We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD and Bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Montebello Villa Hotel
Ranked #11 of 87 Hotels in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GOOD and Bad”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Basing in my own experience, this hotel is at least 40 yrs old but renovated very well. One of the great things were the services of the waiters/waitresses are great especially at the poolside restaurant, the housekeeping staff did a great job for us as well as the Bell Service. One of the worst thing I've noticed and perceived is one of the front desk clerk named 'JO--ANN" (by her name tag) was kinda rude , and snobbish. Very incompetent. She is not a "people person"...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UsaKennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    183
    69
    26
    15
See reviews for
102
115
51
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed here for six days and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. In room 28 which was huge. Internet was good in the room, however poor in some spots. The bar was good and pool ok. It is a little more pricey than other places, and I found it to be a little far from the city. The shopping centre nearby is ok, and there is a gym too. However, Ayala is awesome and this is a taxi ride. The breakfast was really disappointing - I was sick of the same food each day and was almost not wanting any breakfast at the end. This is a GOOD hotel (better than average but less than very good). The staff were lovely, and just wanted a little bit more.

Room Tip: The low numbered rooms are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Attended a conference here July 2012. My room was fine, with good A/C, a comfortable bed, and a hot shower—really all you need for a conference. Service was generally excellent. The pool was terrific, open at 6 AM, the best time for laps (later in the day, kids dominated). Breakfast buffet came with the room and was exceptional. Lunch and dinner were both good. The grounds are lovely, a little oasis in the middle of the city.

Cons? Free Wi-Fi was erratic, and the shower temperature control was extremely finicky. Others in our group had the same problems. It's an ugly walk to the nearby, so-so mall. The mall does have ATMs, OK restaurants (not as good as the hotel's), and a huge, interesting grocery store.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Epistemologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

This Hotel is in Cebu City near a small mall, its not that close to the bigger malls. The Hotel is not new and I booked a Superior room. The room was very old, the aircon was cold but at bed level, the hot water was only lukewarm and low flow. I was shown a pool view room which was modern, clean and looked great. Book this if you want to stay here at all. The reception staff were polite and attentive. The Security guards were efficient and helpfull. The pool here was large and surrounded by the restaurant and entertainment provided by a singer. There seems to be many conferences held here. The breakfast buffet was well varied with its foods and good in qulaity. Hot and cold foods of western and asian origin were served. The staff here were fine. They did seem a bit unprofessional in there banter with each other and could do with some customer service training. I would say overall thsi Hotel rates as a B-.

Room Tip: Only the pool view rooms are renovated the rest are so old and worn out
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dabster36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Beautiful Gardens, many swimming pools with open air restaurant beside them. Weekends many couples get married here and a beautiful setting for a wedding it is. By UK standards it is 3 star but a very nice 3 star it really is. Stayed there twice and will return one day soon. I understand the owner is Spanish which may explain the western standards they keep.

Room Tip: Don't book a "de luxe" room - it is not de luxe, it is the poor relative of their very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malgoode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kristiansund
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I have stayed at Montebello evry time when I go to Phil, and I will continue with that....The staff at the hotel is very polite, and always there if you need some help...Sitting beside the pool in the evening with a whiskey on the rocks and look at the beautiful garden is very relaxing...The breakfast is good, and there is always good food to buy in the restaurant....

Room Tip: All rooms are Quiet..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kjellsveis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

This is my favorite Hotel in Cebu. It is not 'five-star, It's a bit old but very comfortable. The rates are reasonable and the service is very good.

I travel to Cebu two or three times a year. I have stayed at a number of other hotels, but after staying at the Montebello it is the only place we stay now.

The hotel is located next to a small mall with restaurants and shops, a Jolibee, a Gaisano's Department store and a big grocery store. The hotel has a pretty a good restaurant and bar on the terrace next to the pool.

Across the main road (Gov Cuenco Ave) is University of Cebu and they have a huge supply of Hotel/Restaurant Management students working at the Montebello. All of them trying very hard to please.

Someone said they let the local kids swim in the pool. Not exactly true, they charge P250 ($5) each for non-guests to use the pool. so with $ 5 being the average daily wage in the Phils, you won't see a lot of kids in the pool. There is a security gate at the entrance of the driveway, so not just anybody can come into the hotel. You must be a guest, or with a guest.

The gardens are beautiful, they have a lot of weddings and parties here in the gardens, but the grounds are so big, you won't be disturbed.

They have 'Sugba' (Barbeque) out on the terrace on weekends and the dinner is great. They also have entertainment on weekends at night too.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
1.4 mi away
Quest Hotel and Conference Center - Cebu
2.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 87 in Cebu City
3,159 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
#2 of 87 in Cebu City
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino
1.4 mi away
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
#13 of 87 in Cebu City
637 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cebu Parklane International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montebello Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montebello Villa Hotel

Property: Montebello Villa Hotel
Address: Banilad, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 87 Hotels in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Montebello Villa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amidst the bustling and active metropolis of Cebu City, the center of trade, education and business of Central Philippines, lies the tranquility and serenity of Montebello Villa Hotel. Montebello Villa Hotel is the only garden hotel within Cebu City located on a sprawling four hectare landscape reflecting the richness and charm of Cebu’s Hispanic heritage. It is the perfect blend for the business traveler and leisure traveler. A short distance to commercial establishments, business centers, shopping malls, churches and a golf course, with easy access to the historic beaches of Mactan Island and the Mactan International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Montebello Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montebello Hotel Cebu City
Montebello Villa Hotel Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing