We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms are shockingly ordinary for the price... Good thing there's Continental Club”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Ranked #2 of 90 Hotels in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Rooms are shockingly ordinary for the price... Good thing there's Continental Club”
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

The room I got is the suite room. Very old and ordinary. It should be priced around P1800 not P9000. It's a good thing that Marco Polo's service is beautiful! Plus the Continental Club is amazing! Private breakfast buffet, free am and pm snacks, unlimited cocktails at night. This is the reason why I think I might come back again. However, they should really do a trade check on other hotels in the Philippines that have way better rooms and priced so low. Check out my other reviews if you want to see other hotels that gives you more value for the money you are paying.
Try their Spa. It's heavenly. I will definitely come back for the massage.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonGaby V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Onsie V,

We thank you for writing a review about your stay with us. We appreciate your observations on the facilities and services at the Continental Club, being able to access it for free. We are also happy to note that you have very much enjoyed and recommended our Wellness Zone Spa.

In the last quarter of 2012, we started renovating our guest rooms in selected floors. We are excited and looking forward to be able to welcoming you and all our guests here at the prestige hotel of Cebu City especially after these improvements are completed.

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    461
    98
    28
    17
See reviews for
321
306
89
275
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guri, South Korea
Level 6 Contributor
1,749 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 377 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I'm very satisfied staying there. there is good service, pool, room especially delicous food. I have a meal every evening, and very satisfied. If you stay in Cebu with good food, I'll recommand there without hesitation. very satisfied hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HanJuyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear CYC779,

Greetings to you in South Korea!

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay with us and for recommending our hotel especially to your fellow Koreans.

Kamsamnida,

Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Rizal, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

A classy hotel away from the crowd as it is situated on a mountain with a stunning view of the Cebu City landscape. Rooms are of comfy size and the toilet amenities were good. Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights and we will always have great memories with it. Sumptuous breakfast were served and coffee times at the poolside during evenings have live acoustic singers to entertain the guest.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Ed h,

Warm greetings to you and the whole family!

Thank you for writing a great review about your stay with us. We love knowing the fact that families too stay here with us and enjoy together our delicious international buffet, amenities and entertainment.

We are glad to be part of the great memories that you and the whole family have, only here at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu.

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My partner and I had a delay in our flight on the way to Cebu so we had less time than anticipated, we decided to stay in the hotel for our entire 20 hours we had in the city. This decision was made after we had dinner on the night of our arrival - because we had such a great experience.

We ate out by the pool, from the À la carte menu we chose some dishes from the sizzling/bbq menu and were so happy with our choices. The food was hot, fresh and well priced not to mention delicious, and our accompanying cocktails were also great. There was live music and the lovely atmosphere by the pool.

We had breakfast in the lobby lounge - I had an amazing serving of macadamia encrusted french toast with caramelised banana which was a treat.

Then for lunch we ordered À la carte again and were very pleased with the food. I normally don't eat in hotels if given a choice, but this was a great gastronomic experience.

Overall the hotel room was nice too, with good views and very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Seem to have good view from all angles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddv73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear ddv73,

Thank you for deciding to stay with us on that 20-hour layover in Cebu.

We take pride in serving great food here at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu and for that, we are grateful that you have appreciated and enjoyed very much that culinary treat. Beginning from that Sizzling Dinner at El Viento to the breakfast the next morning at the Lobby Lounge, and specially mentioning our nightly live music entertainment that naturally speaks of Cebu’s love of music.

It is our passion to offer to you our guests, the Marco Polo Way of hospitality in all aspects.

Cheers!

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
byahera
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I always stay here when I'm not staying at my parents house. I grew up in Cebu and have always heard things about this hotel. This used to be the former Cebu Plaza Hotel. A few changes here and there with regards to the hotel structure but the location remains excellent. But I'm disappointed about the new condo that's being built fronting the hotel swimming pool therefore blocking a partial view of the city from the El Viento pool bar. Staff service remains at par with other hotel establishments. Over all, this hotel is one the best value for money in Cebu City.

Room Tip: Go for the city view rooms (room number that ends with an odd number, ie, 2113) otherwise the mounta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babyspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Babyspring,

Thank you for taking time to share a review of your stay with us. Yes, we used to be Cebu Plaza Hotel back in the days, and therefore part of many people’s great memories. We also take pride of our unique and picturesque location, that all of you our guests appreciate.

The new condominiums, “Marco Polo Residences” which are currently in construction are part of the mixed-use property of Federalland, Inc. Upon completion, the whole area will provide vibrant amenities such as Zen gardens and jogging tracks, some of which will be available to be accessed and enjoyed by hotel guests.

Particularly, thank you for your useful tips especially with regards to “the value for money” that other guests on business trips or vacation will be able to enjoy as they stay with us.

Sincerely,
Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed at this hotel over New Year for afew nights. The fireworks, food and general NYE event is one that should be experienced by all!

After checking in we were informed of our free ungrade ..thankyou very much! I must say that although the hotel is lovely the rooms are awaiting their upgrade which is set to occur over the coming year apprently.

The staff at the hotel are amazing, nothing is a trouble and they all speak excellent english! We have dined pool side for wood fire pizza, up at the Blu room on the roof top and in the main restaurant . I can honestly say they are all 5 star quality and worth a re-visit. Not at all over priced either which is great.

So if you ever get a chance to stay here nye for $40AUD (or there abouts) it is a must. AWesome Buffet dinner then up to he balcony for more entertainment and drinks with a fireworks display right over your head that is world class!!

Room Tip: Ocean view room is best, try to get around the 19th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Sarah P,

How inspiring it is to note that you have immensely enjoyed celebrating New Year’s Eve in Cebu with us!

Greatly appreciated are the details that you have written on this review for the benefit of other future guests who may want to visit the Philippines, especially Cebu for New Year Celebrations. We take pride in maintaining 5-Star standards.

Cheers to a great 2013 and we hope to see you and more friends from the Land Down-Under!

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

I always stay at marco polo every december. My experience each year gets better and better. The staff welcomes you with warm greetings and they are very attentive to your every need. It feels like our second home. It has been a tradition to take photos beside their gigantic christmas tree. Decorations for the holidays vary every year. Food is great and rooms are clean. The lounge at the 28th floor was amazing! The views were spectacular and very exclusive. You can drink all you can and snack on different sandwiches and assorted cocktails. (But you have to be a member to access this area) the pool area turns into an entertainment haven when local bands play during night time. They have one of the best international buffets i've tried and the price is cheaper compared to manila. Its always a great experience at Marco polo cebu =)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babychinita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Babychinita,

It is heartwarming to know that you choose to spend the most wonderful season of the year with us, your Christmas home year after year. We are delighted to know that you appreciate our preparations; from food, to decors to the outstanding hospitality that is inherent in each of our associates. We are even more inspired to be the best, the Marco Polo Way.

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us. We look forward to see you again this year and more years to come.

Sincerely,
Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cebu City
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 90 in Cebu City
3,222 reviews
1.3 mi away
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino
1.6 mi away
Quest Hotel and Conference Center - Cebu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cebu City Marriott Hotel
Cebu City Marriott Hotel
#6 of 90 in Cebu City
1,167 reviews
8.6 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
1.6 mi away
Harolds Hotel
Harolds Hotel
#3 of 90 in Cebu City
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Plaza Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Plaza Cebu

Property: Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Address: Cebu Veterans Drive | Nivel Hills, Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cebu City
#2 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Family Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Polo Plaza Cebu 4*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is nestled at the prestigious Nivel Hills providing a spectacular view of Cebu City and Mactan Island. Be it business or vacation, stay at Cebu City's Finest hotel, the Marco Polo Plaza Cebu. Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is a 24 storey hotel with 329 well-appointed guest rooms including suites with fine amenities, 24 hour security and safety measures and free Wi-Fi internet. A trip to the "Queen City of the South" in the Philippines - Cebu, is a culinary journey. Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is hailed as a dining destination of Cebu City. Dubbed as the "Best Buffet in Cebu City", Cafe Marco attracts diners to feast on Filipino, Continental and Western cuisine. It is awarded as Top 5 Restaurant in the Philippines by the prestigious Miele Guide in 2013. Blu Bar & Grill at the penthouse is an ultimate dining experience in Cebu City. From a thousand feet above sea level, it offers a panoramic view of Cebu City and Mactan Island. The glamorous Philippine Tattler awards it as one of Philippines' Best Restaurants for the 5th time. Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is a choice Cebu venue for meetings, conferences and celebrations. Its lavish Grand Ballroom and function rooms can accommodate up to 2,500 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Prestigia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Marco Polo Plaza Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Plaza Hotel Cebu City
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing