We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Ideal location at the right price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Plaza Hotel
Ranked #41 of 86 Hotels in Cebu City
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ideal location at the right price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The Holiday Plaza excels it self just for the buffet breakfast alone,which is inclusive in the price for the hotel room.Anyone who has stayed at this friendly hotel will vouch for for this fact,Evening time,recommend trying the bbq restuarant upon the rooftop,lovely views,quite romantic,choose your own fresh fish,prawns,or crab,and they will prepare it for you,reasonably priced.The hotel staff care for your needs and make your stay very welcome.The room large airy and provides all basic necessities.Everything is clean tidy and presentable and in good working order.Ive stayed at this hotel at least 3/4 times,my longest stay 2 weeks.always found it relaxing friendly and would stay their again,which for me will be in December 2013.I also like the easy walking distance to the town,access to Robinsons,and the variety of shops and stalls that are available.A short taxi or jepney ride will take you to Ayala or the SM shopping mall.All in all the price is right,the room is more than ideal,location is good,I'm from England,and i do have my standards,i do like value for money,this hotel meets those expectations.You wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jonb624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    28
    16
    8
    8
See reviews for
8
24
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Davao City, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed in this hotel last Oct. 25,2012 for an overnight stay. We are delighted to have a big room for my husband and daughter. The room is nice but quite outdated. However, the airconditioning is functioning well and the comfort room is nice and clean. The beds are comfortable ( 1 queen size and 1 single bed ) and they have clean beddings also. What we enjoyed most is their buffet breakfast. The food is great! plus the staff are friendly and accomodating. My family is planning to stay again in this hotel. Their room rates are reasonable considering that their location is only a walking distance to a mall and other establishments.

Room Tip: rooms on the far end are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grace0204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This was my first visit to the Philippines and my first vist to this hotel.. First impressions were good. Met at the front of the hotel by the security staff who was very polite and helped me with my bags to the front of the hotel doors. Very kind of him and very unexpected. Then the bell boy picked up all of my bags and put them on a trolly and asked me to go with him to the reception area where I was met met with a big smile and a very warm greeting... Booking in was painless and while I was waiting was asked if I would like a cold drink or a cup of coffee. After a very long 19 hour flight this came as a relief and again very unexpected. I was then shown to my room by the bell boy who was a delight and was very polite and helpful. Once arrived to my room he helped me lift the bags to where I wanted them and then proceeded to show me where everything was and how to work everything like the TV and air con.... He made sure that I had a supply Or coffee and tea and the fridge was fully stocked with complementary water... He even went so far as to ask one of his work collegues for extra cold bottled water for me which he fetched himself and put in the fridge. Such a nice helpfull member of the hotel staff who I got to know very well during my stay there.. The rooms were very clean and well maintained. The staff who came in every morning to clean the room and make the beds etc were excellent and again very polite and helpful. Nothing was to much trouble for them and were very flexible in when I wanted them to clean... The buffet breakfast in the mornings were superb. Lots to eat and very varied with all mannor of meats fish and standard breakfast cereal if you wished. The waiters were always topping up your coffee or tea cups and always made sure you had fresh bottled cold water if this was required. Again nothing was too much trouble for them. They even would make you a custom omelet if you wated it. Again everything was fresh and served hot... Not like some hotels I have been in where some of the food was Luke warm... This hotels food was always pipping hot... The hotel rooms were all top quality and staff were an absolute delight and incredibly helpful. There was also a wonderful BBQ on the roof of the hotel held every night the views while eating your food were great. The only thing I would say would improve my stay would be to have safes in your own rooms rather that them currently being held at reception. But to be honest this was a minor inconvenience.
I would defiantly recommend this hotel to anyone... I will certainly wish to stay here again on my next visit to this country. A fantastic hotel and the staff are an additional bonus and a tribute to the hotel management.

Room Tip: Try and get a front facing room looking out to the main road... Good for people watching!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

stopped in the holiday plaza for a few nights in jan and feb of 2012 nice room good size clean tv aircon mini bar unsuite reasonable price nice buffet breakfast and most important really nice friendly staff all said hello and good morning etc ! central located hotel and a bbq on the roof every night ,the choose your fish and they cook it for you many afterthink ,great flavour very nice , can not fault the hotel and staff and for the price 2000 a night will stay there again , bad things only one which was out of the hotels powers we had a 6.9 eathquake ! while there was terrified and on the 7th floor the room shook !!!!!!!!!!!!! alot , went down stairs by the the stairs asked at reception nothink to worry about sanarmey warning but bad information please stay down here everyone outside panicing cars and bikes everywhere roads grid locked worried to death then the door man was polishing the fingermarks off his glass doors so maybe were safe many aftershocks but staff were great ! holiday plaza staff thank you

Room Tip: higher up is quieter from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank englishmanaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

The hotel turned off my air conditioning..When I went to the front desk and ask me why they said they wanted me to change rooms..When I ask to talk to the manager..Mrs Lin who is the owner told the clerk to tell me if i did not like the hotel to go some where else...she is a very ugly old woman and not a nice lady..the hotel is really a dump..I would never recomend this hotel to anyone..

Room Tip: There are no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 99Fred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cebu City hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

The excellent b&b - Casa Escano - was full so i had to look around for another Hotel in the heat....after leaving two hotel, one dingy the other where the rooms lights cut out one minute after I entered the bathroom, I found the rather smart looking Holiday Plaza - was this part of a group?

But for 3,500 pesos I was hoping for something good. Front desk and porter helpful, and I had a good night, in a somewhat tired room. The aircon stopped rattleing after I gave it a bang, and I slept well. Lovely bath, no bath plug,

The inclusive breakfast was another story! When i got down to the drab breakfast room it was quite busy, about 20 people there. Staff polite but sleepy. However many of the self service buffet dishes were empty...making the food offering very limited. i asked to speak to the manager 2 times and on the 3rd time was told that the chef was in charge.......2 minutes later I saw a smart elderly chef show his face at kitchen entrance only to disappear again. I was wondering why so many guests were prepared to put up with such substandard service, and staff that were not being supervised.

Asked to speak to the hotel manager, and after again several requests, was told that the old lady walking around was the owner, Mrs Lim. Then I noticed a distinct change in the attutude of the staff, suddenly they were more friendly and more active. The juices were filled, the bacon was replenished, the vegetables were refilled.

I approached Mrs Lim who was probably a septuagenarian, (70-80 years old) and who was pleasant enough. Asked for a comment card, they had none, she told me that they have never had a complaint before, asked how many stars she has,she said none, Asked her why the Chef did not approach to sort out a complaint - she said she does not encourage contact with the customers, I even mentioned trip advisor and asked her if she know about it, She said she would ask her grandchildren to show her the website!

It just surprises me that such a large hotel, and investment can be run like this! Perhaps it needs a new owner as the hotel location is excellent, and it still has life in it yet, if it has dynamic management!

Disappointed, tired, and there are better in Cebu City

Room Tip: Go elsewhere, unless you get a very good deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tflsjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

After my flight from Hong Kong to Cebu City this hotel is always my first stop in the Philippines. The location of this Hotel is perfect for your first 1 or 2 nights in Cebu City. All shopping Malls and attractions are nearby and for it's price the quality is reasonable for Philippino standards. Good bed and hot shower.. but who needs hot showers in the Philippines anyway? Breakfast is a buffet where you can drink and eat as much as you like. Restaurant on top give you a good view over cebu city. It is not the Hilton but for me it has all i want for the 1 or 2 nights i stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jan2you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.2 mi away
Mango Park Hotel
Mango Park Hotel
#33 of 86 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 stars 295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rajah Park Hotel
Rajah Park Hotel
#42 of 86 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 stars 69 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Century Plaza Hotel
#49 of 86 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 stars 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premiere Citi Suites
Premiere Citi Suites
#35 of 86 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 stars 137 reviews
0.5 mi away
Azia Suites
Azia Suites
#24 of 86 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 stars 23 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crown Regency Hotel & Towers
Crown Regency Hotel & Towers
#63 of 86 in Cebu City
3.0 of 5 stars 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Plaza Hotel

Property: Holiday Plaza Hotel
Address: F. Ramos Street, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 86 Hotels in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOLIDAY PLAZA HOTEL is located within the true heart of Cebu (Fuente Osmena Park). A step away from restaurants, hospitals, shopping and entertainment centers; Holiday Plaza Hotel offers you convenience at your doorstep. We pride ourselves for delivering the best value in terms of lodging and experience. Our well-seasoned employees have been remarked as friendly and accommodating by first time guests. This holiday experience is one of the things that sets us apart from other hotels in Cebu; and is also the reason why our dear guests give us the honor of accommodating them time and time again. We’re very excited to see you soon at Holiday Plaza Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Plaza Cebu City
Holiday Plaza Hotel Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing