We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but basic” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Diplomat Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Diplomat Hotel
Ranked #68 of 86 Hotels in Cebu City
Newquay, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good value but basic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here whilst sheltering for a few days from Typhoon Bopha - in all honesty for the price it's ok, very basic but liveable - the staff are very friendly as always in the Philippines but rooms are small, sheets itchy and air-con is rediculously loud!

Avoid the downstairs restaurant for all except a basic breakfast, the dinners are horrendous, there's a nice Thai place just next door though.

All in all it served a purpose as a safe place to stay during the Typhoon but wouldn't seek it out again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigGreenSurfSchool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    131
    89
    25
    28
See reviews for
16
51
64
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
memphis tn
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Well, just a quick review on our visit to Cebu City. We were there in September. Stayed 3 weeks at the Diplomat Hotel. Now, we know that the hotel has been around for quite awhile. In the past, the front desk has not always been friendly or helpful, but we saw a big change in this trip. Also, they now have free Wifi in the rooms. We had no trouble with security of our rooms and the floor always had someone to help while cleaning the rooms. I think there is a new management attitude running the hotel and we found the change much more guest friendly.
The area around the hotel is toursit friendly and easy to deal with. They open a 24 hour 7 - 11 store that we got our water from close to the hotel. The area has develop into a large medical industry area, with medical students everywhere. We visited the same little cafes they ate at and found the local food very good and very inexpensive, since most students cannot afford to eat out at expensive places. These little cafes are all up and down the street and they are a lot of different foods to choose from..this we found was a lot of fun...

The only thing I think the Diplomat Hotel needs to work on is their system of local Taxi out front. I will not use them, we have found them to be very dishonest and will try to cheat the tourist. Also, found it a little off, watching the taxi guys gambling in groups in front of their taxi while waiting for fares. The Hotel employee who is suppose to assit the hotel guest get a taxi does not seen to care if the taxi rips off the customer ... i feel that he is getting a few peso's from the taxi driver on the side to allow the rip off to happen. We just refuse to use these taxi's in front of the hotel and would walk a short distance and catch a taxi from the street.

Of course this is JMHO... Always demand that they use the meter, never pay extra for any reason, ( like too many bags, or too far away so must charge a set fee) if they try to charge U tell them U will call and report them, keep the vouchers the taxi assistant gives u when u get in the taxis while at the malls and airports and if the hotel supplies them. I just do not like being ripped off...
Had a great time and will stay at the Diplomat Hotel again....

Room Tip: Ask to be put in the New Wing... less noise from the street....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mempho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We asked for an upgrade to a semi-suite room after we saw our tiny standard room. They gave us a room that was full of dust and we even requested the room be cleaned first and a change of beddings as you can feel dust on the bed and sink is dirty. Even after that, every night I put on insect repellant before I lie down on the bed as my body get ichy. I don't recommend this hotel. The only thing that's beautiful is the lobby as even towels are old.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cebu City hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

I've stayed here with a couple of friends and as we only want a place where we can sleep at night as we are out most of the day, then, this hotel serves it right. The price may not be very competitive as there are more decent place than this at the same price, however, location wise and cleanliness of the room, I can't complain. We were satisfied with our stay and everything was hassle free from check in to check out. . . .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CebuanoKo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

I would think twice when considering going back to this hotel because there are similarly priced hotels which are near this hotel but are more centrally located (nearer to Fuente). Although this hotel had all the basics I needed, most everything is old. The staff could have used more smiles too. Going up to your room, you'd take the stairs, pass through the open-air corridors, where other guests' trays and plates with leftover food from the morning or yesterday are scattered about. The wi-fi was fast though.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul Bray O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times traveling from Panglao,Bohol to Cebu City. It is central location & reasonable price is a welcome attraction. Nothing special just a great place to stay one or two nights.

Room Tip: The new part of the hotel is much bettter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank krazytomdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

This hotel won't be for us we stay the 2 nights our first day we ask the WiFi then they gave us the code then they don't bother to tell me it just intended for 1 computer we can't figure out why if his connected I'm not so then called front desk she said oh you need to purchase the code for other person and thats the policy they can't do something for it. Here's more the room don't have WiFi your going to stand at the hallway what a nice service we got in this sucks hotel. When we back home our clothes smells cigarette seems this is the place for the smokers.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hydz29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.3 mi away
Mango Park Hotel
Mango Park Hotel
#36 of 86 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pacific Pensionne
Pacific Pensionne
#61 of 86 in Cebu City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dynasty Tourist Inn
Dynasty Tourist Inn
#37 of 86 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Stella
Hotel Stella
#54 of 86 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Maxwell Hotel
The Maxwell Hotel
#30 of 86 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.8 mi away
Capitol Central Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diplomat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diplomat Hotel

Property: Diplomat Hotel
Address: 90 F Ramos St., Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 86 Hotels in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Diplomat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diplomat Hotel enjoys a central location in downtown Cebu. It is about 40 minutes from the airport and only 15 minutes away from the nearest ferry station. Rest comes easy in the comfort of the 100 air-conditioned rooms at Diplomat Hotel. Relish the convenience of having a cable TV, mini-bar, room safe, and hot & cold shower at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Diplomat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomat Hotel Cebu City
Diplomat Hotel Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing