We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very noisy”
Review of Hotel Le Carmen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Le Carmen
Ranked #66 of 91 Hotels in Cebu City
Reviewed February 14, 2011

The hotel is across the street from a disco that blast music all night long. Don't believe the front desk staff who will tell you they have soundproofed the hotel. The rooms are dingy and run down with no maintenance on them. I had to clean the ac filter which looked like it had not been cleaned since the hotel was built. Look somewhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Larry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 21 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2010

stayed here for couple of nights,1st night given fairly big room with sliding patio doors leading to fake balcony (couple of inches wide) 1295pesos,looked good value until the night time approached what they do not tell you at reception is the hotel is directly across from one of the biggest disco in cebu,music starts at 12pm till 5am,whole room shakes!! asked to be moved,only room available not facing the disco is tiny with no window,tiny bathroom with wc inside the shower enclosure (very strange) more quiet though but just do not like rooms without windows so moved hotel in the morning

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yettyPhilippines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2010

Friendly staff and a spacious room made my stay at the Hotel Le Carmen pleasant. Room is a good size with a balcony view towards Mango Plaza. Hidden away behind the National Book Store in Cebu, this hotel is priced quite nicely for the comfort. Free wifi is available in room. The shower needed a facelift, the sink had a little leak and for some reason, every hotel in the Philippines I stayed at had no true hot water. It was more than warm enough for a shower, but not what I would consider hot. There is no on site restaurant, but eating establishments are nearby. The only drawback was the dance club facing my room from across the parking lot that was pretty loud, even with what seemed to be newly installed soundproffing windows. Overall, it was fine to stay here as a single traveler or as a couple, especially for the budget price.

Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
2  Thank DevHalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2009

best hotel for the money by far and iv been in them all great staff very family feel to it ill be back again me and my girl were thier for 6 weeks on and off

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bond008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2009

Nice newer hotel builded in 2006, friendly staff and a very nice manager, I was really pleased beeing there.
I will stay there again next time Im in Cebu, it was a nice stay with a central but quiet location a little away from the mainroads.
Only thing i missed there was a option to pay with CreditCart, instead i had to walk 200 meter to an ATM to withdraw cash, that didnt make me feel safe when walking solely around in central Fuente with cash in my pocket.
Get a creditcard mashine, thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dane43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2009

my family and i saw the website and the reviews. at first we wondered why there were no pictures of the actual room on the site but let it slide. BIG MISTAKE. upon our arrival, we were puzzled as to why the cab driver stopped. then, we saw that hotel carmen was not actually along the street, it was in a narrow alley-way (eskinita) with a cheap sign painted on the cement wall leading you there.

the room was so small. it's about the size of my bathroom back home, or 1/3 the size of your average classroom. AND THIS WAS THE FAMILY ROOM! mom and dad shared the "double" bed and i was on the "twin" bed but they were practically the same size. space between the beds was like 10 inches apart and you cant really walk around the room without bumping into each other. it's so annoying that they publish it as a family room when it looks like they just stuffed as much furinture as they can (two beds, one closet which was right beside a desk and on top of the desk was the tv which was beside the door. across this cramped mess were the beds, which had a weird smell and made us unable to rest properly. can u picture how small it is?

btw, beside the closet is the wall.on the wall is a very tiny aircon but it was cold so thts ok. but below the aircon on the wall is a tiny door that says "fire escape". totally freaked me out and made me feel like tiny dwarves were gonna come in at the middle of the night. i mean shouldnt the fire escape be outside the rooms? this is like creating an alternate entrance to the room, compromising the safety of the guests.

the bathroom- shower looked ok, the blue tiles were the saving factor. however the toilet seat was yellow and cracked. i dont understand why the people reviewed it as "new" when it looked rotting and old.

the pictures on their site are definitely deceptive. i suggest asking them to email you actual pics of the rooms u wanna book if u plan to stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wonders_never_cease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Le Carmen for 7 nights from March 4th to March 11th for a friend's wedding. I really liked the location. It was within walking distance to great restaurants, grocery stores, and Robinson mall which has tons of cute stores and restaurants also. There are also tons of taxis right outside the hotel if you want to travel farther away. Our room was very clean, had hot water and was air conditioned. It was crazy hot outside!! So it was nice to come back to an air conditioned room. There's a little convenience store in the front of the hotel where I was able to buy water and snacks after a long day out and about. My husband superly liked the free wi-fi internet connection and he especially liked the room price because he's so frugal. I was scared because it only costs 25 dollars per night so I was thinking what the heck kind of place are we gonna stay in that's only 25 dollars a night? I mean I was thinking it would be yucky, but it wasn't at all. We stayed in a room with a King Sized Bed and it had a HUGE bathroom. I loved the decor. It had a picture of Marilyn Monroe in the room and was decorated in a modern style. The staff speaks very good English and were very friendly and helpful to me and my husband. We would definitely stay here again if we come back to Cebu.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SnowfairyX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.5 mi away
Azia Suites
Azia Suites
#20 of 91 in Cebu City
47 reviews
0.0 mi away
NS Royal Pensione
NS Royal Pensione
#71 of 91 in Cebu City
35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palladium Suites
Palladium Suites
#58 of 91 in Cebu City
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cebu R Hotel - Capitol
Cebu R Hotel - Capitol
#23 of 91 in Cebu City
246 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quest Hotel and Conference Center - Cebu
0.1 mi away
Apple Tree Suites Cebu
Apple Tree Suites Cebu
#27 of 91 in Cebu City
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Carmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Carmen

Address: 21 Juana Osmena Street, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 91 Hotels in Cebu City
Price Range: $18 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Mediterranean inspired tropical oasis awaits you. Wrought iron balconies to take in city views in the upscale neighborhood of Fuente Circle in Cebu City, Philippines. Restaurants, malls, and Internet cafes are within walking distance. All rooms are air-conditioned, with hot and cold shower, color television with cable, telephone, and complimentary wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Hotel Le Carmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Carmen Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing