We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noise from the level 2 bar until 3am - also disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Henry Hotel Cebu
Ranked #4 of 89 Hotels in Cebu City
Certificate of Excellence
Wyong, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Noise from the level 2 bar until 3am - also disappointed”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We arrived on a Thursday afternoon and it was nice to see a fresh hotel. We were given a room on level 3 which was above the bar located on level 2. From early evening until about 3 am all could be heard was the thumping music. It was so bad I could hear things vibrating in our room.This happened all over again on the Friday night and again little to no sleep which made us very tired during the day. No other rooms available, was booked out. Then on the Saturday night a nearby bar held a rave party in the car park below. This one went on to about 4 am with the crowd spilling into the street also. By the time I boarded my plane home on Sunday evening I was beyond tired, my excitement for attending Sinulog had waned greatly all I wanted was to get out of there.
On that the restaurant is OK, the room comfortable and my only complaints, the glass bathroom door wouldn't close and no bath mat provided. Taxis always available in front.
I booked this place based on all the comments at the time in Tripadvisor were positive ... too positive it seems. i suspect something as I looked at local jobs available in Cebu and one was advertising for writers of website reviews ??
Would be a nice place if they could offer guests some peace.

Room Tip: Ask for something higher up maybe level 6, avoid level 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am deeply sorry for not having been able to make your stay primarily due to the disturbing music at the bar and the earth shaking music from the car park. This will be corrected. Likewise, i also regret the other aspects of your stay where we did not meet your expectations. Still, i am hoping this did not change your perception of our hotel and that we get another chance to welcome you back as our guest in the near future, meet you personally, bounce back from the unpleasant experience you had with us on your first time visit and offer you a return stay "like no other" as many happy guests whose stay was Henrified in so many ways- have shared in their reviews. Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    317
    80
    19
    12
See reviews for
132
359
104
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

When we walked into the lobby, I was impressed – what a cool décor they have. Hotel and restaurant look great. I give the décor a 5. But shortly after this is when the disappointed clicked in.

The staff is okay. They have big smiles on their face, but are somewhat indifferent when it comes to helping you. It was pouring down rain and they did not have any umbrellas. And it wasn’t that they were out, they did not have any in the hotel. Every hotel we have visited in SE Asia (and we have visited many) keeps a few umbrellas on hand to borrow. Anytime we asked a question about Cebu, the front desk didn’t seem too interested in helping beyond providing minimum answers (not typical of SE Asia hospitality).

Our room was a large and it was a very nice size, but the walls were patched and had not been painted and this was not part of their urban décor. Our toilet did not work correctly. They gave us two bath towels that were very worn. I had to go and ask housekeeping for a bath mat and hand towels. The shower has very low pressure.

From TA reviews, I thought I would love this hotel – but I did not.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking time to share with us your concerns. On behalf of the team, please accept my heartfelt apologies for letting you down during this stay. We recognize the need to review some of the procedures and rest assured that necessary actions shall be undertaken. As part of continuous improvement, i am pleased to advise though that we have already purchased new towels and are soon expecting arrival of new batch of umbrellas. Please allow me and my team to make it up to you on your next visit and give you a Henrified experience, one that is truly like no other. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

They have many cool slogans everywhere, nice staff, and artistic settings. But our bathroom door cannot close properly..we booked the room for 3 persons but got a room for 2 persons...and it is not close to famous scenic spots

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oranjerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review of The Henry. As part of continuous improvement to furthter Henrify our guests' experience we are currently undertaking installation of enclosure in some of our guest rooms where bathrooms lack doors. We expect to complete this within a month. Please accept my apology for having given you a room with set up for 2 persons. This is a very important aspect of guest stay that will be carefully addressed with the team. Nonetheless, we look forward to another chance to host your next trip to Cebu City and make it up to you. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Tucked away in the backstreets of Banilad Cebu is a great little hotel - The Henry Hotel. Now, this is not your typical place. It stands out with quirkiness and a little oddness at times....but nevertheless comfortable and clean. One of the first things that great you are staff wearing the same glasses, but with no lenses. The lobby is clean and staff are very helpful. Our room was on the 5th floor - 507. Nice, clean and air con worked brilliantly. My only neg feedback - lighting in the room was dim...i mean really dim....other than that it was great.
Food was Ok....we did Al la carte rather than all you can eat....as there is only so much food you can fit into your stomach.
Hotel is next to good restaurant options - japanese, korean and italian. Also day spa and karaoke is in walking distances.
I liked this place and would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dj_miguel_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for noticing the unique qualities of The Henry such as staff uniform like no other, clean lobby, comfortable aircon, good food and proximity to nice restaurants. Pls accept my apology if lighting in your room wasn't to your satisfaction, Rest assured this will be addressed. Thank you very much and looking forward to your return visit to The Henry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Korea via The USA
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

My family of four loved our stay at the Henry in Cebu. We had a XXL room and it was great! It was a suite, but the price was very affordable. Two rooms, two big beds, two TV's and two full bathrooms is great for a family on vacation.
The breakfast served at the hotel restaurant was nice. They had a bit of everything with Filipino and western style food. Staff at the hotel is courteous and very helpful with directions around Cebu.
The rooms and hotel are decorated with very interesting art concepts. The pool is nice and clean but nothing super fancy. My kids enjoyed it. An added bonus, is the very nice spa right next door to the hotel. We plan to stay at this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Try the XXL room. It is actually a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such inspiring review. It is our goal to always create memorable experiences for our guests and extend service like no other throughout all contact points. It is always our pleasure to be of service to you and looking forward to your next visit. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The rooms are amazing and spacious. The breakfast buffet isn't great, but there are some nice restaurants close by. Room service food is ok but again not great. However the whole atmosphere of the hotel and style are truly amazing.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such amazing and top rated review. It is heartwarming to know that you liked the rooms and the hotel atmosphere. I am sorry that we fell short of your expectation with our buffet breakfast in particular. Since we launched buffet breakfast 2 months ago we have already undertaken some improvement initiatives as guest feedback is always paramount to us. Rest assured that we are continuously finding ways to create great and "like no other" breakfast and dining experience to our guests. Thank you very much and looking forward to your next stay at The Henry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We loved the Henry - it really was a highlight of our trip to Cebu. We stayed twice, once at each end of our trip. Both rooms were really lovely and comfortable. the artsy feel makes it really fun and unique. Staff (who have possibly the worlds most adorable uniforms) were always lovely and helpful, food was tasty and affordable.

There is a fab spa just around the corner.

The only thing that we found strange is that the toilets in the rooms really arent very private (one had no door at all, another had glass walls!) so be sure you are at the point in your relationship where you dont mind hearing your significant other's bodily noises! Not so romantic if one of you gets a bit sick from the street food.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliaMayersohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirro R, General Manager at The Henry Hotel Cebu, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your review of The Henry. Pleased to hear as well that you stayed with us twice. I am pleased to advise that within this month, some of our open bathrooms shall be covered up to give our guests privacy, comfort and convenience- as it is our unwavering goal to ensure guests satisfaction. Returning and future guests would easily notice this improvement. We look forward to having you back in the near future. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cebu City
2.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Cebu
Radisson Blu Cebu
#1 of 89 in Cebu City
3,214 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
Marco Polo Plaza Cebu
#2 of 89 in Cebu City
1,230 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quest Hotel and Conference Center - Cebu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Harolds Hotel
Harolds Hotel
#3 of 89 in Cebu City
474 reviews
1.4 mi away
Waterfront Cebu City Hotel & Casino
7.7 mi away
Crimson Resort and Spa, Mactan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Henry Hotel Cebu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henry Hotel Cebu

Property: The Henry Hotel Cebu
Address: Ma Luisa Entrance Road | One Paseo Compound, Banilad, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cebu City
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cebu City
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cebu City
#6 Business Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Henry Hotel Cebu 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Cebu City, The Henry is a boutique hotel that is unique, full of personality and charm. A hotel "like no other", it radiates an out-of-the-box hospitality experience. A mix of European, vintage, industrial and rustic vibe radiates from The Henry's interior. With 38 rooms of unique decor, your stay at The Henry will be a memorable discovery! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your The Henry Hotel Cebu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Henry Hotel Cebu Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing