We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My go-to business hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marco Polo Plaza Cebu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Ranked #4 of 86 Hotels in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
byahera
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My go-to business hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I always stay here when I'm not staying at my parents house. I grew up in Cebu and have always heard things about this hotel. This used to be the former Cebu Plaza Hotel. A few changes here and there with regards to the hotel structure but the location remains excellent. But I'm disappointed about the new condo that's being built fronting the hotel swimming pool therefore blocking a partial view of the city from the El Viento pool bar. Staff service remains at par with other hotel establishments. Over all, this hotel is one the best value for money in Cebu City.

Room Tip: Go for the city view rooms (room number that ends with an odd number, ie, 2113) otherwise the mounta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank babyspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Babyspring,

Thank you for taking time to share a review of your stay with us. Yes, we used to be Cebu Plaza Hotel back in the days, and therefore part of many people’s great memories. We also take pride of our unique and picturesque location, that all of you our guests appreciate.

The new condominiums, “Marco Polo Residences” which are currently in construction are part of the mixed-use property of Federalland, Inc. Upon completion, the whole area will provide vibrant amenities such as Zen gardens and jogging tracks, some of which will be available to be accessed and enjoyed by hotel guests.

Particularly, thank you for your useful tips especially with regards to “the value for money” that other guests on business trips or vacation will be able to enjoy as they stay with us.

Sincerely,
Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    386
    80
    25
    17
See reviews for
245
256
73
227
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed at this hotel over New Year for afew nights. The fireworks, food and general NYE event is one that should be experienced by all!

After checking in we were informed of our free ungrade ..thankyou very much! I must say that although the hotel is lovely the rooms are awaiting their upgrade which is set to occur over the coming year apprently.

The staff at the hotel are amazing, nothing is a trouble and they all speak excellent english! We have dined pool side for wood fire pizza, up at the Blu room on the roof top and in the main restaurant . I can honestly say they are all 5 star quality and worth a re-visit. Not at all over priced either which is great.

So if you ever get a chance to stay here nye for $40AUD (or there abouts) it is a must. AWesome Buffet dinner then up to he balcony for more entertainment and drinks with a fireworks display right over your head that is world class!!

Room Tip: Ocean view room is best, try to get around the 19th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Sarah P,

How inspiring it is to note that you have immensely enjoyed celebrating New Year’s Eve in Cebu with us!

Greatly appreciated are the details that you have written on this review for the benefit of other future guests who may want to visit the Philippines, especially Cebu for New Year Celebrations. We take pride in maintaining 5-Star standards.

Cheers to a great 2013 and we hope to see you and more friends from the Land Down-Under!

Sincerely,

Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

I always stay at marco polo every december. My experience each year gets better and better. The staff welcomes you with warm greetings and they are very attentive to your every need. It feels like our second home. It has been a tradition to take photos beside their gigantic christmas tree. Decorations for the holidays vary every year. Food is great and rooms are clean. The lounge at the 28th floor was amazing! The views were spectacular and very exclusive. You can drink all you can and snack on different sandwiches and assorted cocktails. (But you have to be a member to access this area) the pool area turns into an entertainment haven when local bands play during night time. They have one of the best international buffets i've tried and the price is cheaper compared to manila. Its always a great experience at Marco polo cebu =)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Babychinita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnNivelHills, General Manager at Marco Polo Plaza Cebu, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Babychinita,

It is heartwarming to know that you choose to spend the most wonderful season of the year with us, your Christmas home year after year. We are delighted to know that you appreciate our preparations; from food, to decors to the outstanding hospitality that is inherent in each of our associates. We are even more inspired to be the best, the Marco Polo Way.

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us. We look forward to see you again this year and more years to come.

Sincerely,
Hans Hauri
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The adjacent construction work was not obtrusive and gave no cause for complaint even when by the pool. The location was away from city noise and traffic. Cebu city was a severe disappointment and the only reason to return would be to stay at the Marco Polo Plaza. The room on the 23rd was as good as you would expect from a hotel of this category, complimented by massive king size bed with orthopaedic mattress and pillows. In-room facilities were very good, as was room service. My overriding enjoyment of this hotel was the quality of the staff. I must single out Robert behind the pool bar and the waiter Lloyd; friendly and attentive without being overly so. I would recommend a stay at this hotel for couples and families.

Room Tip: We stayed on high floor and had a great hill-side view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEBU
Level Contributor
137 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

The old Cebu Plaza Hotel-now Marco Polo Plaza hotel which sits on top of Nivel Hills. My entire family checked-in around the 1st week of December and they liked it. The bed is very comfortable, the kids love the view of the city and they love the kiddie pool too. The room is spacious with 2 double beds. I'm surprised with the bravia LCD tv inside. Bathroom looks average but the vanity kit was gorgeous I brought some home. The only thing blocking the full view of the city from the pool is the Marco Polo condominium which is under construction. One last thing-i love the free coaster ride to the malls-it comes free if you want to go shopping or explore the city.

Room Tip: Request for a city view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOVEME2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

My first stay at the Marco Polo in Cebu.
Was an excellent location as it away from the hustle & bustle of the city.
Room was very spacious, nicely furnished & staff were very helpful.
Only negative is for the #2 hotel in Cebu I was expecting the bathroom to be more up to date. It was cramped & had obviously not been refurbished in quite sometime.
Some positives however is the immaculate lobby & lounge area. As it's Christmas staff were dressed up as nutcrackers & ballerinas, the giant Christmas tree is gorgeous. The breakfast buffet was on of the best I've had ever, although it is quite pricey if not include in your room charge.
All in all I had a great time & would possibly stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

First let me start with the small negative part... There is construction next door, right by the pool. The only time we heard the noise is when we were outside. That's it.

Now about the hotel. It is beautiful inside. Specially this time of the year with their Christmas decorations. Everyone was accommodating, helpful and eager to assist you in a moments notice.
The hotel has 3 restaurants. We tried every one. The Blu bar and grill on the roof top was just absolutely romantic and the food was wonderful. El Viento, the outside bar and grill is a great place right next to the pool area where you dont need to worry about changing your clothes to grab a quick lunch or dinner. Cafe Marco, has a reputation to have one of the best buffet in the city and that statement is true. A large assortment of Asian food, just yummy. When you go for breakfast ask to sit at Joy Romeo's section, she is wonderful.
Any where you need to go is only a taxi ride away. Not too close to anything but easy to get to.

Room Tip: It never hurts to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cebu City
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 86 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,722 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quest Cebu
Quest Cebu
#8 of 86 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,523 reviews
1.3 mi away
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
#12 of 86 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
8.9 mi away
Moevenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Plaza Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Plaza Cebu

Property: Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Address: Cebu Veterans Drive | Nivel Hills, Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Family Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Polo Plaza Cebu 4*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is nestled at the prestigious Nivel Hills providing a spectacular view of Cebu City and Mactan Island. Be it business or vacation, stay at Cebu City's Finest hotel, the Marco Polo Plaza Cebu. Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is a 24 storey hotel with 329 well-appointed guest rooms including suites with fine amenities, 24 hour security and safety measures and free Wi-Fi internet. A trip to the "Queen City of the South" in the Philippines - Cebu, is a culinary journey. Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is hailed as a dining destination of Cebu City. Dubbed as the "Best Buffet in Cebu City", Cafe Marco attracts diners to feast on Filipino, Continental and Western cuisine. It is awarded as Top 5 Restaurant in the Philippines by the prestigious Miele Guide in 2013. Blu Bar & Grill is an ultimate dining experience in Cebu City. From a thousand feet above sea level, it offers a panoramic view of Cebu City and Mactan Island. The glamorous Philippine Tattler awards it as one of Philippines' Best Restaurants. Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is a choice Cebu venue for meetings, conferences and celebrations. Its lavish Grand Ballroom and function rooms can accommodate up to 2,500 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Jetsetter so you can book your Marco Polo Plaza Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Plaza Hotel Cebu City
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing