We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, new hotel, decent breakfast”
Review of St. Mark Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. Mark Hotel
Ranked #15 of 87 Hotels in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Clean, new hotel, decent breakfast”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed for one night in December 2013. It seems the hotel is not full on a regular basis. The first room we got smelled very stuffy even after open the door to the balcony and leaving the aircon on for a few hours. Rooms without occupancy need to be better ventilated and the cabinet needs to be opened as well.
After a quick call to the reception we got a different room. Rooms are clean and well appointed. Just the plastic chair looks cheap. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. Breakfast buffet was complimentary and had a good selection.
The hotel is a 3 minute walk to the nightlife and entertainment area on Mango Ave.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mjeschke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    65
    19
    4
    6
See reviews for
25
49
25
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

We're currently staying in St. Mark's for 5 days worth. We decided to try it out when I saw the 40% discount being offered for TripAdvisor members.

I must say it's pretty new. The walls heading to our room are still undergoing some final touches, but the overall interior design, common area and the room included, have all been already laid out and well-thought of if I may add.

The rates' definitely a steal, but the deal-breaker for me is how the service have went even before we checked-in to St.Mark's. Our trip has long been planned, so it's been more than a month already when I canvassed for a place that my girlfriend and I will be staying for our Cebu trip. Suffice to say there have been plenty of offers, some among the more established hotels in Cebu, and others from recently opened ones that range from 5-star to the budget ones. What got my attention was how St. Mark's hotel's Sales Team handled our conversation over the call. It was straightforward, no on-the-side miscellaneous fees, marketing, just what I needed - the net rates for the duration of our stay. I didn't even ask for a discount but they gave me one. Marginal but nevertheless, when hotels go out of their way, that will always be a big plus.

Upon our arrival we weren't disappointed with the meals even. We did have to wait for the check-in time, and coming from a very early flight from Manila, breakfast was long overdue so well, might as well eat. Buffet is awesome and at just PhP 304.00, it's a steal if ever you just want to eat here! Service is great, snappy, and reliable. Best part is after we finished eating, their restaurant staffed informed us that there was a room ready for us and early check-in was granted.

Overall, this has been a terrific stay and experience! Kudos to Roxanne, Myra, and the rest of the staff of St. Mark's hotel for giving us a great experience with their reliable service and reasonable rates! Hope to get to stay here again soon! :)

For the bundle-savvy - morning buffet, wifi (we have our pocket wifi so we didn't avail this as much), complimentary coffee / water in-room, mini-bar, clothing iron and ironing stands, LCD screen, safe for tucking away your valuables, and a speaker dock for your audio player or Apple phone is there for the taking. Have fun and hope you enjoy your stay in St. Mark's as much we're doing! :)

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jrgalang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

cozy and well groomed rooms, nicely situated near redemptorist church, good breakfast buffet try the "danggit" fried dried fish with fried rice, good business stay...structurally checked by cebu city personnel and found fit for hotel services...was a bit pricey for a boutique hotel, it should have better toiletries but the basics are there...also, you have an iron/press and a board for your pressing needs...dont ask for a room with a view as it doesnt have one...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank entengoreng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

I payed for 2 nights by Agoda service about 3500 pesos. Biggest mistake ever. The hotel management made me pay 2250 additional pesos for early check in . I do understand what the policy of every hotel are different (most of them will just welcome you and try to made you comfortable even if your room are not ready yet) and after 5 months of travelling in Asia I'm sure I will stay my 2 weeks in Cebu as far from here as possible.
I would never agree to pay such money for the half of night but there is no hope to go anyway in this part of Cebu after your taxi is out - it's more like getto around, urinating people and such staff. It's just unsafe for single foreign woman traveller to stay on the street.
I don't like hotel managment who made money becouse of it. They spoiled the beginning of my first visit to Philippines so much.
But room was fine and clean, even noisy. Lift isn't working properly. But safe, teapot and iron were ok, and bed was very comfortable.


Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank Snezhana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross M, Manager at St. Mark Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
SnezhanaK,

It is unfortunate how you view your experience with us as the "biggest mistake ever" because of the early check in charge. I understand that you got a very good deal from one of our partners making the charge seemingly high for your 5am check-in instead of the 2pm regular check-in time. We are glad to hear of your positive feedback regarding all the other aspects of your stay. The mention of our bed defines the sleep experience of our guests and is considered one of the most important aspect for a traveler. Thank you for taking time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Cebu City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Clean place. Excellent staff. Great breakfast. Amenities are great. We had a restful stay. There weer a few cracks though due to the earthquake but overall, i love how laid back it feels there. It is meant for comfort and relaxation.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jonna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2013

For a relatively premium rate... I expected more. The elevator is quite stressful. Have it fixed. Staff/crews' uniform are reminiscent of cebu city's traffic officers, please change the color, or if if you must use the color orange use it as an accent instead. The breakfast buffet always run out of food... Never a good sign. The hallways are filthy.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daverodano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross M, Manager at St. Mark Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Hi! Daverodano... Thank you for writing this constructive review. As mentioned the associates were in Orange that definitely is our Friday Classics, just when super typhoon Yolanda happened. Elevator, it is known that the city has been experiencing several aftershocks and these resulted to inevitable structural movements where in the event of a typhoon no maintenance from the supplier is readily available. Orange uniform, we definitely achieved our goal to have people notice and look. Buffet Breakfast, guests liked the food and enjoyed eating to the point that the kitchen was not able to catch up and true it is not a good sign of speed efficiency. Though the typhoon contingencies, water and moist sadly was visible as the hotel structure includes an atrium which is open air causing the hallways not to be at its finest.

We take your review as affirmation of the hotel's performance. Know that we will act on your comments and we hope to have you soon for you to experience value for money at the hotels normal best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Good value for your money! Clean, comfortable room; use of glass panels made dining room and corridors pleasantly bright. Redemptorist Church conveniently across the street, as well as St. Patrick's (mini) Mall. As I had no need of them, I did not notice the presence of public transportation although I am sure taxis abound. Food was ok too. Will highly recommend St. Mark Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lamierda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.6 mi away
Quest Cebu
Quest Cebu
#9 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,710 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
Mandarin Plaza Hotel
#13 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
0.4 mi away
ABC Hotel & Homes
ABC Hotel & Homes
#6 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Bayfront Hotel Cebu
Bayfront Hotel Cebu
#10 of 87 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.5 mi away
Harolds Hotel
Harolds Hotel
#3 of 87 in Cebu City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cebu Parklane International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Mark Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Mark Hotel

Property: St. Mark Hotel
Address: Queens Road, Redemptorist Plaza, Camputhaw, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cebu City
#9 Business Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Mark Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Mark is a boutique hotel with five star amenities that caters to travelers coming to Cebu for either business or leisure. The hotel is the premiere hospitality venture of Terre D’Or Realty Corporation, a realty development firm with a portfolio of condominiums, apartments and strip malls and an independent Australian business partner.The Hotel holds 63 elegant and well-appointed guestrooms across seven different themed floors. Guest may choose from its 17 Superior Rooms, 36 Deluxe Rooms, 3 Junior Suites and 7 Loft-type Residential Suites on the top floor, each room type having the complete amenities. St. Mark has HALO an all-day dining restaurant, room service, five meeting rooms and a ballroom that accommodates 70 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Mark Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Mark Hotel Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing