We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice pool & garden; affordable room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montebello Villa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Montebello Villa Hotel
Ranked #13 of 86 Hotels in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice pool & garden; affordable room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Swimming pool and garden looks nice. Second floor standard room was affordable and clean but the bed and room size is too small for a couple with 1 child. It does not have a nice view as well. Food was not replenished during the buffet breakfast. Not much food choices. Don't book a standard room if you plan to stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't book a standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Unhappy_Bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    153
    62
    23
    13
See reviews for
80
94
46
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guri, South Korea
Level Contributor
1,441 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

C1 ( 2009 )
I'm satisfied about swimming pool, restaurant in the open air. but room is old and not clean. Garden, location, scenery is good, and I think need remodeling in side. If I visit in Cebu, I'll hesitate which to stay one more.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HanJuyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
98 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for a conference in July 2012, like SportTraveller and Epistemologist. It's interesting that while we give the same overall rating, we liked and disliked different things. For instance, I thought the breakfast had sufficient variety for a week. The trick is to choose only a couple things each day (there are about five offerings each day, with some changes) and not be afraid to eat options that are not Western "breakfast", like rice. I enjoyed the nearby mall eateries, as well. Well, except Jollibee.
I had no problems with Wi-fi anywhere, unlike the others. I also had no problems with water temperature, though there were at least four people at the conference who did. My major concern was mold in the bathroom - look at the black spots in the top right corner of the bathroom shower. The rest of the hotel has curtains, colors, and furnishings from the 1980s. My room, for instance, had green and burnt orange in the color scheme.
Overall, this is a moderately priced, moderately good property. There are better places, like the Radisson, and there are cheaper places. This fits in the middle. It was acceptable for the conference, though if I were to return to Cebu I would prefer a better hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi Sad, Serbia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

Great garden and pool where you can relax after a busy day. Food is very good. The restaurant and bar work 24h and it was priceless to have dinner and drink outside in the garden, whenever you want. Staff is very friendly. My room was nice, big and clean, but my colleagues got a smaller rooms and a kind of smelly because of the humidity maybe. They also complained that didn't have a hot water sometimes, but I didn't have the same problem.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TamaraNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

This beautiful hotel is a gem that needs some polishing and some resetting..

Years ago, finding this place is wonderful feeling as one does not have to go through an ugly mall. Maybe, this is part of progress that could not be avoided.

The lobby and entrance looks old but still grand. Reception quiet friendly and accommodating. The Superior room given to us at the ground floor is okay with a beautiful garden view though it can be observed that furniture and carpet have seen better days so that it also smelled musty.. would have loved to stay there but since they were repainting the room just beside, my sister who is asthmatic could not stand the strong smell of paint so we requested to be transferred. The gave us a room on the second floor whose window opens to a roof and wires and aircons which was a big disappointment. Same old musty smell. Hot water takes a long time coming. Bathroom is quiet spacious but needs to be upgraded.

Breakfast choices is so limited but not of a breakfast eater, it was okay.. Service is a bit selective but okay.


This is a beautiful hotel and it can be ten times better with an upgrade and facelift.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LolaMamou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

This place is just lovely. We had a great room (though we got upgraded because they double booked our room). Almost a 25 meter pool with sun chairs, and the bar/restaurant is right there. Large grounds with lawns, trees, a pond, it seriously felt like an oasis in the city.
Check in was a bit painful, they insist you must have a print out of your booking even though we were able to show it to them on our ipad, we still had to print it out.
But other than that a great stay, especially when you go out into the city to explore and its all dirty, crowded, smoggy, hot and humid. And then you come back and just relax by the pool.Service was really good too.
Loved it and if I ever went back would be heading straight to this one.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RSM6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

I stayed there with my wife and daughter on 15th and 16th August, we always stay there from few years when we go to Cebu, Hotel has really a beautiful location, wonderful garden, swimming pool,spacious lobby, also breakfast is very good but i think rooms are a bit old and need renovation, especially the bathroom, also price increase every year while it's not the same thing for the service.
Aniway i recomend it especially for family with kids who can enjoy the pool or for business travellers too.

Room Tip: I recomend the deluxe room, the best room compared with the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobMargie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
1.3 mi away
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
#12 of 86 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cebu Parklane International Hotel
1.4 mi away
Quest Cebu
Quest Cebu
#8 of 86 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 86 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,723 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
#4 of 86 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bayfront Hotel Cebu
Bayfront Hotel Cebu
#9 of 86 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montebello Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montebello Villa Hotel

Property: Montebello Villa Hotel
Address: Banilad, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 86 Hotels in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Montebello Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amidst the bustling and active metropolis of Cebu City, the center of trade, education and business of Central Philippines, lies the tranquility and serenity of Montebello Villa Hotel. Montebello Villa Hotel is the only garden hotel within Cebu City located on a sprawling four hectare landscape reflecting the richness and charm of Cebu’s Hispanic heritage. It is the perfect blend for the business traveler and leisure traveler. A short distance to commercial establishments, business centers, shopping malls, churches and a golf course, with easy access to the historic beaches of Mactan Island and the Mactan International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Montebello Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montebello Hotel Cebu City
Montebello Villa Hotel Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing