We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 6 nights. We love the lobby, the security, the elevator ( you have to have a room key to get to your floor - an added security), the service, and the housekeeping. However, I wish they inform us about telephone charges. The last hotel we stayed in, local calls are free. In this hotel, they will charge you 40 pesos and 100
or more if you are calling to a cellphone. It was quite a surprise to us to see the charges since no papers explaining so. The bed is a rock. It was big but uncomfortable. The room is spacious. We were in the newly renovated room so it is a plus. I really have great respect for their housekeepers who turned our messy room to a spotless haven. Kudos to them! The security will make you feel safe but not dog-metal-detector intrusive kinda thing (which is apparently becoming common in Cebu). The pool towels are free to use which is nice.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lester321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear Lester321,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay in our hotel especially for giving us the highest score on room, cleanliness, service and value. We are also pleased to know of your appreciation of the security measures that we are implementing to make sure that all of you our guests are not only enjoying your stay in our hotel, but also in a safe environment.

On the other hand, may we apologize that you have not been informed of the charges on telephone use as you checked -in. We have already addressed this operational aspect. Though, this has always been supported with the provision of the Guest Service Directory on each room which shows the corresponding information.

We appreciate your feedback for the other aspects that need improvement.

We hope to see you again on your next Cebu visit.

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

991 - 997 of 1,399 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

i stay their for 3nights, while my bussiness trip to cebu. this hotel is great, staff are cooperative and friendly, just i think only problem is with location, its quite far from city. rest all great. value for money

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rahul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear Rahul J,

Thank you for choosing to stay in our hotel on your recent business trip to Cebu. Thank you too for writing a quick review here on Tripadvisor, calling us a “great hotel…good staff.” It is our pleasure to extend to you our guests the essence of hospitality and customer service, the Marco Polo Way.

We hope to see you again on your future trips to Cebu City.

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We had a hard time picking a hotel to stay at for our Cebu trip but now I know we made the right choice. We arrived at around 9am, as hoteliers, we know that it's challenging to accommodate early check-in requests. We really appreciate it that they allow us to check-in at 1pm, 1 hour earlier than standard check in time. Currently staying at room 918, great mountain view that I don't even bother to close the curtain at night. The hotel is a little out of the way but that's exactly what we are looking for. Nice quiet place without the noisy traffic. The hotel rooms' furnitures and design are outdated, bathroom is a little small but very comfortable, well maintained and is very clean, which is very important. I will rather stay in a clean old room than a dirty trendy room. The staffs from the reception desk (Catherine), concierge (forgot the name) and restaurants (Paul - Cafe Marco and El Viento) are amazing! They were very friendly, professional, always smiling and always ready to assist. Cafe Marco's buffet breakfast is one of the best I had with a reasonable price. It will be good though if the rooms and bathroom will be refurbished but its just a minor issue for us. Is even better if the bathroom can have seperate shower for safety reasons. You can find a lot of grand, modern hotel but its very hard to find a hotel with staffs that will take care of you and treat you with a SINCERE attitude. Yes! As a hotelier we know what is sincere and what is acting (been there, done that ) Will definitely come back if we come to visit Cebu again!

P.S. Think twice before you decide to rent a car! The GPS is horrible and we almost die because of it!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ASC1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear ASC2121,

How wonderful it is to hear a “Two Thumbs-Up” remark from a fellow hotelier.
It warms the heart!

We thank you for sharing your wonderful experience in our property through writing this review. It provides valuable insights to future guests. At the same time, it inspires us, the Marco Polo Plaza Cebu Team to continue to be outstanding both in facilities and customer service.

We are excited to see you again on that next trip to Cebu. With the on-going room renovations in good shape, we are able to let you and all our valued guests stay here at the Marco Polo with a new experience, topped with that ‘sincere’ customer service performance that you have noticed and appreciated.

Sincerely,
Hans Hauri
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We booked online their weekender promo to relax and just chill after a very busy week at work. I would say that their weekend promo is a steal since we get to enjoy their hotel at a long period of time. We were able to avail perks such as late checkout, a free pizza and free pair of flip flop.

As for their rooms, it's a bit old as compared to other hotels that I've been to. You can also hear people passing by/talking even when you're inside the room.

But what their interior lacks was well compensated by the value of their service. Generally, service was good and people were always greeting you and smiling.

As for their gym, it was a bit old and cramped. They only had 2 thread mills available. The attendant was attentive though and suggested other exercise machines to use while we are waiting to use the thread mill.

Also, when staying at their pool, the sun lounger is a bit scarce, we had to sit and leave our things on their restaurant table since there were no more sun lounger available. The pool was okay. But I would also commend the staff on the pool. He was friendly and he helped us out with our needs.

As for their breakfast, food were delicious. Coffee was not served instantly though unlike other hotels. We still have to ask coffee from their staff. We ate at around 8.30am and they say that breakfast will be served until 10.30 am. But what we noticed was that their were already empty plates on display and we had to ask for pancakes since we noticed no one is cooking it and busy doing other things.

Aside from this small glitches, it was still a great steal for me. The weekender promo price was already affordable for me so we couldn't ask for more. The hotel was also near to other malls and IT park and so is a plus factor.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bedazzle101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear bedazzle101,

Greetings from Marco Polo Plaza Cebu!

Thank you for spending a weekend with us through the Weekender Package. We are delighted that you have enjoyed it and wrote a review. It will be additional information to our future guests, that there are a number of special room packages that are available for a specific need, schedule and preference.

We also appreciate your feedback for the other aspects that need improvement. We are currently renovating our rooms and facilities and the project is going well and on schedule. Some of the newly renovated rooms are already operational and we look forward for the project completion soon.

Thank you too for commending our associates’ level of attention to guest's needs and for calling Marco Polo Plaza Cebu a “weekend getaway within the city.”

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We booked 4 rooms here in April 2012. Location is overlooking Cebu City but away from the city centre. The building itself is showing signs of age. The rooms were clean and comfortable but rather tired. Hotel staffs are helpful and hospitable. The food was great. My kids loved the swimming pool. There is a free shuttle bus going to the city centre. The hotel service is good. Overall, we had a satisfactory stay at Marco Polo Cebu but would rather stay in another hotel in our next visit to Cebu.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dabawenyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear dabawenyo,

Warm greetings to you and your family from Marco Polo Plaza Cebu!

Thank you for staying with us in August of last year with your family. Thank you too for writing a satisfactory review of our hotel, sharing information on great food, helpful and hospitable staff and how the children loved the swimming pool.

In the meantime, may we share with you our excitement of the on-going room renovation in our hotel which is in good shape and on-schedule. Some floors with the newly renovated rooms are already in operation and a lot of culinary excitement continues at our signature restaurant, Café Marco.

We hope to see you again on your next trip to Cebu.

Sincerely,
Hans Hauri
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I have stayed at the Marco Polo Plaza Hotel three times during my travel in the Philippines, and I have always been very pleased with the accommodation and service. Online booking is straight-forward and for same-day room booking, the reservation department contacted me by email and phone for confirmation. The interior and exterior of the hotel are very well kept and beautiful. The rooms are spacious and very well maintained with good amenities - wifi, snacks, good cable selection, etc. The pool is very relaxing, a decent size, with great drink and food service. The cafe serves very good food and I especially enjoyed the morning buffet. The quality of room and service relative to price, is excellent for this hotel compared to some of the other higher-end hotels in the area. Overall, I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Jeff M,

Our warm greetings to you and the whole family all the way to California!

Thank you for making Marco Polo Plaza your home in Cebu, Philippines. Our appreciation goes to you too for writing this review of your stay at our hotel. Thank you for particularly emphasizing price value vis-à-vis the overall stay experience. Your observations and comments are helpful to would-be guests who are planning to come to Cebu. Your definite recommendation of our hotel means a lot to us.

We look forward to see you again on your next Cebu trip!

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed in the hotel on June 23 and then again on June 27. We experienced excellent service from the time we stepped out of our taxi to when we stepped into another the next day when we checked out. Check-in was fast. Our bags, on our request, were taken directly to our Continental Club room, as we decided to proceed to lunch at the hotel coffee shop. The buffet was excellent. I had steamed blue crabs, steak, HongKong style noodle soup and avocado in cream for dessert.

Our room was well-appointed, as comfortable as one would expect from a 5-star hotel. There was none of the scratched furniture that another reviewer reported. Perhaps it was because we were in a Continental Club room?

The pool was large, pretty and clean. The lifeguards were strict about swimmers taking a shower before entering the pool. That was impressive.

An area of improvement in the pool area would be for the waiters to check the needs of the pool users occasionally. It was quite hard to call them. One has to tell the Lifeguard to call the waiter and wait for a while for the latter to arrive. The Lifeguard refused to take my order and relay it to the waiter.

The Continental Club offered a good range of cocktail food in the evening. It was sumptuous enough for me to skip dinner. Service was even better in the lounge, particular of the butler, Paul Mark Pilapil, who anticipated my needs.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Edzar,

Greetings from Marco Polo Plaza Cebu!

Thank you for your appreciation of our brand of hospitality. Writing a detailed review about our property is a clear sign of your fondness and satisfaction of our products and services. Thank you too for the specific mentions of our Associates at the Continental Club, the pool and the suggestions on the poolside service. We take note on comments on the positive and comments on areas for improvement. We are delighted that we have made an impact on your visit to Cebu. At the same time, we are humbled and even more inspired to serve all of you our guests according to our distinct “Marco Polo Way” brand of hospitality.

For highly recommending us to future guests, thank you very much. We look forward to have you again stay with us on your next Cebu visit.

Sincerely,
Hans Hauri
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cebu City
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 92 in Cebu City
3,637 reviews
1.3 mi away
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino
1.6 mi away
Quest Hotel and Conference Center - Cebu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
8.6 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
8.6 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Plaza Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Plaza Cebu

Address: Cebu Veterans Drive | Nivel Hills, Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
#2 Business Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Family Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range: $85 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marco Polo Plaza Cebu 3*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is nestled at the prestigious Nivel Hills providing a spectacular view of Cebu City and Mactan Island. Be it business or vacation, stay at Cebu City's Finest hotel, the Marco Polo Plaza Cebu. Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is a 24 storey hotel with 329 well-appointed guest rooms including suites with fine amenities, 24 hour security and safety measures and free Wi-Fi internet. A trip to the "Queen City of the South" in the Philippines - Cebu, is a culinary journey. Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is hailed as a dining destination of Cebu City. Dubbed as the "Best Buffet in Cebu City", Cafe Marco attracts diners to feast on Filipino, Continental and Western cuisine. It is awarded as Top 5 Restaurant in the Philippines by the prestigious Miele Guide in 2013. Blu Bar & Grill at the penthouse is an ultimate dining experience in Cebu City. From a thousand feet above sea level, it offers a panoramic view of Cebu City and Mactan Island. The glamorous Philippine Tattler awards it as one of Philippines' Best Restaurants for the 5th time. Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is a choice Cebu venue for meetings, conferences and celebrations. Its lavish Grand Ballroom and function rooms can accommodate up to 2,500 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Marco Polo Plaza Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Plaza Hotel Cebu City
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing