We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location, cheap, clean rooms if not for the cockroach”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Express Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Express Inn
Ranked #72 of 87 Hotels in Cebu City
Greenfield, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Convenient location, cheap, clean rooms if not for the cockroach”
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Everyone is correct about having the address as there are 2 express inns and taxi drivers dont seem to know where this location is as easily. Hotel seemed nice and clean. But we did find 1 cock roach in our room and i wouldnt stay here again cause of that lol. Breakfast was free but fee to bring it to room(which site i booked room never mentioned this fee). I couldnt understand front desk staff well and they werent so friendly or helpful. Was just an ok stay but i dont think id come again. Hotel near mall. No prob getting taxi here. Booked room online. Apparently they take money out of ur debit/charge and put it back in(to see if funds are available) so this was a confusion cause i thought my room had been paid online however u can only pay in cash at desk. I didnt like this especially since i thought i paid online and wasnt sure if i was overcharged but luckily i had enough cash on me to pay with out going to atm. Site online never stated that room had to be paid in cash in person. This was inconvenient to get straightened out while carrying bags in a busy lobby area in peoples way. Rooms were upstairs and they did have an elevator.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmine2489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    30
    54
    13
    13
See reviews for
9
38
19
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manila, the philippines
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This inn is close to SM and jeeps to all parts of the city pass through it. It is modern-looking and efficiently built. Seems to be popular with budget travellers from all over. I had a hard time getting them to pick up the phone (from the number I saw on their website, which was really the number of a branch so I was told to call another number.) The rooms are clean, no unpleasant odors, and the beddings are just adequate. It's edge over the competition seems to be its location and accessibility, if you are based in that part of town, given that many other inns and hotels in the city can compete with their prices.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank readerwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
59 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My partner and I stayed two nights at Express Inn (near SM City). It only cost P1,000+ for a double room, so we found it worth it, especially since they have a good location, fast internet and a firm bed.

The bathroom is small and the floor tended to get wet a lot because the rain shower is broken. If you're a light sleeper, you will also be disturbed by the street sounds (motorcycles, jeepneys, people shouting). There's also no breakfast with the price.

The next night, we attempted to get a similar room, but we were told by a male receptionist that only rooms with twin beds were available. When I went online, though, I found that there was still a double bed room available, and booked it on Agoda. When we showed them the reservation email, they had to give us a room.

I found it really weird; if there's one available, why not just give it to us? They wanted to give us a twin bed room, which we didn't want and which was also more expensive.

If it were not for the staff, I would have given it higher marks.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Aleah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Be sure to bring te exact address with you since not a lot of taxi drivers know where it is and that there is another one near the airport. The taxi from the airport with trafic (I landed around 4 or 5 pm...) is approximately 180 pesos. It is the Express Inn located just next to the SM City shopping centre, so very convenient if you are looking to shop or eat in big chains restaurants (McDonald's, Pizza Hut, KFC and so on... there is also a Thaï restaurant that seemed very good).

I paid 26$US for the room on Agoda (all fees included) for normal room with AC. No reason to take the included breakfast since SM City is so close, plus there is a filipino chain that serves breakfast just next door.

The hotel is located near the port area and not too far from the North bus terminal. The room I was in was clean, modern and quite spacious. Nice cement floor, great polite staff, would go there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dasmarinas City, Philippines
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The hotel is very affordable, in the middle of the city and very accessible. Breakfast is included in some room so be sure to ask if you are eligible. They provide toiletries daily, new towels and very nice staff. The bathroom is a bit small and the shower area does not have a cover so water tends go to the other side, just be careful and make sure you have floor towels. Also, during our stay our air-con is a bit malfunctioning but we managed to adjust it.

Room Tip: Rooms near the road is very noisy. For good WiFi connection, asked to be placed near the router. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lcar89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
225 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located near the port area. be sure to bring te exact address with you since not a lot of taxi drivers know where it is. The room I was in was clean and quite spacious. The hotel is quite popular to Chinese and Taiwanese tourists.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VincentRapisura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at Express Inn for one night in August 2013. Comfortable and clean room with OK shower and wifi. Aircon was noisy and so was the street - even with earplugs it was impossible to sleep. Avoid the street-facing rooms if you can.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.9 mi away
MJ Hotel and Suites
MJ Hotel and Suites
#24 of 87 in Cebu City
37 reviews
1.7 mi away
Zerenity Hotel & Suites
Zerenity Hotel & Suites
#34 of 87 in Cebu City
39 reviews
0.8 mi away
Azia Suites
Azia Suites
#19 of 87 in Cebu City
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pacific Pensionne
Pacific Pensionne
#64 of 87 in Cebu City
88 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pier Cuatro
Hotel Pier Cuatro
#37 of 87 in Cebu City
345 reviews
1.9 mi away
Canberry Hotel
Canberry Hotel
#40 of 87 in Cebu City
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Express Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Express Inn

Property: Express Inn
Address: M.J. Cuenco | Mabolo, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 87 Hotels in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Express Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Express Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Express Inn Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing