We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel But With Few Hiccups”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Ranked #2 of 91 Hotels in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Marco Polo, even if old, has maintained its place as a 4-star hotel in terms of amenities and appearance. Rooms are big with comfortable beds, with nice view. Food is always good. The swimming pool is cozy and kid-friendly. They have a spa with reasonable prices. Live music, as this hotel is known for, is still its main attraction. There is live music by the pool and at the lounge. There is also a roofdeck bar with a very good view.

Now for the hiccups. First, they will charge you corkage fee of at least P500 when you bring in cooked food. We are a group of 17, 10 adults and 7 young kids. Our flight was delayed by 4 hours, and we thought of buying from KFC on our way to the hotel since we were all hungry just want to settle in the rooms and relax as soon as we can. We have stayed in many other different hotels locally and abroad, but we haven't experienced yet a hotel charging you for bringing in cooked food. So we were surprised by this policy, especially that they did not disclose this in their website or any other write-ups for their hotel. You will only be given this notice after checking-in. After some discussions, the manager allowed us to bring in the KFC food without charge on the condition that this will only be for this time.

Next issue, we paid for 7 Grand Deluxe Rooms through Agoda. Upon check-in we were given 5 Grand Deluxe Rooms only and 2 Deluxe. I know that these 2 are Deluxe only since it specifically states in their website that Grand Deluxe Rooms are from 19th to 21st floors, and Deluxe are from 8th to 18th. The 2 Deluxe initially given to us were on the 11th. With exhaustion creeping after the long-delayed flight, we just accepted the rooms without argue. When we were settling in the rooms, we have to request for one of the Deluxe Rooms to be transferred to the same floor as the other Grand Deluxe Rooms were since this will be occupied by kids. This was immediately granted by the Front Desk after we made our request. However, maybe a couple of hours after settling in, we realized that we can actually transfer the other Deluxe Room left with us since we actually paid for Grand Deluxe and not just Deluxe. So again we requested for the last one Deluxe Room to be transferred to an upper floor (Grand Deluxe floors), but this was denied with a reason that they have no more rooms left for these floors for that first night. We did not want to ruin our reunion/vacation and so we didn't bother to argue again with whoever was in the front desk, we just let it go. We just asked that they transfer this last Deluxe Room to a Grand Deluxe the next day, and this they granted. Transferring this room the next day was another story. Check out time was 12nn, but they were only able to transfer the last Deluxe Room around 4pm, and only after several follow-ups. I cannot understand this since, 1) We reserved and fully paid 7 Grand Deluxe Rooms 3 weeks in advance, and 2) I saw some rooms in my floor (21st floor) without guests during the first night, and on the 2nd day I even saw some guests checking out (they were carrying their bags out of the rooms).

Upon check-out, we were charged for an extra bed in one of the rooms for 2 nights which were not given . The Front Desk repeatedly asked me if there were a 3rd person in the room which may be the reason why we're charged an extra bed. I also repeatedly answered that that room only has 2 adults (a couple) with a 3-year old daughter. After several calls to housekeeping, the extra bed charge was cancelled.

It's really difficult to travel with a large group, and it will be more stressful if the hotel would give you more issues to think about. I frequently go to Cebu, and I want to try out many different hotels there. I just hope Marco Polo Cebu would re-evaluate some of their operational policies. I would commend some of the hotel staff though. Some, especially with their room service and housekeeping, really takes service to heart. Front Desk is more of a "needing improvement".

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sedtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear ShaleeD,

Greetings from Marco Polo Plaza Cebu!

First of all, thank you for taking time to write a review of your recent stay at our hotel property. We seriously value feedback from our guests, for it aids us in maintaining the Marco Polo brand of hospitality.

At this point, may we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that the experience at the check-in/check-out counter has brought you and the whole group. These operational issues that transpired have been looked into and have been addressed. We earnestly do our best to provide consistent and outstanding guest experience, both in products and facilities, as well as services.

Lastly, we thank you for commending our Room Service and Housekeeping Associates as well as the special mention on consistent good food, comfortable rooms, beautiful view, cozy and kid-friendly pool , live music entertainment and reasonable prices.

It is our hope to see you again in the future and we wish you the best.

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

889 - 895 of 1,291 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed in the hotel as a change from the usual mactan stay. The rooms are ok, a bit old but clean. If youve stayed in any marco polo property you will definitely find yourself at home here. The rooms are the same but although clean I felt need updating specially the bathrooms. Ou bathroom sink had seen better days and its funny that they seem to have just updated evrything except for the bathroom.
There was some construction going on but the nosie was tolerable. The surprise was their breakfast. Much better than most of the breakfast buffetsin cebu weve tried and that includes shangrila , plantation bay, and crimson. There was just a wider selection and everything was just done well. eggs were cooked properly, there was even roast duck for the congee and they had fresh real fruit juice incuded in the buffet.
The real gem of marco polo is their staff though. I am absolutely grateful to them for helping us during our panic moment when I left my cellphone on the taxi that broght us from the airport. They really made an effort to track him down and look for the phone. They were also very kind to my toddler who is just learning how to eat by herself so she made quite a mess and they were just generally very helpful thru out.
We spent some time hanging out in the pool and their staff there are very accommodating and solicitous as well.
Its quite far from the usual places that are visited in the city but we didnt mind at all.
overall a very good experience.

Room Tip: choose a room over the 12th floor to avoid the loud construction happening below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank art19b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear art19b ,

Thank you for writing a review about your stay at our hotel property particularly mentioning your fondness of the Café Marco breakfast buffet, room cleanliness, and most especially on our level of customer service that you have graciously commended. We are humbled and glad to be able to maintain the Marco Polo brand of customer service we call, “the Marco Polo Way”.

We take note and value your inputs on how we can improve the areas that need improvement. The room renovation project is on-going and we look forward to its completion for it brings our guests an added premium hotel experience.

We apologize for the inconvenience that the on-going construction next to our hotel has caused on your stay with us. This new development is part of the Mixed-Use facility that is going to be enjoyed by future guests of Marco Polo Plaza Cebu. Jogging tracks, a Zen garden, rock-climbing walls and a lot more luxurious facilities are going to be available for our guests.

We look forward to have you and the rest of the family stay with us on your next trip to Cebu!

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 6 nights. We love the lobby, the security, the elevator ( you have to have a room key to get to your floor - an added security), the service, and the housekeeping. However, I wish they inform us about telephone charges. The last hotel we stayed in, local calls are free. In this hotel, they will charge you 40 pesos and 100
or more if you are calling to a cellphone. It was quite a surprise to us to see the charges since no papers explaining so. The bed is a rock. It was big but uncomfortable. The room is spacious. We were in the newly renovated room so it is a plus. I really have great respect for their housekeepers who turned our messy room to a spotless haven. Kudos to them! The security will make you feel safe but not dog-metal-detector intrusive kinda thing (which is apparently becoming common in Cebu). The pool towels are free to use which is nice.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lester321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear Lester321,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay in our hotel especially for giving us the highest score on room, cleanliness, service and value. We are also pleased to know of your appreciation of the security measures that we are implementing to make sure that all of you our guests are not only enjoying your stay in our hotel, but also in a safe environment.

On the other hand, may we apologize that you have not been informed of the charges on telephone use as you checked -in. We have already addressed this operational aspect. Though, this has always been supported with the provision of the Guest Service Directory on each room which shows the corresponding information.

We appreciate your feedback for the other aspects that need improvement.

We hope to see you again on your next Cebu visit.

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

i stay their for 3nights, while my bussiness trip to cebu. this hotel is great, staff are cooperative and friendly, just i think only problem is with location, its quite far from city. rest all great. value for money

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rahul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Rahul J,

Thank you for choosing to stay in our hotel on your recent business trip to Cebu. Thank you too for writing a quick review here on Tripadvisor, calling us a “great hotel…good staff.” It is our pleasure to extend to you our guests the essence of hospitality and customer service, the Marco Polo Way.

We hope to see you again on your future trips to Cebu City.

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We had a hard time picking a hotel to stay at for our Cebu trip but now I know we made the right choice. We arrived at around 9am, as hoteliers, we know that it's challenging to accommodate early check-in requests. We really appreciate it that they allow us to check-in at 1pm, 1 hour earlier than standard check in time. Currently staying at room 918, great mountain view that I don't even bother to close the curtain at night. The hotel is a little out of the way but that's exactly what we are looking for. Nice quiet place without the noisy traffic. The hotel rooms' furnitures and design are outdated, bathroom is a little small but very comfortable, well maintained and is very clean, which is very important. I will rather stay in a clean old room than a dirty trendy room. The staffs from the reception desk (Catherine), concierge (forgot the name) and restaurants (Paul - Cafe Marco and El Viento) are amazing! They were very friendly, professional, always smiling and always ready to assist. Cafe Marco's buffet breakfast is one of the best I had with a reasonable price. It will be good though if the rooms and bathroom will be refurbished but its just a minor issue for us. Is even better if the bathroom can have seperate shower for safety reasons. You can find a lot of grand, modern hotel but its very hard to find a hotel with staffs that will take care of you and treat you with a SINCERE attitude. Yes! As a hotelier we know what is sincere and what is acting (been there, done that ) Will definitely come back if we come to visit Cebu again!

P.S. Think twice before you decide to rent a car! The GPS is horrible and we almost die because of it!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ASC1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear ASC2121,

How wonderful it is to hear a “Two Thumbs-Up” remark from a fellow hotelier.
It warms the heart!

We thank you for sharing your wonderful experience in our property through writing this review. It provides valuable insights to future guests. At the same time, it inspires us, the Marco Polo Plaza Cebu Team to continue to be outstanding both in facilities and customer service.

We are excited to see you again on that next trip to Cebu. With the on-going room renovations in good shape, we are able to let you and all our valued guests stay here at the Marco Polo with a new experience, topped with that ‘sincere’ customer service performance that you have noticed and appreciated.

Sincerely,
Hans Hauri
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We booked online their weekender promo to relax and just chill after a very busy week at work. I would say that their weekend promo is a steal since we get to enjoy their hotel at a long period of time. We were able to avail perks such as late checkout, a free pizza and free pair of flip flop.

As for their rooms, it's a bit old as compared to other hotels that I've been to. You can also hear people passing by/talking even when you're inside the room.

But what their interior lacks was well compensated by the value of their service. Generally, service was good and people were always greeting you and smiling.

As for their gym, it was a bit old and cramped. They only had 2 thread mills available. The attendant was attentive though and suggested other exercise machines to use while we are waiting to use the thread mill.

Also, when staying at their pool, the sun lounger is a bit scarce, we had to sit and leave our things on their restaurant table since there were no more sun lounger available. The pool was okay. But I would also commend the staff on the pool. He was friendly and he helped us out with our needs.

As for their breakfast, food were delicious. Coffee was not served instantly though unlike other hotels. We still have to ask coffee from their staff. We ate at around 8.30am and they say that breakfast will be served until 10.30 am. But what we noticed was that their were already empty plates on display and we had to ask for pancakes since we noticed no one is cooking it and busy doing other things.

Aside from this small glitches, it was still a great steal for me. The weekender promo price was already affordable for me so we couldn't ask for more. The hotel was also near to other malls and IT park and so is a plus factor.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bedazzle101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear bedazzle101,

Greetings from Marco Polo Plaza Cebu!

Thank you for spending a weekend with us through the Weekender Package. We are delighted that you have enjoyed it and wrote a review. It will be additional information to our future guests, that there are a number of special room packages that are available for a specific need, schedule and preference.

We also appreciate your feedback for the other aspects that need improvement. We are currently renovating our rooms and facilities and the project is going well and on schedule. Some of the newly renovated rooms are already operational and we look forward for the project completion soon.

Thank you too for commending our associates’ level of attention to guest's needs and for calling Marco Polo Plaza Cebu a “weekend getaway within the city.”

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We booked 4 rooms here in April 2012. Location is overlooking Cebu City but away from the city centre. The building itself is showing signs of age. The rooms were clean and comfortable but rather tired. Hotel staffs are helpful and hospitable. The food was great. My kids loved the swimming pool. There is a free shuttle bus going to the city centre. The hotel service is good. Overall, we had a satisfactory stay at Marco Polo Cebu but would rather stay in another hotel in our next visit to Cebu.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dabawenyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear dabawenyo,

Warm greetings to you and your family from Marco Polo Plaza Cebu!

Thank you for staying with us in August of last year with your family. Thank you too for writing a satisfactory review of our hotel, sharing information on great food, helpful and hospitable staff and how the children loved the swimming pool.

In the meantime, may we share with you our excitement of the on-going room renovation in our hotel which is in good shape and on-schedule. Some floors with the newly renovated rooms are already in operation and a lot of culinary excitement continues at our signature restaurant, Café Marco.

We hope to see you again on your next trip to Cebu.

Sincerely,
Hans Hauri
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cebu City
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 91 in Cebu City
3,374 reviews
1.3 mi away
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino
1.6 mi away
Quest Hotel and Conference Center - Cebu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cebu City Marriott Hotel
Cebu City Marriott Hotel
#5 of 91 in Cebu City
1,228 reviews
8.6 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
8.6 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Plaza Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Plaza Cebu

Address: Cebu Veterans Drive | Nivel Hills, Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
#2 Business Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Family Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range: $61 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Polo Plaza Cebu 4*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is nestled at the prestigious Nivel Hills providing a spectacular view of Cebu City and Mactan Island. Be it business or vacation, stay at Cebu City's Finest hotel, the Marco Polo Plaza Cebu. Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is a 24 storey hotel with 329 well-appointed guest rooms including suites with fine amenities, 24 hour security and safety measures and free Wi-Fi internet. A trip to the "Queen City of the South" in the Philippines - Cebu, is a culinary journey. Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is hailed as a dining destination of Cebu City. Dubbed as the "Best Buffet in Cebu City", Cafe Marco attracts diners to feast on Filipino, Continental and Western cuisine. It is awarded as Top 5 Restaurant in the Philippines by the prestigious Miele Guide in 2013. Blu Bar & Grill at the penthouse is an ultimate dining experience in Cebu City. From a thousand feet above sea level, it offers a panoramic view of Cebu City and Mactan Island. The glamorous Philippine Tattler awards it as one of Philippines' Best Restaurants for the 5th time. Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is a choice Cebu venue for meetings, conferences and celebrations. Its lavish Grand Ballroom and function rooms can accommodate up to 2,500 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Marco Polo Plaza Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Plaza Hotel Cebu City
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing