We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“cheap variety of the crown chain of hotels” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crown Regency Residences

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crown Regency Residences
Ranked #76 of 86 Hotels in Cebu City
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“cheap variety of the crown chain of hotels”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

formerly the metropolis hotel in remotely located guadalupe cebu, until crown bought this old property and constructed additional bldgs to it. a budget hotel usually for large low budget conventions, staff was very poor. checked-in rm 336 listed 5pax, when their bed is only good for 4pax, meaning 2 double-beds only, had to request for a folding addtl bed when in fact room space is still large enough for king or queen size one. 1/2 or 3/4 HP window type aircon for a 12X14 ft room was definitely 'never cooled', had to run it all-day all-night for five-days on highcool in order to not-so- cool us 5pax in the room. wifi sucks, one can see its there however never able to connect despite continuous follow-up with front desk. if i was a tourist and looking for comfortable place in cebu, definitely booked somewhere else, plenty of alternative new nice hotels like tune, quest, diamond, harolds, elizabeth, golden peak .... w/in the city of cebu.

Room Tip: if left with no other choice or is forced to check-in here, choose rooms on the new bulding (front p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vaughnvince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    14
    15
    20
    12
See reviews for
14
11
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Caloocan City
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

The hotel looks really old. The air-conditioning system doesn't even work! When I try to voice it to the personnel of the hotel they told us to wait for the air-con to warm up; to think that it was already hours and it seems like were just having an electric fan in the room. In the end we just have to suffer. Our comfort wasn't really appreciated. Don't book in this hotel!

Room Tip: I wasn't contented with the surface. It's very substandard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jun Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cebu City hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

For this trip we had to be in this part of Cebu City called "Guadalupe." In search for a hotel, we stumbled on Crown Regency Residences which is part of a local national chain with a famous cousin in another part of Cebu City called Crown Regency and Towers referred to in their website as "The tallest structure outside Metro Manila, the 23-storey, 22,000-square meter Fuente 1 and its equally arresting twin the 38- storey, 36,000- square meter Fuente Tower 2."

This property, the Crown Regency Residences, therefore, pales in comparison. The owners of the chain better take a look at this soonest otherwise it will be always be a liability in terms of their reputation in the hotels and hospitality business.

The room I got at the 2nd floor was even near the pub and the noise will get to be irritating especially if you are catching up on some sleep.

Room Tip: The room I got at the 2nd floor was near the pub and the noise will get to be irritating especially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBaldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

Will never gi there again. Booked trough expedia. DONT. The management took no action at all. Very dissappointet

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heinz I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
132 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

Started off on the wrong foot by giving me a standard room instead of the booked superior room! I realised the mistake, and in fairness they corrected it post haste, however the only real difference was in size of room. The good points - the staff are very friendly and helpful, the breakfast is good (a la carte) and the value is good. The location is not the best but given the price of taxis it is quite acceptable. The negatives - the rooms are clean but old and very tired, quite bare and lacking in any character, the bathrooms even worse, clean but full of broken tiles and and loose fittings. The hotel felt like a student hostel, apparently it caters for student groups who have no conception of other guests sleeping at 6.30am, and even more surprising is that they are accomodated in the superior rooms. There is also a live band playing every night in the 50's bar on the 2nd floor until 2am although after midnight maybe the doors are closed as I had no problem sleeping. In summary, a basic 3 star hotel in need of some attention.

Room Tip: Avoid the main building where the students sleep - there are 3 buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank philter1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEBU
Level Contributor
137 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2011

That was the worst hotel stay of my life. We stayed on one of their barren room and I’m embarrassed to recommend this to other travellers. The room was like a four walled box, no art, no decorations-nothing. It was boring and even the position of the aircon was a bit odd-right beside the single bed. They also had the worst room service. We initially requested for a bucket of ice and it never arrived. So we called again after 30 minutes then it arrived after 30 minutes.I had a very bad sleep that night. The next day, we were shocked that no buffet breakfast is set up. We were told just to order on the menu but that was not what we paid for in Expedia. The reservation we had was a rip off and I will never stay here again. The only plus on this property is that it’s close to CNT Lechon and Fooda saversmart. The location of this property is pretty far from the airport so if you’re planning to stay here for a connecting flight please don’t bother.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOVEME2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

It was by accident we stayed in this hotel. I booked online, it was not clear, I thought it was Crown Regency Towers in Osmena Blvd., it was a day before the trip when I realized my mistake but I thought it will be alright, the lobby looked appealing, homey in fact, but the rooms!!! ok, they were big, but B-A-R-E! They made me think of oversized prison cells, the TV does not work, the airconditioning is poor, the bathroom has a shower that does not work, and....there were rat poops on the bed, added to the musty odor which made me wonder how long since it was last used or even cleaned. They agreed to let us transfer to another room, with a working shower, but the bathroom smelled like dead rat! lighting's poor in that room, made me feel like living in a haunted house...we paid in full for 3 nights upon check in, but stayed for 1 night, we moved to another hotel bec this one's just too depressing. Seeing that it's also manage by the Crown Regency Towers in Osmena Blvd, I wont try that one also. it was half the price of Imperial Palace in Mactan, but we willingly paid for the remaining 2 nights in Imperial Palace, because the place and services are a hundred folds better!

Room Tip: Never choose this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank smarttravellerVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cebu City
1.0 mi away
Crown Regency Hotel & Towers
Crown Regency Hotel & Towers
#64 of 86 in Cebu City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mango Park Hotel
Mango Park Hotel
#37 of 86 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pacific Pensionne
Pacific Pensionne
#61 of 86 in Cebu City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cebu Parklane International Hotel
5.2 mi away
Crown Regency Suites Mactan
Crown Regency Suites Mactan
#25 of 41 in Mactan Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.2 mi away
Diamond Suites & Residences
Diamond Suites & Residences
#33 of 86 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Regency Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Regency Residences

Property: Crown Regency Residences
Address: V Rama Avenue, Guadalupe, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown Regency Residences 3*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Crown Regency Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Regency Residences Hotel Cebu City
Regency Cebu City
Crown Regency Residences Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing