusting. The comfort room was stinky and grimy. Floor tiles was filthy. The pool has its 'canal' like drainage at the bottom were the dirt forgo from the pool above. It was smelly and ridiculous for putting it at the center of the resort as well.

The man made beach / sand is not sand at all. It is white pebbles that's so 'fake-looking'. Terrible of your feet, make sure you wear your slippers all the time. Beach was so frustrating. No one dares to swim at the beach front, You know why? The beach is full of trash, molds, weeds and filthy materials of all kinds were present on the water.

On top of it, the front desk officer didn't even bother to aware the guest that there will be a 'wedding' at the same time you were checked in. And they used all the space enough to block the view of the sea.

Will never go back. Wasted time and money.

Room Tip: Don't waste your time and money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheCamelot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MactanBeresorts, General Manager at BE Resort, Mactan, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear TheCamelot,

Thank you for your feedback . We appreciate it , unfortunate to hear that your Day visit was not to your expectation.

Please let me highlight some of the points you mention .

We do not charge "Luxury Tax" but we are simply complying with the government mandate Expanded Value Added Tax and local Taxes.

We only have a 5% Service Charge which is considerably less than the 10% Service Charge of other similar properties.

Our property enjoys a very good international guest following .

Our beach is cleaned regularly by the local community employed by the Resort. Our beach is our enjoyed by both of our local and international hotel guest who enjoy snorkeling and other water sports. Infact I personally do my swim workouts on our beach and take a point of check it regularly .

Sea grass you see is endemic to the area and this is where the local marine take shelter and get their sustenance. We protect the local environment where we are and against the removal of local marine fauna and flora.

Some of the pictures you took unfortunately are outside our property clearly seen from the rope line in the picture and not reflective of the resort .The rocky areas shown is not within the resort property.

The picture that you took is that of our catch basin. It collects the water coming coming from the pool and cascades it down ,Which give an effect of a waterfall , this chlorinated water and tested daily.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Best,

Garry A. Garcia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (502)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

257 - 263 of 502 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

Service is excellent, Price not bad for a standard resort this resort is great for fun, fun , fun!!! try their baby back ribs the best can be compared with Norwegian barbeque Restaurant :)
Rooms??? really need a rubber or something to keep it from banging creating loud noise, love the pillows too and the beds.

Room Tip: get rooms with the beach view or the pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gwen921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Service

We stayed at this hotel for only a night but we wished we could've stayed longer. We arrived early, 12:00pm and hotel check-in policy is at 2:00pm. They let us check-in early at no extra cost. I was expecting they'd ask us to wait while we lounge around but they only had us wait for 15minutes while they prepare our room. The room is spacious, clean and has a partial view of the beach and the neighboring Abaca and Movenpick hotels. The toilet and bath was simple, no unnecessary tub, which I like. The staff is very friendly, accomodating and I have to point out that they were very intuitive to our needs. Simple things like, bringing out a fan for you when they see you fanning yourself, or offering to take your photo, bringing you your drink to the beach even if it would be a long walk, looking for your goggles when you lose them underwater, etc. These may be basic expectations but the difference they make is the sincerity you will feel when they take care of you. All in all great customer service! Kudos! The only downside I can remember was when I had to wait for 3 hours and call twice for an extra set of towels and toiletries. There were 3 of us and the room was only stocked for two.

Food

As for the food, the breakfast buffet was basic. Bread, waffles, butter, jam, milkfish, bacon, sausage, eggs your way, steamed rice, fruits, and coffee. I just wish they had other hot beverage options like hot chocolate or tea because I'm not a coffee drinker. The juice is not real juice, it's a powder mix. I don't really like that. I can overlook this because again, there's something endearing in the way they treat their customers. The food in the restaurant and the drinks in the bar are not overpriced. Just right for a hotel and resort. The taste may not be worth a shout-out but they're not so bad. I definetely enjoyed the Carbonara and the Mojito.

Beach and Pool

The beach is small but I didn't mind. They keep it clean all the time. The water was crystal clear in the morning and looks absolutely tempting. During high-tide you can swim all you want without worrying about what you might step on. As for the pool and the jacuzzi, they have to do a better job at keeping these clean. Dried leaves were floating in the jacuzzi and the water was not clear in the pool.

Interiors

I absolutely love the interiors by Kenneth Cobonpue! They're fresh, fun, hip, uncomplicated, modern and totally photo-op worthy! The style reflects the kind of stay you're in for.

I am definitely coming back!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chibiwankenobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MactanBeresorts, General Manager at BE Resort, Mactan, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Chibiwankenobi,

We delighted that we were able to deliver a Beyond the expected service during your stay . Your complements bring smiles to our hearts , that truly makes us try to work harder to give the same experience to all our guest.

We hope to welcome you again to your resort soon.

Best,

Garry A. Garcia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Be resort is one of the best relaxing place we had stayed with family and friends. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. They always make sure to provide comfort for their customers. The place is perfect for every occasion. The food you would really satisfied, the swimming pool you would always love and the beach that would totally relieve all the stress. The place is very clean, even a one night stay in Be resort you would always love to come back...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Urnah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MactanBeresorts, General Manager at BE Resort, Mactan, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Urnah,

We at Be Resorts Mactan are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our resort to be a welcome break from the daily routine.

We look forward to welcoming you again .

Best,


Garry A. Garcia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Travelers who wanted a place to be relaxed with a nice view of the bech, BE resort is one of the places in the island of Lapu-Lapu that you need to check out...The Exquisite designs of furniture are the ones that I love most where you can just sit and relax while waiting for the sunset. The pool is quite good as well. The staff are pretty accommodating and hospitable...so I suggest that you should try to visit Be Resort at Punta Engano...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moongazer_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MactanBeresorts, General Manager at BE Resort, Mactan, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear MoonGrazer 13,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us at Be Resorts Mactan. We happy that you had a relaxing stay at our property.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our property.

Garry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed one night at BE, and that was more than enough for us. The reception clerk had a fake smile, the shower was not hot enough, no complimentary shampoos in the bathroom, the sliding door on the balcony was locked shut, the restaurant was swarming with flies, the table clothes were stained with coffee and food, the food trays for the buffet was not refilled, and to top it all, my husband left his rubber shoes and when he called to ask for them, the hotel said that they did not find any in the room. Really disappointed with this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MactanBeresorts, General Manager at BE Resort, Mactan, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Jennifer P,

I apologized if your stay at Be Resorts Mactan was not to your expectation . Please do know that at Be Resorts Mactan, we have a regular and extensive pest control program in place. However due to the nature of the resort in our area it can be difficult sometimes to control.

I personally checked up on your husband shoes in both the room and housekeeping unfortunately we have not found it. If we do find it rest assured we ship it to your residence courtesy of the resort.

Hope to give you a better experience on your next stay with us.

Cordially,

Garry A. Garcia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

We are currently staying at Be Resorts in Mactan for 3 nights and 4 days. It is located in punta engano rd and its shoreline shares Mactan Shangrila. Very clean hotel with exquisite design furnitures. Nice infinity pool and exclusive beach. Tight security...guards will check the licenses of taxi drivers at the same time will log the plate nos. of their taxis. Very friendly staff...they will really extend a smile and a helping hand. Nice rooms. Quite large for 3 people... Huge beds, hot rain showers...free supply of bottled water...and to top it all... Very affordable.. A really value for money...plenty of korean tourists in this hotel. Clean, cool and chic, this is BE!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Taekwondo_Family05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
2.3 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 43 in Mactan Island
728 reviews
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
1.5 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Sotogrande Hotel & Resort
Sotogrande Hotel & Resort
#22 of 32 in Lapu Lapu
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BE Resort, Mactan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BE Resort, Mactan

Address: Punta Engano Road | Mactan, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range: $67 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BE Resort, Mactan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in our Cebu hotel's stylish accommodations while you simply recharge and get away from it all. Find yourself in a higher state of bliss as you experience BE Resort, Mactan's award-winning and contemporary interior design. Beyond the comfort and elegance of BE Resort, Mactan rooms is an extensive list of amenities that make your experience at BE Resort, Mactan a memorable and pleasurable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your BE Resort, Mactan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Resorts - Mactan Hotel Lapu Lapu
Microtel Hotel Lapu
Microtel Hotel Mactan
BE Resort, Mactan Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing