We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pop art boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Henry Hotel Cebu
Ranked #4 of 92 Hotels in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I always like being in quirkily unique hotels so I'm happy to have found The Henry. The rooms (we had the Large) were indeed large and funkily decorated. The staff are efficient and polite although I was perplexed to receive a call at the day of my checkout and be asked what my surname is. Rica's serves great food and The Scrapyard was fun. The Paseo Saturnino is a great location too. You've got a bar, a spa, a deli, a restaurant.
On the other hand, if you hate pop art, steer clear. If you also value your privacy while in the toilet/ shower, best to steer clear too. If you're not into the hipster style, don't take it out on the staff :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SuzetteTen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review. Delighted to know that the unique qualities of The Henry, the polite staff, good food and location all helped made your stay. I am sorry that you were bothered on the day of your check out by i would say unexpected call and inquiry. Please be assured this will be addressed appropriately. Looking forward to your next stay with us. thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,014)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

795 - 801 of 1,015 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014

First of all it is only about 15 min. from the airport. The hotel offered transportation pick up for a minimal charge and the driver greeted us just outside the door of airport customs with a sign with our name. Our 20 hour flight from the States brought us in at 1 am and the staff at The Henry Hotel were pleasant on our arrival and quickly had our luggage and ourselves checked in and in bed by 1:45 am.
The hotel is decorated so wonderfully "Pop Art - campy", Andy Warhol would have loved it. The room was clean, comfortable bed (we slept under Marilyn Monroe) and great shower. Our room included breakfast and it was delicious. Variety of cold cereals, hot Philippine fish, traditional US pancake & eggs with bacon. Excellent coffee and a bounty of fruit.
It also has a lovely infinity type pool in a beautiful garden area where you could sit and have coffee or drinks. Very charming.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms overlook the pool and not the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goddess36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share with us your experience at The Henry. I am pleased to hear that your long journey ended up well with attentive staff at the airport and hotel arrival experience that went well during the midnight hours and obviously throughout the entire stay. Hope to host your future trips to Cebu City. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

First impression when you enter the reception : unique and different but nice.This impression continues when you arrive in the room : nice paintings ont the walls (different in all rooms).
Rooms are very large with spacious shower. Good bed. Another nice thing about this hotel is the backyard: on oasis of peace in the middle of the city !! With a nice pool. But they should put more chairs at the pool.
The restaurant is good but they should change the card from time to time. I stayed several times here but the xard never changed.
The personnel at the reception is very friendly and extremely helpful : they do everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible, with a smile. Definitely my favourite hotel in Cebu.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincent c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and wonderful feedback. Happy to know your arrival experience was unique and eye candy because of staff hospitality and quirky interior, creative pieces and artworks all over. Please be assured that plans of putting up more chairs or sun loungers in the pool is underway. Likewise, our restaurant team also will take action on your suggestion. Looking forward to your return stay at The Henry, like no other. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

It was an unexpected sanctuary tucked away from the world of Cebu. If Alice were to tumble into a rabbit hole and into a hotel, I would say, that The Henry would be the wonderland of Hotels. I liked the personal touches, the quirky decor and friendly staff.

I definitely consider The Henry as one of my favorite getaways in the City.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Trishiee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review and appreciation of the personal touches and friendly staff which truly inspire us, the whole team. "The Henry would be the wonderland of Hotels" is another unique remark for a hotel like no other. Looking forward to having you back in the near future. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Upon entering the lobby I was super impressed because the decor is really unique and one of a kind. Check in was lightning fast which is great too. The room is super spacious and has a unique design. But upon seeing closer , it is actually a bit run down especially in the bathroom.
Some things that bother me:
- I took the welcome drink with me to the bedroom and the next morning after they made up the room, it was still there. It's as if they just literally made the bed and left.
- water pressure in the bathroom is pretty much nonexistent which is frustrating after a long day snorkeling.
- water in the bathroom doesnt go down as fast.
- my safe in the room did not work and I asked the front desk to fix it the first night, but they never even did it the whole time I was there
- it was really dark in the room at night. The lighting is just not enough.
Overall, it's not bad but I probably wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Jwuisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and constructive feedback. Regret that we let you down on some important aspects of your stay. I do hope it did not change your perception of the hotel and that you would reconsider staying with us in your future trips to Cebu City. Rest assured the whole team is seriously looking into the improvement areas you pointed out. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

A very unique boutique hotel - creative with colourful decoration. They are one of a kind! Some of the signs and posters are really cute and funny.

Their rooms are spacious and full of fun! Do not expect a feeling of being at home in these rooms because they are spacious with quirky pieces of furniture and designs. Nothing matches which is exactly like how they advertise - like no other! We picked this hotel from word of mouth and stayed in the X-large room - not expensive at all so you'll be in for a shock for the size you get! The only thing I disliked was the lighting in the room. At night, it's so dark...so if you intend to read a book, don't count on it.

Their bathrooms are DEFINITELY funky! There are no doors so please don't come here with a friend because you won't be able to take a No 2 with them just out there! The bathtub is in full view of the bed and sofa so you can't really have any privacy. I have no problem with it but for those of you who are travelling with people you're not close to, beware! The odd thing is they only provide 2 bath towels. Ours looked old and rugged.... I think they need to rethink their towels and maybe buy more fluffier towels because they weren't comfortable at all.. I felt like it was one of those towels people use to clean their dishes. Sorry! On the plus side, their amenities are adorable!

The girls at the reception were very friendly at check in.. until we went down to ask questions on where to shop and to also get their hotel card for an address for the cab driver. They were cold, didn't look us in the eyes and didn't smile. One of the girls just handed us a card and a henry hotel brochure. It was as if they couldn't be bothered to help. **That brochure we were given is actually very useful! It gave recommendations on where to eat and shop.... I don't know why they didn't give it to us at check in.. If we never asked for the hotel card, I don't think we would have been given one of those hotel guides.

We didn't have a chance to try the swimming pool but from the looks of it, it seemed shallow and a bit worn out. The restaurant looked great, just like the rooms but we didn't have time to try it. I would love to come back and try the food because of the reviews here on trip advisor but I'm not so sure I would stay again unless I had to stay in the city!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinka7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. It is always heartwarming to hear from guests the unique qualities of The Henry and making it not just one of the hotels but one that is truly like no other. Thank you for appreciating the creative aspect. As mentioned in my previous responses to guest reviews that we are currently undertaking installation of bathroom enclosures in some of our guest rooms. Likewise, we have replaced all our towels. The lighting improvement in some rooms is a work in progress. All these initiatives are within our objective to Henrify our guest experience with guest satisfaction as top priority. Please be assured your other concerns and suggestions are well taken and rest assured that value them and as always take appropriate measures to address them. We hope to have the privilege once again of hosting your visit in your future trips to Cebu. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

In everything this hotel is really stylish and it tries to express it's mission "like no others": polite personal, a lot of design features where you can do photo shoots and very cozy beds. Most of all I liked it’s personal – they helped us in all our requests : marked places of shopping on the map, quickly ordered a taxi, copied that nice music which played all time in the lobby.
But we felt the greatest respect and trust to this hotel when it gave a guarantee of our solvency to a tour operator whom we found for discovering beauties of Cebu. Tour operator “Cebu Exclusive Holiday” arranged excellent trip of swimming with whale sharks near Oslob, canyoning (it’s amazing) and also kayaking, motobiking and jungle tracking at Olanggo island, but before these trips we didn’t know this agency and afraid to pay a big deposit to them. Thus Henry hotel helped us to realize these unforgettable trips after which we still had wonderful memories of nature and people of Cebu.
Of course Henry hotel has some things we want to be improved.
First of them is not enough light in rooms. Accented light is good design feature but sometimes it was hard to find our things in the room.
Second one is absence of yoghurt and tea in our breakfast. For European man who tired of Asian food these two dishes are rescue for a stomach.
Third one is cold swimming pool. Why to build so beautiful swimming pool if we can’t relax in hot water watching our hotel and all around?
Fourth one is difficulty of recognition room’s cards in elevator. We put, moved, touched a surface of sensor by this card but it seemed that the sensor works in a random way. But may be it’s a part of style of hotel.
In all other moments hotel is great for being there and for renting for business or solemn events (in the dining room).

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viktor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such great review of The Henry and for noticing the stylish aspect of our hotel and the service among other things. My sincere apologies for the items you pointed out that seemed to have fallen short of your expectations. Rest assured that appropriate attention and action will be done with guest satisfaction being our highest priority. We also appreciate your improvement suggestions. We look forward to your return to The Henry, like no other. Thank you very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
2.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 92 in Cebu City
3,590 reviews
1 mi away
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
#2 of 92 in Cebu City
1,359 reviews
1.4 mi away
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Quest Hotel and Conference Center - Cebu
1.9 mi away
Harolds Hotel
Harolds Hotel
#3 of 92 in Cebu City
537 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Lex Cebu
Best Western Plus Lex Cebu
#5 of 92 in Cebu City
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Henry Hotel Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henry Hotel Cebu

Address: Ma Luisa Entrance Road | One Paseo Compound, Banilad, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cebu City
#2 Family Hotel in Cebu City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
#6 Business Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range: $61 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Henry Hotel Cebu 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Cebu City, The Henry is a boutique hotel that is unique, full of personality and charm. A hotel "like no other", it radiates an out-of-the-box hospitality experience. A mix of European, vintage, industrial and rustic vibe radiates from The Henry's interior. With 38 rooms of unique decor, your stay at The Henry will be a memorable discovery! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your The Henry Hotel Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Henry Hotel Cebu Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing