We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First day in Cebu”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pacific Cebu Resort
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Lapu Lapu
Reviewed March 10, 2012

From the hotel, we went straight to Pacific Cebu. The stay was for a discounted rate, so I decided to avail of it. I availed of the van pick up since it was part of the package, and the supposedly air conditioned fan really made me sweat. Good thing the van driver was really nice.

The beds we had were pretty comfortable, though the sliding glass door to the terrace couldn't be locked. Workers entered our room several times to fix it.

We had our lunch at their restaurant, food was pretty decent and their servings were pretty big. Every one was very nice and accommodating - room service, the waiters, the receptionists.

The beach was rocky though, had several cuts on my feet even though I was wearing my flip flops when I went to the water.

Tried to swim in their pool but I eventually found myself full of spots - itchy red spots. So I took a bath real quick - must be the pool water. When the itch was gone I just decided to lounge around and stare at the water.

True, this is such an expensive place to be in - perhaps it's because it's in the middle of nowhere and getting supplies to this place is quite an effort.

We wanted to get a van to get to the city, but was asked to pay 700php. Good thing there was a taxi that had to drop a guest off. Note that in normal circumstances, taxis don't get to this place with the intent of getting passengers. So we were just really lucky.

Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank EYLAH44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 265 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2011

I would strongly advise against this hotel. They have corkage fees for food delivery (1000 pesos) and a whole list of other fees for bringing in outside drinks and food. In fact they make you sign a contract which lists all of their various fees for anything and everything. If you are going to bring something in try to hide it from them. They have a sign there that says that you are not allowed to have a taxi enter there so you have to hire their shuttle. Their massage services are 1600 pesos per hour (250 pesos in the city).

Their free breakfast buffet is very limited and has really only one entree. The coffee tastes like a combination of coffee and watered down hot chocolate.

You have to call literally at least 3 times to get anyone to go to your room for anything or expect them to just forget. The front desk staff surrender by saying, " well we called the housekeeping too and they aren't answering." The whole place is really an experiment for a ruined vacation. You have been warned.

Just imagine a heartless, cheap owner runs the place down to bare necessity. It even seems they don't have many lights there, like it is going bankrupt.

If you are a local there and you have your own vehicle, you can get a discounted rate by calling them. It is kind of isolated and the pools are ok but a little dirty.

Room Tip: Have a local call to book a room instead of published rates. Bring own vehicle to escape for meals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank shadow111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2010

Their staff were the most rude group of people that I have met and the place was so poorly maintained. I would say that chhosing this resort was the worst decision that I have ever had.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cjultseb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2010

Lousy, awful customer service. We booked our rooms for a group outing ahead of time and had some arrangements made with them over the phone, but when we got there they didn't stick to the agreement. We ended up paying more than we bargained for.

The personnel would stare and not even greet you 'good morning'. They weren't helpful with our bags and stuff.

The food was a joke. There were no choices for the free breakfast, and they didn't even have hot chocolate! They served us ordinary cooked ham slices that you could buy in the grocery store.

So not worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lovetohavefuntrippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2009

Book the package from JPN H.I.S , deal was 5 days include 6 boat dive @ 50 k slightly over , As for the rental diving gear concern , its a compulsory for all diver to carry their own accent float tube , well its alway avaiable for rental .... plz take note they charge in U.S $ for all rental . (my personal comment : rip off A.K.A bottakuri )

resort restaurant

(san migal) can beer charge @ 70 peso ,for a simple fried vegetable( yasai itame )150 peso , For whats happaining outside the gate , u,ll be really suprize .

tranport getting out of the resort

heading for the reception seeking for transport would be a bad ideal .... ya ( bottakuri, rip off )
what i had adventure was .. just walk out of the gate , and the security guard will pop the same old question which room u,r from ...... room xxxx and off u go .
right outside the gate u,r most like to see (pata pata A.k.a thailand tuk tuk ) waiting
destination anywere in mactan should be 100 peso maxs for 1 way

my recommand

walking out of the guard house .. guard house is on your left side ...... once out of the gate .. turn left ... and seek for the 1st house on the right . Name :bong bong or his dad eddie ...... what they offer to me , anywhere in mactan , 150 peso for rtn trip ... and they just park 1side and wait for your return .... wonderful dinning place was lead to ,mactan grill wif live band , maribago grill was nice cozy & yatai ... local shop house dinning .
so what i say was ... just check him out ,,, he is just outside the gate . picture attach of pata pata & mr : bong bong himself

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bachineko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2009

We went on an HIS package from Tokyo to Cebu which has a direct flight with Philippine Airlines. It was 90,000yen each for the flight and resort for 8 days, 7 nights. As it was only 4,000yen for all extra nights over the original 4 nights, it was better to stay longer. Of course the entire hotel was full of Japanese and Korean travellers who stayed 4 nights maximum.

Cebu International Airport is on Mactan Island which is just off Cebu Island. The airline itself is not fabulous but it is worth it just to get there in 4.5hrs). The hotel picks you up from the airport and it is a 30-40minute drive to the hotel which is situated quite a long way from Lapu-Lapu, the main city on Mactan. It is therefore a little more expensive to get around from the hotel. To take a resort taxi anywhere on the island cost 450pesos (5 times the normal price) however eventually someone let us know that there was a free shuttle bus to and from a supermarket/mall in lapu-lapu 3 times a day. From there you could either taxi it elsewhere or buy water, mango, have manicure, pedicure, facial etc etc. The staff seemed reluctant to let people know that there was this free shuttle. Return taxi from Lapu-Lapu was 100pesos, or by tuktuk around 50 pesos. Access over a bridge to Cebu is easy from here if you want to check out the mainland. SM City Mall was absolutely enormous and very cheap. Good brands are at a fraction of the Japanese price.

We were told that Pacific Cebu is owned by a Japanese company, hence the overinflated prices for water, food, spa treatments. Our room was the cheapest and although was clean, it did not always have hot water (though this didn't bother us) but the single mattresses were so old that it was more comfortable to sleep on the floor! My boyfriend got a number of bites (bedbugs?) also from his bed. Breakfast was a set menu of (everyday) omlette/fried eggs, roll, toast, pinapple and watermelon and some kind of pork. I don't eat meat but they were happy to give me fish instead of the pork which ended up being freshly cooked and much better than the pork anyway.

The pool was lovely and clean, towels available. Beaches at the Pacific Cebu resort are pretty ok but there is a bit tide change so no water in beach in afternoon. Beaches are all privately owned by hotels so there was no wandering down the coast to find a better beach.Hotels Plantation Bay or Shangri-la looked really nice plus they are a lot closer to the centre of town near Lapu-lapu and to Cebu City. Of course they were also more expensive too. For the price, I think Pacific Cebu was ok, but don't go the cheapest room like us!

Diving places I went to were 3 on Cabilao (1.5hrs from Mactan just off Bohol and fantastic) and we upgraded the package tour snorkelling on the pier to the 'island picnic' snorkel on the islands at Hil Tao for an extra $60. The snorkelling was better at Cabilao but the bbq lunch on the beautiful white sand island was worth it. There is also Moalboal (3hrs from Mactan) and Pangalo Islands near Bohol are also supposed to be really good. At Cabilao we saw huge napoleon fish, sea snake, loads of coloured coral and little bright coloured swarms of fishes. Bad thing was that on surface there is a bit of rubbish so not nice for snorkeling but no prob for diving.

Costs (100yen = 49 pesos, so basically double everything to get yen price)
1.5L water 25 pesos (90pesos at resort)
200g dried mango 90 pesos (290 pesos at resort)
seafood meals at nice restaurants 2ppl 600 pesos
fried rice at hotel 120 pesos
cocktails 100 pesos
beer 40 - 50 pesos
Open Water $320, Advanced $220, one day of 3 dives in Cabilao with gear $220
550 pesos departure tax

From shuttle bus drop-off point in Lapulapu:
- to SM City Mall in Cebu City in Taxi 100 pesos (less for tuktuk and jeepney)
- manicure 70 pesos (350 if hand spa) (350 for just manicure at resort)
- pedicure 80 pesos (400 if foot spa) (400 for just pedicure at resort)
- flipflops 90 pesos

Have fun!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pkarahh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
Thank 五十川 浩
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lapu Lapu
3.2 mi away
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
Costabella Tropical Beach Hotel
#9 of 43 in Mactan Island
706 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bluewater Maribago Beach Resort
4.0 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
5.4 mi away
BE Resort, Mactan
BE Resort, Mactan
#12 of 32 in Lapu Lapu
492 reviews
4.8 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Cebu Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Cebu Resort

Address: Suba Basbas, Lapu Lapu 6015, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mactan Island > Lapu Lapu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Lapu Lapu
#10 Spa Hotel in Lapu Lapu
Price Range: $73 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pacific Cebu Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pacific Cebu Resort - Come and experience a memorable vacation at the "hidden paradise" in Cebu! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Pacific Cebu Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Cebu Hotel Lapu Lapu
Pacific Cebu Lapu
Pacific Cebu Resort Cebu Island/Mactan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing