We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel in a beautiful island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Ranked #2 of 91 Hotels in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2009

this hotel was just amazing and exceeding all our expectations. we stayed here in may 2009 for a weekend get away and it proved to be an excellent choice: staff was very helpful, location was perfect, rooms were nice and spacious and the view of the whole town was a real plus. We also organized a couple of day tours to the waterfalls and diving sites through the hotel at the last minute and everything worked out perfectly. one thing that we really appreciated the most was the flexibility of the hotel staff. we really felt that they were going out of their way to make our star nice and comfortable. if you are lucky to go there, do try the bar on the top floor and the swimming pool! =)

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank viguela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,054 - 1,060 of 1,291 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2009

We stayed in the Marco Polo for 4 nights. The hotel is located in the foothills well away from the seaside and also a 30 minute ride by taxi from the historic center of Cebu city. The hotel is a decent location to stay and the rooms offer nice views over the distant sea and Mactan island. The hotel is far from new and this shows in the rooms and the public areas. The art work in the lobby is of an abominable quality and is unashamedly kitsch rather unworthy of a 4-star hotel. In the rooms you will find a quaint note in the services guide informing the guests of the fact that they are not allowed to carry any food or beverage items into the hotel. It says that people returning from outside may be checked by hotel security for food and if found a nominal charge for the checking will be levied. This mainly reflects in my opinion a very skewed opinion on what customer care should be like. I hadn't ever come across something like that in any other hotel anywhere. The food is decent but without wow-factor. The best restaurant is on the roof toop in Blue bar where you are treated to great sweeping views of the city and the Philippine sea when you go for dinner. The staff at this restaurant is also extremely attentive more so than the lobby staff which can be a bit slow and surly. The breakfast area suffers from the same condition as the rest of the hotel : everything looks very dated. The range of the breakfast buffet is decent but not impressive. The rooms are basic and in need of refubishment. All in all a decent place to stay but could be much better.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2009

this is a wonderful hotel, excellent service, especially if you choose for the lounge formula (lounge = top floor, 24th). Highly recommended, we'll certainly come back here.
One little negative remark though: the Marco Polo group acquired this hotel recently, and some renovation still needs to be done, e.g. on the pool.
Do take the breakfast formula: it's one of the best breakfasts we ever enjoyed!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paulbavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2009

I stayed at the Marco Polo in Cebu for two nights as part of a tour group. The room was very luxurious, comfortable, and clean. The breakfast buffet was outstanding! So many options of delicious food! Water pressure in the bathroom was good and they supplied robes and slippers. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank groovywilma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2009

The deluxe/superior rooms are spacious and clean. Rooms on the "seaside view" don't differ much with the "mountain view" because you won't appreciate the view of the sea at a far. Besides, who would want to be charged a thousand peso or so for the view you cannot appreciate. The 32" Sony Bravia LCD TV is definitely a focal point in the room.

The services of the receptionists and concierge are excellent. Ask anything and they will courteously and promptly attend to your request.

Tariff rates are roughly high (ranges from 11,000.00 to 15,000.00 a night).

All in all, this hotel is above average. You will deserve every penny you pay for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ibaloi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2009

My last stay was a solo one a little over two weeks long in October 2008. I've also been to this hotel a few times previously, once with my 13 yr old son, and other times just passing through solo.
What this hotel offers over the other hotels in the area is an outdoor haven free from internal solicitation and curious external onlookers. The staff respected our privacy. The pool has lounge chairs in the water and out, and is large enough to swim in without feeling crowded. The food was best outside at the pool restaurant as well, compared to inside offerings and outside menus at other hotels in the area. There was a decent selection of drinks, and prices are very reasonable.
You do need to aggressively get someone's attention to be served if at the pool area, but I tend to consider that a plus and would trade that for privacy any day. The food choices remain the same each trip but the ingredients tend to change slightly in each dish. (If you like consistency that could be a drag.)
The rooms are always clean, and service is usually good. Timing for housekeeping is hit or miss unless you work something out or keep a local schedule (mine was graveyard shift so I slept through many opportunities to get my room cleaned and have supplies replenished.)

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Woodang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2009

Me and my wife had to attend an ex officemates reunion in Cebu. And the main hotel for the reunion was marco polo plaza hotel.

I read blogs about this hotel. The reviews were good but it said something about asking for a room with an ocean view. So I asked my travel agent to get this room type.

I also scouted for cheap fares going to Cebu. I found Zest Air a new airline with cheap fares. So I booked on line.

I wasa ver happy with this week end trip.

The room I had was ocean view and I took pictures ogf that view. Including the hotel rooms- clean rooms quite big, with LCD TV where I hooked up my ipod movies. The buffet at lunch and breakfast was superb.

The ZEST air plane was an airbus.. looks new. The plane was not full-I heard it was a new airline and only recently flies to cebu. And fares were really cheap at USD 60 round trip. wow!!! I took pictures of the sky view inside the plane

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BongVallejos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cebu City
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 91 in Cebu City
3,374 reviews
1.3 mi away
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino
1.6 mi away
Quest Hotel and Conference Center - Cebu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cebu City Marriott Hotel
Cebu City Marriott Hotel
#5 of 91 in Cebu City
1,228 reviews
8.6 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
8.6 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Plaza Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Plaza Cebu

Address: Cebu Veterans Drive | Nivel Hills, Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cebu City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
#2 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Family Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range: $60 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Polo Plaza Cebu 4*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is nestled at the prestigious Nivel Hills providing a spectacular view of Cebu City and Mactan Island. Be it business or vacation, stay at Cebu City's Finest hotel, the Marco Polo Plaza Cebu. Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is a 24 storey hotel with 329 well-appointed guest rooms including suites with fine amenities, 24 hour security and safety measures and free Wi-Fi internet. A trip to the "Queen City of the South" in the Philippines - Cebu, is a culinary journey. Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is hailed as a dining destination of Cebu City. Dubbed as the "Best Buffet in Cebu City", Cafe Marco attracts diners to feast on Filipino, Continental and Western cuisine. It is awarded as Top 5 Restaurant in the Philippines by the prestigious Miele Guide in 2013. Blu Bar & Grill at the penthouse is an ultimate dining experience in Cebu City. From a thousand feet above sea level, it offers a panoramic view of Cebu City and Mactan Island. The glamorous Philippine Tattler awards it as one of Philippines' Best Restaurants for the 5th time. Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is a choice Cebu venue for meetings, conferences and celebrations. Its lavish Grand Ballroom and function rooms can accommodate up to 2,500 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Marco Polo Plaza Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Plaza Hotel Cebu City
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing