We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent option if stopping over in Cebu”
Review of Diplomat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Diplomat Hotel
Ranked #70 of 87 Hotels in Cebu City
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A decent option if stopping over in Cebu”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

I just stayed here for one night while passing through Cebu City. I booked a twin room for 1300 pesos and the room was clean, had good air-con and a decent array of TV channels. I did not like the fact that I had to pay a 1000 peso deposit for the room. The staff could do with being friendlier and a smile wouldn't go amiss. The Philippines surprises me when it comes to hotels....the staff are either uber friendly or pretty miserable!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    133
    92
    26
    28
See reviews for
16
54
65
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

The room was good for waht one can wxpect at this price level. But all rooms are "smoking" and you can really feel that. And air-con was old and noisy.
The room was good for waht one can wxpect at this price level. But all rooms are "smoking" and you can really feel that. And air-con was old and noisy.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funkytravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for a total of six nights. We only booked for four nights at first. Since we were more than happy with this hotel, we further booked for two more nights.

We stayed in a superior room in this hotel. The room was clean and tidy. The airconditioning was working fantastically. There was a secure safe in the room which was very handy. Plus there was also a small bar fridge. Great!!! I wished they also provided a coffee/tea making facility. That would have been double great. :))

Anyway, there was a cafe at the ground floor which was reasonably priced. The food were also fairly reasonable. However, if you want to eat somewhere else. There are many restaurants that are only a walking distance from the hotel.

The location of the hotel was also fairly good. It was a little bit peaceful and less noisy in comparison to some budget hotels. Taxis were also readily available outside the hotel which was very convenient.

In general this hotel was fairly old and needed some maintenance. But for a budget hotel, it was a very good hotel. I like this hotel. If ever I am coming back to Cebu I would greatly consider staying in this hotel again. I just also wished that the staffs were a little bit friendlier. I find that the staffs specially at the reception area were less helpful and seem unapproachable. They never seem to smile at the customers. Anyway, it is still a very good budget hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSR4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2012

I was woken up by people shouting and noises of chairs being moved in a room adjacent to mine at 6am, I called the reception and the receptionist said they will send someone to check it. After an hour the noises were still on. I went down to the reception and the woman there said that they have checked but no noises were heard. I asked her what it was the way to put a formal complain and she just ignored me for about five minutes. After my insistence she gave me a piece of paper and said I can write my complain there. The place is clean but looks like somewhere from the early 80's.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank underfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cebu City hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

I definitely would recommend Diplomat Hotel in Cebu city, Philippines. The rooms are clean, reasonably priced, courteous personnel. Located along F.Ramos St, just about 10 minutes walk from Robinsons' mall. Of course one can hire a taxi right in front of the hotel if you are too lazy to walk. In fact, taxis are standing by 24 /7....Also, you will find many travel agencies nearby and a spa for your convenience. For me, the food is not that great at the restaurant. I'd rather eat out most of the times, unless if I am too lazy to go out, or too busy. But, other than that, if you are on a budget, Diplomat Hotel is the best place for you.

Room Tip: any standard room will do or upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mr_nonstop2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seongnam, South Korea
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Easy to get a taxi, and walking distance to many restaurants...Although the closest convenience store is like a 10 minute walk.
Room was clean and beds were pretty comfortable.
Friendly staff!
Travel agency is right outside the front door.

Wifi is expensive.
They don't have irons in the rooms, you have to pay them to do it and it takes 24 hours.
No blow dryers.
Toilet was AWFUL. Took 5 flushes to get anything down. It was funny at first but then it got REALLY annoying.
Extra mattress is 300 php/night.
Don't bother with their gross breakfasts, there's a Bo's coffee just down the street (Turn left...and it's on the opposite side of the road to the hotel) with AMAZING breakfast options and coffee.

Overall recommended, just don't expect anything fancy. ^^

Room Tip: Room #704 has the worst toilet on the planet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

to the owner. i suggest you need to change your manager.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mary r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.3 mi away
Mango Park Hotel
Mango Park Hotel
#62 of 87 in Cebu City
316 reviews
0.9 mi away
Canberry Hotel
Canberry Hotel
#42 of 87 in Cebu City
16 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dynasty Tourist Inn
Dynasty Tourist Inn
#41 of 87 in Cebu City
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Apple Tree Suites Cebu
Apple Tree Suites Cebu
#31 of 87 in Cebu City
86 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Stella
Hotel Stella
#66 of 87 in Cebu City
138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelbee Business Inn
Travelbee Business Inn
#25 of 87 in Cebu City
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diplomat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diplomat Hotel

Property: Diplomat Hotel
Address: 90 F Ramos St., Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 87 Hotels in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Diplomat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diplomat Hotel enjoys a central location in downtown Cebu. It is about 40 minutes from the airport and only 15 minutes away from the nearest ferry station. Rest comes easy in the comfort of the 100 air-conditioned rooms at Diplomat Hotel. Relish the convenience of having a cable TV, mini-bar, room safe, and hot & cold shower at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Diplomat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diplomat Hotel Cebu City
Diplomat Hotel Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing