We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“No complimentary bottled water!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mango Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mango Park Hotel
Ranked #32 of 83 Hotels in Cebu City
Manila
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“No complimentary bottled water!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My hubby and I used to stay here whenever we go to Cebu because it is near on his family and relatives who lives in Lahug. This October 31-November 2, to celebrate the All-Saints day we reserved a Suite Room for 3-days. The room is huge with 1-Queen size bed and 1-single bed. I noticed the Dresser fronting the toilet door which gives me the creep. I just don't like the looks of it. Really creepy for me. Also the room is not well lit. Like in a toilet room, only 2 light bulbs are in it, 1 in a shower room and one in the bath-tub area.
Please note for the women who will stay in this hotel, this hotel has only 1 (ONE) Hair-dryer!!! You will have to wait for the guest to checked-out before you can borrow the only 1 hair-dryer..my goodness!! To add up to my dissapointment, there is NO COMPLIMENTARY BOTTLED WATER, we have to buy our own bottled water outside. Their bottled water in the fridge costs P30.00 (P10.00 in the supermarket). Buffet breakfast is okay even though limited food choices.
On the lighter side, the staff are all attentive and nice. The hotel location is also good, near Jollibee and Fuente Osmena circle.
I asked my husband to checked other hotels next time around.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank apple_wine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoPark, Public Relations Manager at Mango Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Hi Mam,

Thank you for the review. We try our best to accommodate your requests and we always listen to suggestions. We are happy to say that as of March this year, we have updated and improved our amenities thanks to you... :)

We have equipped all our rooms with hair dryers and have given complimentary bottled water already as part of our added service. We are now 100% renovated in all our Guest Rooms, Function Rooms, Restaurant and soon our new spacious lobby.

We hope to see you back and reconsider us to experience the new Mango Park Hotel experience. You can get updates by visiting our newly updated website www.mangoparkhotel.com

Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    112
    96
    33
    13
See reviews for
25
54
50
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The first problem was that we were being charged for a Deluxe room but were put into a standard room. The phone in the room didn't work and it took them a day and a half to finally get it working. In the meantime I asked about the room rate and they said there was nothing they could do unless we wanted to pay an additional 400P a night which would have raised the cost of the room to about what a decent hotel room in the USA is.

The second problem was the room was infested with all kinds of ants and bugs that kept getting into our food so we could not eat it even after one night. Again, nothing could be done.

The final and biggest problem was that after we moved to another Hotel we were charged for the days that we were not even in Mango Park and are now working with our bank to get this money returned.

All in all this was one of the worst travel experiences we have ever had, and suffice it to say we will NEVER stay in Mango Park Hotel again, nor will we ever refer friends or family to stay there.

Room Tip: Stay in another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karmausa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoPark, Public Relations Manager at Mango Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for the review and our apologies for the inconvenience that you have encountered.
With regards to your incident, your booking came through a prepaid online Travel site and we have to respect our agreements with them since they are our partners. We cannot cancel a booking without them receiving a Guest cancellation. We did advise them anyway and we hope that everything was settled.

We are sorry for the telephone mishap as technical problems arise from time to time. We have made necessary changes and improvements to this and so far is already working well.

As for the ants / bugs in your food, we have a regular treatment for that maintained.
As we all know, whenever food is left in the open for hours these insects will always find its way. It is important to either store it in the refrigerator or have room service take it out.
Again, we are making ways to diligently have food dished out after eating if permitted by the Guest.

In behalf of the Management and staff, our sincere apologies. We cannot change what has happened. Rest assured we are committed to serve you. We are also happy to say that we have done and completed our renovation of all our Guests Rooms, Meeting Rooms and we have a now F&B outlet called #46 Mango Avenue which serves local and international culinary dishes.

If in any case your are visiting Cebu again, please email us and we will be happy to take care of your stay and let you experience our new look and better service.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cebu City hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Manila
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Over the years I have stayed many times in this hotel. It is nicely located between Ayala terraces and Mango square, both a 5 min ride. The rooms all have a nice bathroom with nice spatious shower cabin with glass sides, but with a poor shower head. The standard rooms may look a bit poor, with no mini bar, just a tray with snacks. Beds have nice hard matrasses.

The breakfast buffet has a nice offering for both western style breakfasts or asian, and i consider it good for a hotel in this range.

The rooftop pool I always enjoy, which most of the times is without people so you can swim all alone.

The staff have consistently over the years given an apathetic impression, which has started to charm me. Don't get me wrong, everything you ask for is being looked after and they will try to be helpfull, but there's just no spirit. But then again, this is also not a 4-5 star hotel.

Room Tip: Standard double rooms are located at the back of the hotel so you will be staring at a brick wall wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mellow G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

since i met me hubby who lives in cebu every time i visit him i always ask him for us to stay an overnight at Mango Park Hotel coz i love the place clean and quiet, i love the pool and the foods. ..was surprised last August 18, 2012 when i saw their rooms renovated carpeted floor, the bathroom and the breakfast buffet yummy!! the price rate good enough.. 'till next time Mango Park.. keep it up!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArchiLene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boracay island, not bora
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Location is the greatest asset of this hotel. It's very near to commercial areas. Buffet breakfast is great also. The room is okay while the staff service is great. If you want a simple hotel, then Mango Park Hotel is the best.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alimatok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoPark, Public Relations Manager at Mango Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for the great review... We try our best to being your home in the heart of Cebu.
We are happy to say that we have completed our Renovation with the hotel's new look, classy and modern while maintaining the service. We have also re opened our new F&B outlet, #46 Mango Avenue which serves even more better food for you to enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

nice rooms and friendly staffs.. breakfast buffet is ok. swimming pool is clean but i think it is very small :( the hotel has great location since it is near ayala center. overall, my friends and i enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melovesvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacloban, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Have stayed there several times over the years, as well as other mid-range (and budget) hotels; also top-end hotels. I'm an experienced traveler, familiar with Philippines standards. Mango Park is a good choice for quality at a modest price. It is not the Parklane or Marriott, but it is not Eddies or one of the nearby pension houses, either. In May '12, I definitely felt that the current costs are straining the "quality" and "modest price" issue. One more price increase, and Mango will be overpriced for its offerings. Hopefully, additional upgrades will be undertaken, or the prices dropped. The Lim's need to go one way or another as it has now reached the price at which one starts thinking for a few dollars more, one could be staying at a really nicer place.

Room Tip: Negotiate a better rate, or get a discount coupon, or whatever... don't pay the full requested p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MangoPark, Director of Sales at Mango Park Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Hi Sir,

As one of our regular Guests, thank you for the review. It took us awhile to respond to you because we listen to constructive suggestions in order to serve you better. At the same time, we also want to improve our service and facilities and be at par with the competition while maintaining a decent price.

We are happy to tell you that we finished our renovation and complete facelift of the hotel as an upgrade while maintaining an affordable price. We are also launching special promos and deals every month for you to take advantage of and updated our website as well.

We hope to see you on your next visit here to experience the New Mango Park Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.5 mi away
Escario Central Hotel
Escario Central Hotel
#18 of 83 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Maxwell Hotel
The Maxwell Hotel
#28 of 83 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
0.5 mi away
Capitol Central Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Stella
Hotel Stella
#55 of 83 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premiere Citi Suites
Premiere Citi Suites
#31 of 83 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cebu R Hotel - Capitol
Cebu R Hotel - Capitol
#17 of 83 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 stars 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Park Hotel

Property: Mango Park Hotel
Address: General Maxilom Avenue, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 83 Hotels in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mango Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Park Hotel is your home in the heart of Cebu. A boutique concept hotel located in uptown Cebu. We are a six-story establishment with 48 rooms, a minimalist setting with a twist of the Old Cebu design, intricately made wooden cabinets with modern amenities. Strategically located along General Maxilom Avenue, it is ideal for Businessmen and Leisure guests alike. It is within easy reach from different Business/Commercial Centers, Malls and is only 10 minutes away to the Seaports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, ETB, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Mango Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mango Park
Mango Park Cebu City
Mango Park Hotel Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing