We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OLD ROOMS, OUTDATED FURNITURE - DIRTY WHITE LINEN & MOULDY BATHROOM”
Review of Cebu Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cebu Grand Hotel
Ranked #50 of 87 Hotels in Cebu City
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“OLD ROOMS, OUTDATED FURNITURE - DIRTY WHITE LINEN & MOULDY BATHROOM”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I booked this hotel based on the photos in the internet. I arrived in the hotel with big disappointment when I see our room in actual as the room is OUTDATED, OLD FURNITURE and BATHROOM is very mouldy. I asked the housekeeping to change the linen of our bed as it looks dirty white with several stains on it. The room looks so tired and old. So, I did not spend the night in the hotel instead I decided to sleep in my friend's house and the next day I moved to another hotel as I cant stay in this kind of hotel with poor facilities and poor customer service especially the frontliners from bellboy to receptionist, they need retraining for hospitality customer service. Stay away from this hotel - more hotels in Cebu provide better facilities and service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAKBAYBYAHE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    52
    40
    16
    9
See reviews for
16
35
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CEBU
Level Contributor
142 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The staffs of this hotel is very friendly and efficient. They're easy to deal with and most requests are address in a timely fashion. it's just a 7 story building and it's old but rooms are comfortable, clean and newly refurbished. They have a tiny pool at the roof deck which badly needs expansion. They offer buffet breakfast in the morning which offers a lot of options for tourists. The location of this hotel is in Escario street right across Capitol Parish Church and it's surrounded by restaurants, massage parlors and some novelty shops. Ayala Center is just one jeepney ride away and taxis are plenty on this site.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOVEME2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ylivieska, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The pictures looked nice beforehand but this hotel is a little worn out and tired. The room carpet was smelly and even felt a bit wet under the feet. The aircon was quite loud. There was construction work going on outside the hotel (daytime only though). However the staff was very friendly, smiling and welcoming. The breakfast was good, the restaurant was open all day for having meals. Location of the hotel is good (downtown Cebu area with everything close by).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnssiR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacurong, Sultan Kudarat, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights. Service was good and we were accommodated accordingly. Staffs always wore their sweetest smile and greeted us whenever we enter the hotel. One thing I noticed of was the scent that welcomed us as we enter the hotel. It's a good smells as if it entices and invites each guests to come in and experience the hotel's services and amenities. The hotel's Account Executive even personally welcomed us wearing her best smile. I look forward to staying in this hotel for my future trips in Cebu.

Room Tip: we stayed on the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gretchiane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

The hotel porter working on December 23 in the evening was really service minded, charming and helpful. Good English and kind. Too bad we never got to tip him before leaving, but I hope the hotel management will notice how bright he is. I wish him great success in life.

I had a good impression of the hotel in general, not too high standard but you do get what you pay for. :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMR1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cebu City hotels

Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

The Grand is a little tired, but the service and accommodation was fine. Breakfast was excellent and the location toMalls and the city centre is fine. Get a driver and van for one day for about 1500 peso for 3 hours. Well worth a drive to see the sights and 500 Peso to get to the airport (.
30 mins).

So accommodation is ok, food great and location is great for 1 or 2 nights

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

this will be my first time not to appreciate the place i stayed for a couple of days. yes the location was nice more accessible to malls. 2 things that disappoint me when i get inside the room first is the awful smell like it has been abandoned for years. And the breakfast food was surprisingly not good. guess they have to work more about it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayangel_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.5 mi away
Cebu Parklane International Hotel
0.5 mi away
Diamond Suites & Residences
Diamond Suites & Residences
#29 of 87 in Cebu City
216 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
#13 of 87 in Cebu City
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quest Hotel and Conference Center - Cebu
0.2 mi away
Vacation Hotel Cebu
Vacation Hotel Cebu
#43 of 87 in Cebu City
46 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premiere Citi Suites
Premiere Citi Suites
#47 of 87 in Cebu City
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cebu Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cebu Grand Hotel

Property: Cebu Grand Hotel
Address: N. Escario Street | Vibo Place, Cebu City 6004, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 87 Hotels in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cebu Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Cebu Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cebu Grand Hotel Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing