We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most helpfull outstanding staff ever !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Ranked #2 of 87 Hotels in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The most helpfull outstanding staff ever !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

I've stayed many times at this hotel for short breaks. I can't understand why its ranked number 2 , in my opinion it should be number 1. Firstly the view from this hotel at night is amazing, and secondly their pool is so cool and breezy on those stifling hot days because it sits up on the hillside. I had a small mis-understanding with my on-line booking, but the front desk staff soon had it all sorted out, and I ended up with 2 mornings breakfast free of charge ! I know that most of the top end hotels in Cebu have very well mannered staff, but this hotel will bend over backwards to serve you with the girls having the most incredible smiles I have ever seen in my life. Go and give yourself a treat, even if its only for a couple of nights to experience the quality of this brilliant hotel.

Room Tip: There are 2 views from the rooms, mountain view and city view, both are fine, but I'd recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonnyivy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    440
    92
    27
    17
See reviews for
297
292
82
251
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

If you are in Cebu for business, then this hotel is okay to stay in.
However, if you intend to go to Cebu and want to go around the city OR stay in the beach, this isn't the place for you.
Hotel is located in Nivel Hills, and a drive to the city will be around 15 minutes, at least. When traffic is heavy, drive can go on for over half an hour, give or take.
Breakfast is superb. Massage is also great, and not that expensive!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandnshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed here for a class reunion. Paid 3300 pesos for a night which include a 500 peso voucher . A bit far away from shopping and leisure as its up in the hills but taxi is cheap. The room is clean and comfortable and quite big. Breakfast is not bad but a bit expensive at 750 pesos. Staff is friendly . Wifi was free and working well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Solotraveller888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Pro:
Great View of the city, good facilities, outlets. very comfortable bed and pillows. Food is excellent except for the price. rooms are affordable.

Cons:
food is a bit expensive. staff a bit arrogant. wifi/lan sometimes fails.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenn_Diestro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oahu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We spent part of our honeymoon in Cebu because it was a part of the Philippines that we had never traveled to. As far as hotels go, the facilities are top notch. Great views of the entire city, one of the most dramatic views from the glass enclosed elevator. I loved the decor, especially the touches of Filipino culture that you could see in the artwork displayed on the 2nd floor. And the pool is probably one of the nicest I've seen, if not a little cold.

The staff was prompt, courteous, and solicitous, but they could be better trained on what is included in each hotel package. For example, we purchased the Honeymoon package, which was to include wine and canapes upon arrival (they weren't there, we had to ask for them and they were delivered the next day). Staff was also supposed to have informed each other that instead of availing of their car service to take us to the airport they were supposed to take us to the seaport because we were going to Bohol. This was something we had arranged with reservations as part of our package. Staff at the spa also didn't know we were supposed to have a discount as part of our package, they had to call the front desk for confirmation.

Also, their shuttle service has strange timing. The last shuttle for the mall leaves at 7pm, but the last pickup time at the mall is 7:20pm. They need to do a better job of informing their guests when the last pickup time is. If we had known that, we would have gone earlier. As it was we had to take a cab back to the hotel. And the last pickup time is ridiculous. They either need to make the last shuttle run at 6pm or have the final pickup time at the mall happen at 9pm when the mall closes.

Wi-fi is not included in the room, they make you pay a deposit which seems very inconvenient for business purposes. Also, we bought a tour, but for the amount of money we paid we just got a car and a driver. The driver took us to the sites and they just told us to look around. No tour, no guide, just "look and take pictures". One of the stops he just drove by! Way overpriced.

The food was excellent, especially at the buffet and the romantic champagne breakfast for two. I have never had a chef come up and explain what he cooked that day. Overall, it was a very nice hotel but it wasn't great. I would stay there again only because I've stayed there once, but I wasn't overly impressed for the amount of money I paid.

P.S. The Marco Polo is building residences, but you don't hear the construction at all. However EVERY SINGLE ONE of their ads has only Caucasians (blond hair, blue eyes,etc.) depicted as living there. Really? Like Filipinos and other Asians can't afford that lifestyle or aren't good enough for it? Totally rubbed me the wrong way.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RNGKLAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Clean and spacious. The staff have a ready smile and are quick to help. The rooms are tastefully furnished and look and feel new and clean. They have free comfort room amenities that are absent in other hotels. The breakfast buffet was awesome with a huge array of choices. The view of course of the city is one of a kind. Definitely still my best hotel in that part of Cebu.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nate04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford Kent
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Terrific Views Great Food Of all origins Courteous staff relaxing atmosphere

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogerwilson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cebu City
2.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,039 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quest Cebu
Quest Cebu
#8 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,667 reviews
1.3 mi away
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Mactan Island Cebu
1.6 mi away
Harolds Hotel
Harolds Hotel
#3 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
8.6 mi away
Shangri-La's Mactan Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Plaza Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Plaza Cebu

Property: Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Address: Cebu Veterans Drive | Nivel Hills, Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cebu City
#2 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Family Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Polo Plaza Cebu 4*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is nestled at the prestigious Nivel Hills providing a spectacular view of Cebu City and Mactan Island. Be it business or vacation, stay at Cebu City's Finest hotel, the Marco Polo Plaza Cebu. Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is a 24 storey hotel with 329 well-appointed guest rooms including suites with fine amenities, 24 hour security and safety measures and free Wi-Fi internet. A trip to the "Queen City of the South" in the Philippines - Cebu, is a culinary journey. Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is hailed as a dining destination of Cebu City. Dubbed as the "Best Buffet in Cebu City", Cafe Marco attracts diners to feast on Filipino, Continental and Western cuisine. It is awarded as Top 5 Restaurant in the Philippines by the prestigious Miele Guide in 2013. Blu Bar & Grill is an ultimate dining experience in Cebu City. From a thousand feet above sea level, it offers a panoramic view of Cebu City and Mactan Island. The glamorous Philippine Tattler awards it as one of Philippines' Best Restaurants. Marco Polo Plaza Cebu is a choice Cebu venue for meetings, conferences and celebrations. Its lavish Grand Ballroom and function rooms can accommodate up to 2,500 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Marco Polo Plaza Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Plaza Hotel Cebu City
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing