We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“definitely a relaxing hotel in the middle of the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montebello Villa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Montebello Villa Hotel
Ranked #14 of 83 Hotels in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“definitely a relaxing hotel in the middle of the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I have been here twice already and every time I spend my time here I always felt being away from the busy city. The ambiance is great with it's well trimmed grass, wide pool for adults and kids, radiant colorful flowers surrounding the villa and a cool relaxing music beside the pool area in the evening. Service and staffs has always been accommodating. One of the oldest and remaining original hotels in Cebu.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jojoregis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontebelloHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Montebello Villa Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Mr. Jojo Regis,

We are delighted to know that you and your family had cherished moments at our hotel with your family.

Thank you for recounting the many ways to have a relaxing stay on your second visit at Montebello Villa Hotel.

Montebello Villa Hotel remains to be the only Garden hotel in Cebu and highly maintains the charm of Cebu’s Hispanic heritage. And we are glad that you have mentioned that in your review.

We look forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    136
    58
    23
    12
See reviews for
70
84
40
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kibawe, Bukidnon, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

One of the best hotel that i have visited is the Montebello Villa Hotel located at the back of Country Mall in Banilad Cebu City.
Even though it is located at center of cebu this place is so quite and good for every one who wants to refresh mind from workaholic
days... I visited this Hotel ones but i really love to go back.. The hotel has a big space, big swimming pool for children, big rooms for
family bonding, beautiful garden and most especially it has a big tennis court for family who wants to have bonding playing tennis.
The staff are very accommodating and friendly. Thier rooms also are clean.I visit Montebello Villa Hotel when my friend arrive in Cebu City
and stayed at Montebello Villa Hotel. She called us to visit her their. When we arrive i was so amaze by the beauty of the hotel and
promise myself i will go back their in the future with my family... The hotel is also famous in Cebu City. During Sinulog also this hotel has
its own celebration of sinulog festival. The location of the hotel is far from the city proper of cebu but it is easy to locate. You can ride taxi
or jeep.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aiza Mae P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontebelloHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Montebello Villa Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Ms. Aiza Mae,

Thank you for recounting the many ways to have a refreshing stay in Montebello Villa Hotel.

We're glad that you and your friends enjoyed the variety of activities and facilities we offer.

We hope that we see you soon especially that Sinulog is fast approaching and witness such celebration with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guam, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
113 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was a very good pick of Cebu Hotels for the following reasons: Despite being physically located behind the extremely busy and noisy Country Mall near Banilad the actual grounds of this hotel were quiet, grassy with beautiful gardens, plenty of flowers and gorgeous pools. Walking around the grounds one would think they were in a country locale inwhich security made a significant presence without being overbearing.
The check in was quick, efficient and despite not initially meeting my special requests hotel management made a quick executive decision to upgrade us to a room that more than suited our needs. The room itself was large, spacious and climate controlled although with no elevator at times it seemed like the air conditioning was a most critical element. There were ample electrical outlets to charge or recharge all of our numerous devices. The wifi was good and servicable. Unfortunately the room lacked a safety box so there needed to be near daily trips to the front office to replenish funds etc. The staff were freindly, professional but unobtrusive. The resto area was nice, quiet and adjacent two sparkling blue pools. Would I return to this hotel, yes DEFINITELY!

Room Tip: Ensure that you communicate your requests at the time of booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Angelescitypi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontebelloHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Montebello Villa Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

We truly appreciate the kind words in your review.

At Montebello Villa Hotel, we make sure that guests are fully satisfied, comfortable and relaxed.

Safety boxes may not be readily available in the rooms but rest assured 24-hour camera is available at the front office for additional security.

Thank you for definitely considering us on your next visit.

See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed in this hotel during the Sinulog festival. They had their own mini-sinulog parade through the hotel grounds.

Location: It's a bit far from the city center, but its easy to get a jeep to the city or to Ayala. IT Park is very close, but its better to ride a taxi going there. The jeeps are located in front of the Gaisano Mall, which is about a five minute walk from the hotel.

Hotel Interior: True to it's "Villa Hotel" moniker, the lobby and hallways are open-air. There are always children playing in the swimming pool. No elevators either, so you have to take the stairs, which would be okay if you were in the 2nd floor, but not that fun if you're higher up. You can't smoke in the rooms, but you can smoke in the hallways (not that fun if you do it at night.)

Hotel Rooms: Very big, we got two extremely fluffy beds, great pillows. Bathroom was also big.

Hotel Breakfast: Buffet, with good food and a variety of options from Bacon, Ham and Eggs to Tapa and Danggit. Fresh fruits were also available, and you have your choice of bread or rice. It varied day-to-day

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Qasdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontebelloHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Montebello Villa Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Qasdan,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad to hear that you have appreciated the Spanish heritage of Montebello Villa Hotel. We appreciate your compliments

On your next visit, you can always request for a smoking room. Special requests are highly acknowledged to make your stay hassle-free.

We look forward to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrevieja, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Fabulous hotel beautiful gardens and pools but its the staff that make the hotel
I am in the industry so know how hard it is to please all the people all the time however this little unassuming hotel in Banilad really tries to do just that ,
We arrived on recommendation from friends in the area and were instantly made to feel like VIP , the staff are courteous to a fault , even by Filipino standards
Close to all amenities should you need to shop and the city only a ten minute cheap taxi away Country Mall , restaurants and transport all literally around the corner but once inside you feel like you are way from it all in tropical gardens and peaceful surroundings
I feel we had the best rooms overlooking the pool yet not too noisy apart from the occasional noises of people having fun , not a bad thing surely
Food adequate though buffet breakfast got a little samey after ten days it does anywhere
lunch and dinner menu ranged from local filippino to more western staples ie burgers spaghetti and the like all served up either by the pool or in your own room and prices that won't break the bank and service that shames most 5 star hotels
Great Hotel for families with children as the pools are good , great hotel for couples , they even have a bridge of love ! . In fact great hotel for anyone . Occasional live music in the evenings

Highly recommended

Could name a few staff as especially attentive but would be unfair to single anyone out as I didn't come across a single staff member who wasn't well trained and excellent at their job
I have travelled extensively thought Europe and rest of world and usually prefer more high end 5* hotels however this is one of my favourite hotels
We moved here after being disappointed with the hotel we had chosen whilst at home in the uk I won't name it
It's difficult to choose a hotel when research is based on subjective comments from trip advisor however please if your looking at the Hotel Montebello Villa go ahead and book , speak to the hotel rather than an OTA bring your swimming costume your smile and relax and have fun but don't take our rooms !!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank paulaph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here again in May 2013. This is a very pleasant and comfortable hotel. A great place to go if you have kids. The grounds and pools are really nice.

We usually invite friends and relatives to come and join us for dinner, or maybe lunch and a swim.

I enjoy sitting by the pool at night with a drink after dinner. It is nice and quiet at night.

The rooms: don't take the standard room, spend a bit more and take the deluxe. They are remodeling bit by bit and the newer room cost even more. Reserve online it is less expensive

Room Tip: upgrade at least one level
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed here for three nights for free. Well, I am not really happy. In our room, the lavatory was outside the toilet and bath area itself and just near the bedside. When somebody brushes his/her teeth, the other companions cannot help but get distracted due to the water pressure coming outside the faucet. Nice because it is a garden hotel with a little pond. Food was ok and staff are ok too. It is a short walk to a big mall but for me it is expensive. There are newer inns and hotels far better than this and are much cheaper also.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank julietteBacolod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
1.4 mi away
Quest Cebu
Quest Cebu
#7 of 83 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,251 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
#3 of 83 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 stars 876 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cebu Parklane International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 83 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,439 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
#11 of 83 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 stars 455 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Lex Cebu
BEST WESTERN Plus Lex Cebu
#6 of 83 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 stars 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montebello Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montebello Villa Hotel

Property: Montebello Villa Hotel
Address: Banilad, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 83 Hotels in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Montebello Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amidst the bustling and active metropolis of Cebu City, the center of trade, education and business of Central Philippines, lies the tranquility and serenity of Montebello Villa Hotel. Montebello Villa Hotel is the only garden hotel within Cebu City located on a sprawling four hectare landscape reflecting the richness and charm of Cebu’s Hispanic heritage. It is the perfect blend for the business traveler and leisure traveler. A short distance to commercial establishments, business centers, shopping malls, churches and a golf course, with easy access to the historic beaches of Mactan Island and the Mactan International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., Expedia, Hotwire, Otel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Montebello Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montebello Hotel Cebu City
Montebello Villa Hotel Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing