We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Positive vibes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Be Resorts - Mactan
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Positive vibes”
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

My friends and I recently visited Be Resort, just right beside Abaca. It's a quaint boutique hotel that gives you an all around great feeling. The furniture at the lobby were designed by well renowned local artist, Kenneth Cobonpue. We love the white interiors with splotches of colorful accent pieces. Even the beach is not too shabby. We would have wanted to see more trees outside perhaps as it tends to get too hot.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelchicme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    175
    139
    52
    42
See reviews for
108
119
22
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

GOOD
-day trip pass is great value for money (all day sun bed hire including lunch)
-comfortable sun bed and chair
-service was pleasant
-decor was very modern and great choice of colours


BAD
-there were loud groups of guests who were very loud and ruined the ambience

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MactanBeresorts, General Manager at Be Resorts - Mactan, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Tracey N,

Greetings from Sunny Cebu !


We thank you for for sharing your experience at Be Resorts Mactan.

So glad to hear that enjoyed the resort . Our Team was glad to be of service to you.
Our new and unique loungers and beach bean bags have been a hit with our guest , so we are more pleasant to hear that you enjoyed them too.

Due to the high demand for stay at BE Resorts Mactan , you will find a great people to meet at our beach.

We look forward to seeing you again lounging in our beach and we will be there with our warm smiles and your cold drink in hand .

BEst,


Garry A. Garcia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

At first blush it seemed so chic modern and airy. But then it turned into a nightmare.

The room was stuffy. You could hear everything from inside. Every bang of a door. Foot steps. And chatter.

It began with the transfer. Which was initially nowhere to be found. I called the reception to ask only to be met by LAUGHING! Imagine! I thought I called the wrong number.

We were picked up by a sedan. All four of us plus our luggage. Cramped!

Breakfast was a riot. We had to compete from bland tasting food. It was basically self service! You had to look for a water dispenser!!

Order at the hotel for SOUP took almost an hour. Thats what they offer for starters.

The food tray/net in the room had gum. The bidet has molds or scum or whatever. The beds were nice though and spacious.

When they made up our room they did not include the shampoo/ soap which was paid.

Service was snail paced.

We were likewise unfortunate to be there during an event which involved screeching karaoke well past ten.

The front desk personnel are inefficient and snobby especially one I remember whose name was Mish. We called to complain about the noise as we were told it would only be til 10. It was past 10 so we expected peace and quiet to our disappointment. I called past 10 to follow up but the reception said it was only 5mins to 10! I went to the front desk to find out it was 10:30! I hope they learn to read the time.

We were booked for 3 nights. The manager was kind enough to offer an upgrade or refund. I opted for the later. I could not bear another sleepless night!


I shoudve followed my gut feel. Especially if it didnt start right! We promptly desposited the full payment we got a confirmation almost a week after. I thought it would end there. But no.

Well its way cheap compared to Shang. But its not a good alternative especially if youve experience way better service at Shang or Abaca.

The only redeeming factor is the manager who was the only gracious person there. Kudos to Ms. Em-em.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blametheweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MactanBeresorts, General Manager at Be Resorts - Mactan, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Blametheweather,

We thank you for taking time for sharing your experience at Be Resorts Mactan.

We are sadden to hear that your stay with us is not to your expectation.

Me and my team will look into the issues that arose during your stay to ensure on your return you will have a memorable stay with us.

Rest assured that the BE Resort Team take pride in providing BEyond the expected service and food for all our guest . We will not rest on our laurels but grow to be better all the time with your suggestions and comments.

In behalf of my team we look forward to welcoming you again.

BEst,

Garry A. Garcia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lapu Lapu hotels

Manila
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Went here a couple weeks ago to attend a friend's wedding in Cebu. We initially booked the garden room with two queen sized beds and were pleasantly surprised to find out we had been upgraded to a sea view room, complete with kitchenette, sofa, and bathtub.

The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable (it looked like a king sized bed) but the sofa looked tired in places. Due to our friend's wedding we got a really good rate (around PHP 4000 per night) but we were told that the actual room rate was about PHP 10,000. I would not have paid the same for the room but the view was definitely something else. Waking up to the sea and the morning sun was an experience you don't have everyday.

Please note that 90% of the clients here are Korean, thus the breakfast buffet serves kimchi as well as other Korean options. Good to know that the hotel meets the standard of quality for other nationalities.

I was generally happy with the service of the attendants. Food is quite pricey but the BE burger is worth trying. It is only good for one person though. Perhaps it would be better if they had cheaper options. But then you are in Mactan, I guess everything is really more expensive.

I enjoyed lounging in the pods by the beach, and just drinking our cold beers and worries away.
Also nice to take a walk along the beach at night. But the shoreline is really quite short, it won't do for long walks holding hands. Ha ha.

Overall good option in Mactan. Make sure you try ZUBUCHON lechon in the Islands Stay hotel nearer to the airport.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starfish2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MactanBeresorts, General Manager at Be Resorts - Mactan, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear starfish2010,


Thank you for taking time for sharing with us about your stay at Be Resorts Mactan.

Your upgrade is our pleasure and we have taken note of your comments . We are continuing in improving our rooms and facilities to ensure that we provide you with a BEyond the Expected experience.

We do enjoy our BE Burger as much as you did :)


We look forward to welcoming you again at BE Resorts Mactan.

BEst,

Garry A. Garcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Be Resorts is one of those places in Mactan you can miss if you drive too fast. The entrance is inconspicuous. The parking area is not that big (later I learned most guests come on tourist buses). The Cobonpue furniture in the lobby are a welcome (literally) delight. Front desk was courteous and efficient.

I really appreciated the Captain Waiter's attention and service. And room service was amazing.

You can't use your room's balcony unless you sign a waiver. It's a small balcony, really, but the view is quite good.

Interior design was minimalistic. Rectangular shapes are everywhere, from the entertainer's platform on the beach to the pools. These are broken by circular designs - lamps in the room, chandelier in the function room (where they served breakfast).

Giant bean bags on the beach! Innovative covered sofa (round, of course). Not the usual stuff one would expect in a resort.

The sad thing, as with a lot of resorts, is that most guests are foreigners - and few of us Filipinos. Looking forward to the day we throw away extractive economic and political institutions that suck our extra income and prevent us from enjoying the pleasures of our own land.

Room Tip: Pick one facing the beach and high enough to get a good view of the sea. At least 4th Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MactanBeresorts, General Manager at Be Resorts - Mactan, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Rene S,

We thank you for sharing your Be Relaxed experience at BE Resorts Mactan.

I will make sure to share with the staff your comments about the excellent service you received during your stay.

Our Bean bags by the beach is one of many new innovations we have at BE Resorts Mactan.

We are glad that you appreciate them . Do expect other new and exciting offerings that we will roll out this 2013 to ensure a BEyond the expected experience to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

BEst,

Garry A. Garcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Basic amenities. Great design. Kenneth Cobonpue interiors (and I love Kenneth's designs).

Very modern and pleasing to the eye. Affordable. At first glance it looks more like an airport hotel than a resort. It is enough though if you plan to move around the city and go back for a lap in the pool and to rest. There's nothing really much to do but hang out with friends for some drinks at the bar or at the lobby restaurant. They serve a good variety at the breakfast buffet. The hotel staff were helpful and accommodating as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luciouslu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MactanBeresorts, General Manager at Be Resorts - Mactan, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Luciouslu,

Thank you for taking time for sharing your stay at Be Resorts Mactan with us.

It was our pleasure to have you . We look forward to welcoming you again with our new services, activities and events this 2013 , that will make your next time in Be Resorts another memorable one.

It was great to have you and we look forward to seeing you again.

BEst,

Garry A. Garcia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

One of my trips to Cebu i need to be on a Budget so i cannot stay at my favorite Shangri-La. so i tried BE Hotel. The hotel looks as if its a corporate hotel, slim design, straight forward, no drama. BUT you can see the collection of Furnitures in the lobby by my favorite designer "Cobunpue" The Lobby is simple until you walk near the terrace to see the Pool, the Garden, and the Blue Sea. its WOW.... The combination of the White Paint, Blue Sea and Glass made the entire View like Hawaii. The Room is huge with a small kitchen with thermos, microwave, etc. so i was able to bring in Lechon CNT, Rice, and some food to have my lunch and dinner in my room thus SAVING money. My buffet breakfast is at the Hotel which is not as great as the neighbor Hotels. But its ok. the room rate is reasonable so dont expect a Shangrila Bfast Buffet. afterall if you look at the room rate, the bfast is actually a big thank you that they still gave you bfast.

The Beach is not something i will suggest. Rocks lots of it. Its like a parking lot for boats. so better stay at the pool.

Room Tip: Choose the Highest Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrawnJoeBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MactanBeresorts, General Manager at Be Resorts - Mactan, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear RussellBirdy,

It brings a big smile to our faces when comments like yours come up in TripAdvisor.

Thank you for taking time for sharing your experience.

We take care of our beach by having some of the local community people work in our beach in keeping it clean .

We have taken note about the rocks but since these are natural to the area . We have to take care to ensure the local eco-system is not disturb.

But reassured that the beach is a balance of nature and guest comfort , Since I personally swim in our beach as a part of my workout for Ironman Cebu , I vouch for it :) .



We look forward to welcoming you again at BE Resorts Mactan.


BEst,

Garry A. Garcia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
1.5 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
2.3 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 42 in Mactan Island
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
2.7 mi away
Cebu White Sands Resort & Spa
Cebu White Sands Resort & Spa
#12 of 42 in Mactan Island
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Be Resorts - Mactan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Be Resorts - Mactan

Property: Be Resorts - Mactan
Address: Punta Engano Road | Mactan, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Be Resorts - Mactan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in our Cebu hotel's stylish accommodations while you simply recharge and get away from it all. Find yourself in a higher state of bliss as you experience Be Resorts Mactan's award-winning and contemporary interior design. Beyond the comfort and elegance of Be Resorts rooms is an extensive list of amenities that make your experience at Be Resorts Mactan a memorable and pleasurable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Be Resorts - Mactan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Be Resorts - Mactan Hotel Lapu Lapu
Microtel Hotel Lapu
Microtel Hotel Mactan
Be Resorts - Mactan Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing