We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Practical hotel: Basic, clean, good location & good service”
Review of Mango Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mango Park Hotel
Ranked #76 of 92 Hotels in Cebu City
Reviewed December 7, 2011

I didn'wallow what to expect being a westerner but I'd recommend this place.
The hotel, rooms and sheets are a bit dated or old looking but everything was clean and
The staff very helpful.
It's a 200 peso ride from the airport, the buffet breakfast very ample w/ a variety of hot food.
There's a Thai massage place right across the street that was very good 100 pesos for an hour!
And a laundry service drop off as right across the street as well ( make sure they don't lose anything - i got my jeans back but they forgot to send them back)
You could find a huge variety of food at the Ayala mall about a 10 min walk or a 70 peso cab ride.
Also liked that they let us linger and use our computers at breakfast or go up to the cute pool area and lounge there. Lastly I took someone else's advice and asked for a back room- definitely quiet but a bit dark. For two women traveling we felt safe in this hotel and taking cabs and seeing sights.

Room Tip: Back rooms quiet but dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellin_johanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

142 - 148 of 331 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for over a month with my fiance. We went from standard rooms to upgraded and deluxe. Standard rooms you get what you pay for. Still, it is a deal and a good one for the money. Upgraded and deluxe rooms are quaint and adequate. The staff is very polite, and everyone from room service to lobby and kitchen staff are very nice and accommodating. They do need a new "dinner chef" because there-in lies the only problem. Dinner is a waste of peso's, and dining out would be highly suggested. Complimentary breakfast was always different, unpredictable, and a nice way to start our day. My Fiance and I will always remember Mango Park because it was where we began our life together and we have no regrets about anything.

Room Tip: If you are in love with the person you are traveling with, any room will do....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GuadalupeBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Sign says not to drink the water but how do you brush your teeth? I got sick to my stomach staying at this hotel.

The a/c is loud, sounds like rain. Staff is so-so, not going out of their way to be nice. Food at the restaurant is mediocre at best. Location is close to XXX shops, nude girls, etc.

It is pretty cheap hotel at about $37/night. If you are looking for cheap hotel, this might be your place. Just be forwarned of the items I listed above.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

This is such a late review but hopefully it helps.

Me and my husband stayed in this hotel when we visited cebu on 2009.
I was really interested on how it looks like in the website..very colorful! so I book for 1 night thru online it was smooth reservation clerk was helpful. The entire hotel looks really clean!

Decide to get their standard room of 1,700 including breakfast. When we arrive the building was so pretty so green but when we finally settle in our room its very small. two single bed and it has like a dark feeling.

The bed is okay not that comfy. What I like was their small pool in the roof top.. its very serene overlooking the city of Cebu..so I enjoyed my time swimming!
We didn't ate in the rest since its a bit pricey so we decided to go to ayala and had diner in gerry's grill superb! love the food!
breakfast was buffet the following morning typical american and Filipino breakfast.

Over all our stay was just okay. Maybe we will come back but stayed in a different room this time.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mrs_fisherCdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Centrally located, rooms are clean and spacious. Not very trendy, but for the value of this hotel you can't ask for more. Not a resort or a hotel with lots of amenities but a good place to spend the night.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gwen7983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Mango Park Hotel is centrally located.
friendly staff make your stay great.
resutauranten need an upgrade, and more on the menu.
Swimming pool is nicely located with views overlooking Cebu.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trondolav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

For us this hotel was only going to be a place to stop over and rest our heads after a long journey, so our expectations were never that high. However, we stayed here twice and were greeted warmly both times by the door and reception staff. 

We booked through a third party website (Agoda) and got a standard aircon room for the same price as advertised in the hotel, which was 1750PP. The standard rooms are a reasonable size, have a powerful hot shower, satellite TV, and everything we needed for a short stay. We were even upgraded to a suite one night which was a lot bigger and included a bath and fridge. The decor in both rooms was quite dated I'd say. We slept well both nights, and found the rooms to be dark and quiet which isn't always easy to come across in Asia!

Nearby is the Ayala Centre which has a great selection of shops and restaurants, as well as a cinema. Due to our late arrival we weren't very adventurous and just went there in the evenings. It's about a 10min walk or 50PP ride in a metered taxi (approximate). There are also loads of Jeepneys that do that route. We'd recommend Lemongrass in The Terrace area which serves authentic and reasonably priced Thai and Vietnamese food.

The downsides to Mango Park are that the aircon units in both rooms were very loud, so we had to turn them off at night and when watching TV, so it's almost not worth having them. We also found the breakfast a bit on the stingy side. It's a buffet and runs from 6:30-10am. We got down there at 9am and all of the eggs and meat dishes were gone. We asked for some more scrambled egg which they did, but nothing else was topped up so guests that came down after us had little choice. They also have a slightly bizarre 'No sharing' policy. From what I can gather, if one of you only wants a little bit to eat, you can't get a whole plate of food and then let someone else finish it for you? If the amount of food consumed is a problem, maybe they should have a small breakfast menu that is cooked to order? This would also eliminate food being wasted if it wasn't eaten at the buffet.

Other than that I think the hotel is pleasant enough, and represents value for money considering it's location. I'd stay here again if we were in Cebu for a day or two.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Grassy_Lemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
1.4 mi away
Metro Park Hotel
Metro Park Hotel
#78 of 92 in Cebu City
56 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vacation Hotel Cebu
Vacation Hotel Cebu
#48 of 92 in Cebu City
47 reviews
0.2 mi away
ABC Hotel & Homes
ABC Hotel & Homes
#7 of 92 in Cebu City
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Azia Suites
Azia Suites
#19 of 92 in Cebu City
50 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premiere Citi Suites
Premiere Citi Suites
#45 of 92 in Cebu City
149 reviews
0.7 mi away
Diamond Suites & Residences
Diamond Suites & Residences
#30 of 92 in Cebu City
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Park Hotel

Address: General Maxilom Avenue, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 92 Hotels in Cebu City
Price Range: $23 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mango Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Park Hotel is your home in the heart of Cebu. A boutique concept hotel located in uptown Cebu. We are a six-story establishment with 48 rooms, a minimalist setting with a twist of the Old Cebu design, intricately made wooden cabinets with modern amenities. Strategically located along General Maxilom Avenue, it is ideal for Businessmen and Leisure guests alike. It is within easy reach from different Business/Commercial Centers, Malls and is only 10 minutes away to the Seaports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Mango Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mango Park
Mango Park Cebu City
Mango Park Hotel Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing